Journal logo

Are We Sharing Too Much? Ways To Be Mindful With Social Sharing

Something to think about

By Manisha DhalaniPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
5
Are We Sharing Too Much? Ways To Be Mindful With Social Sharing
Photo by Jason Goodman on Unsplash

We're all sharing things these days.

Cute photos, inspiring quotes, shocking news reports, odd stories - every snippet of life is being shared. Everyone who knows something can share.

Because one person cannot possibly know everything. If we did, we all would be dead right now (sorry, I'm a cynic).

But enough with my morbid thinking.

I'm trying to understand this sharing phenomenon that has somewhat escalated with the rise of social media in the many years that I've seen social media evolve.

I've noticed the workshop trend coming up - where people with a good sum of life experiences are hosting workshops and training seminars to others who are interested to learn more.

I mean, I myself have embarked on sharing my Content Marketing knowledge with a few people already. I don't charge a bomb, because I don't know how to think like a con artist businesswoman, apparently. Most of my courses can even be found on Udemy (just search for my name).

I do, however, think it's necessary that people put on their thinking caps and start giving this sharing phenomenon a thought or two. I mean, think about it, sharing available information:

  • Doesn't cost money (okay, unless you want to include your internet bill as cost)
  • Keeps your social media account active without involving that much work
  • Helps improve your general knowledge

Sounds like a win-win to me.

And that's why I would like to teach it, you see. I have no brand (besides myself) to promote so I rarely share things outside of my social media accounts, but I'm sure people who are planning to actively put themselves out will benefit from this.

There are probably a million different view points on how sharing can be done. Some people use terms like "curate" content, some people rely on the "share" button on social media platforms to understand how "popular" they are, etc.

Honestly, though, it really should come down to the one simple truth:

How can YOU do it?

How can SHARING help your brand grow, organically?

Everyone has their own schedule, own capabilities, personal preferences and agenda when marketing their brands.

One person could be a tech-savvy Facebook freak while the other only wishes to check their e-mails in the morning and be done with the computer. It really does depend. There is no 100% guaranteed rule of thumb here.

Yes, there are guidelines, there are questions that you can ask and find the answers that fit you best. This is how you will be able to work through and succeed in your sharing process.

For instance, I read a lot of material online. In fact, I spend about an hour every morning going through my e-mails, Facebook, LinkedIn (although I haven't been very active here lately), Instagram, Medium and even Vocal. Plus, there's the news to read up on.

It can get tiring but I only bookmark what I like, pin what I think I need to keep for future reference, and share if I think my friends would be inspired or have a good laugh. I don't have any particular sort of objectives for these - just the same ol' concepts I use to manage my social media accounts.

I think it's pretty refreshing though. Besides the NSFW and graphic pictures that occasionally pop up while I'm surfing, I've been coming across a lot of good stuff  shared by brands.

Educational content, entertainment, and even fun stuff on TikTok. There's just so much information shared on the internet. I even associate different types of sharing with different brands.

And that, my friend, is how you want your audience to remember you.

Look at me, sharing about sharing. Heh.

social mediahow tobusiness
5

About the Creator

Manisha Dhalani

Content writer and marketer helping solopreneurs achieve organic growth. Loves reading, eating cake, and having insightful conversations.

www.manishadhalani.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist4 months ago

    Thank you. I know I have been told that I share too much! Does my hubby count?😉 When I was just a young woman, I heard a grey panther woman giving a talk to a room full of elders, "I say whatever the hell I want to say, after all, what can they do to me!" That was before social media exploded. But then she probably didn't get a chance to be on social media. I think she was probably in her 80s in the 70s, or early 80s.

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    Very clearly written, which is something I don't say often in my comments. This piece speaks for your skills as a content writer and it supports a concept I'm 100% on board with. Well done. You have a new subscriber.

  • Lol, I love your morbid thinking! We're so the same! The only social media I'm active on is Facebook, Instagram and TikTok. I don't really share much except for the occasional memes but that's about it. I read a lot too, mostly on Vocal. And yes, look at you sharing about sharing hahaha.

  • Kodah4 months ago

    I definitely agree! I think there are certain times where people may over-share information on social media. Loved this piece! ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.