Journal logo

All The Little Live Things Review

by Jamie Bushehri

By Jamie BushehriPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

I first read this novel back in June of 2020. It was an emotional and raw and this novel has since stayed with me in my mind and on my bookshelf ever since.


This story is about Joe & Ruth Allston, a man named Jim Peck, various neighbors and the troubles in life and how we deal with them. 


The Allston's decided to leave their life on the East Coast and move to California. Both Joe & Ruth struggle in their own ways with their grief over the loss of their son, Curtis. They didn't have the best relationship with him and now struggle with not only the grief but guilt, regret and disappointment. 
He knows that he did not handle things well but he also fails to see that he could have behaved in a different way where his beliefs came in.

The young man that has come to live on a section of their property is named Jim Peck. He wants to build a small section near a tree and live off the land. Ruth is encouraging and I think she sees this as a great opportunity so Joe agrees to let Jim stay. I think the reason that Joe struggles with Jim so much is because Jim reminds Joe of the son that he lost. They both have different values and ways of life as well. Joe does not seem to be willing to give Jim the benefit of the doubt either. Jim ends up expanding his shelter and invites several people to come stay and live with him. This naturally upsets Joe because he clashed with Jim's free love style.


The couple that lives next door is named John & Marian Catlin and they have a young daughter as well named Debby. Throughout this book The Allston's develop a close relationship with this family and Joe sees Marian like a daughter to him. They end up having several deep conversations about life on which they have different views. Despite their different views, they are able to carry on these conversations with such intelligence and grace. Marian is clearly wise beyond her years. 

She sees the world and enjoys all there is to life, even the downside. However, she does not believe that evil is real.

Each of the pains and pleasures of this novel come together beautifully to create one unforgettable read. Every story has past and that is shown but it isn’t the main focus.



This novel is incredibly moving and the way that Wallace Stegner has with words kept pulling me in further and further until I finished the novel. I truly felt like I was right there in the scenery next to each of the characters as if I was living in the story too.

 It not only made me laugh but it made me cry as well.

Parts of this book will make you mad, other will make you laugh, and some will make you cry. I think overall that this book is about family, life, sorrow and all the experiences that come along in between. It is one of those novels that I think that everyone should get to experience at least once in their life.

To those that have read what I have written: I hope that you have enjoyed this review. I can also only hope that it has inspired you to purchase this novel. For me, I was able to read it in less than a week because I was so emerged in the story. If you have a specific book that you would like me to read and review, please go to my page to find my e-mail.



Thank you so very much for taking the time to read my review of this wonderful novel!

Until Next Week,
 The Bookworm aka Jamie Bushehri

book review
1

About the Creator

Jamie Bushehri

Hi! I am a 33 year old mother & Beauty Guide from The Denver Metro Area.

I love to read. When I say I love to read, I have over 300 books in our house. I love to give my opinions on books that I have read so I am bringing that here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.