Journal logo

Artist

Just Choose One?

By Joely MillanPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Just Choose One?

If you're anything like me, making one decision can be a little difficult.

I mean how many times a day are you having to decide on what to wear, what’s for dinner, what school/college do you want to go to, what do you want to major in? And my all time favorite, what do you want to be when you grow up?

I mean who really knows what they want to do for the rest of their lives?

I struggle to find that answer, well, because, I love to sing and dance but, does that mean I should become an entertainer? I love to produce my own music and make my own songs, does it mean I should become a music producer? I love to customize my own clothing and draw just for fun at times but, does that mean I should consider becoming an artist or a Fashion Designer? I also love to cook and bake. Making up my own recipes healthy or hearty and seeing how much people would enjoy it. So, should I become a chef?

The question still goes unanswered.

I feel society makes it difficult for me because, they tell us all to just choose one thing you want to be when you grow up. Some people grow up knowing what they be or they follow in someone else's footsteps. I guess that's my problem. I never truly had someone to admire, to really look up to and/or follow in their footsteps. I just began to learn different techniques and styles of how to express oneself.

At first at a young age I expressed myself through singing, what followed was writing poetry, haikus, and songs. Growing older, I started coming in contact with different people from all around the world, who had different talents that caught my eye and inspired me to want to learn more. Learn how to draw (imaginative things, whether it be people or places), dance (hip-hop, interpretive, or pantomime), cook different cuisines, etc. That’s why I couldn’t just choose one thing, especially when it came to majors in college because I love to do all those things and more.

I love learning new and creative ways to express oneself. Acknowledging it doesn’t always have to be just one way to do so. For instance, you have YouTubers who make their own channel but, only base their channel on one subject such as, comedy, pranks, DIY, movie trailers, dietary fitness, makeup tutorials, etc. T.V. channels that are categorized by what the viewer wants to watch but, imagine every cooking show, T.V. series, cartoon, horror/comedy movie, or game show you enjoy watching in one channel. You’d never change the channel again, right?

So picture that one channel signifying you. Your capabilities being beyond measure because the viewer never knows what’s going to come on next.

The unknowing is the endless possibility of what one person can accomplish.

Whether it may be making a movie, creating a song, or even curing a disease, everything begins with a dream, an idea that can take you one step closer to being who were truly meant to be, even if you’re unsure of what or who that is exactly. It may be a surgeon, director, scientist, or even a writer.

I believe everything has its own art put into it. Art: the expression or application of human creative skill and imagination, typically in a visual form such as painting or sculpture, producing works to be appreciated primarily for their beauty or emotional power.

Here's to the people just like me who want to be proficient in all things. I call you.... "Artist!"

career
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.