Horror logo

A Feast Of Carrion Review

by Jamie Bushehri

By Jamie BushehriPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I should start off by saying that I know some of you will notice that this book’s genre is different than the last book that I reviewed. This is because I do read a variety of genre’s so you will get that here. Reading a variety allows me to mix it up a little bit and not get bored with one genre or the other.

Some of the words in this review have asterisks due to the sensitive nature of the word. This review does touch on a heavy subject and I promise that I did my best to dull it down for you. So if this review seems meh, it’s because I couldn’t use a lot of the details that I wanted to use out of respect for my audience.



With that said, let’s get into the review of.. A Feast Of Carrion by Keith McCarthy. This is a 12 book series and I do plan on reading the remaining 12 books throughout the next few months.



This story begins in the place of The Museum of Anatomy and Pathology in St. Benjamin’s School (Not a real place. I think it is named The Mütter Museum outside of the book series). It displays anatomically correct specimens and models in a rather unusual setting.



After getting to work John Eisenmenger is called into a meeting with the Dean of the School and a department head. When the meeting is coming to an end, a secretary comes in and says that there is an emergency and that they need John as soon as possible. John is perplexed as to what is could be but goes to see what the fuss is about. As he walks his way towards the emergency he can’t help but notice that a couple of his coworkers aren’t there that morning. Slowly he comes to the middle of the study library and sees b***d all over the floor and the table. His attention is immediately draw to a woman who is dead and h*****g from the ceiling.



After getting into the story, and the cops have asked their questions, you can’t help but wonder if the coworkers that were late and their behavior should make them suspects. I also think that one of the investigators, Beverly Wharton, didn’t do a good job when she first made her assessment of the crime scene. That could potentially come back to hurt her career later. You already get the feeling that this is an important case but at the same time that she wants to pass of the simplest tasks to her subordinates.



John Eisenmenger, who used to be a forensic pathologist, is reluctant to help investigate this case due to something that haunts him from his past career as a forensic pathologist. Nonetheless, he is tasked with investigating what happened to Nikki Exner who was a young, smart medical student.



Helena Flemming - who is a police woman - comes in to the story. She has personal reasons for wanting to investigate this d***h but we don’t find out what those reasons are right away.

However, both John and Helena both think that the police have found the wrong suspect. The questions are.. Are John and Helena right? Or are the police right?

The past ends up coming back and haunting John and makes him have flashbacks while he investigates the case due to seeing a young girl pass in his arms.

Each character comes through with such fine detail that you feel like you truly know them by the end of the book. This case also had really great attention to detail - I thought.

I can only hope that you have enjoyed this review as much as I enjoyed reading this book. I decided after my last review that I would start giving it “worms” based on how good the book was. Example: 1 worm if it was really bad and 5 worms if it was the best book in the whole world and I would read it again. I went with “worms” because hey, I am a bookworm after all. Haha. 



I give this book.. 4 worms.



Until Next Time,
 The Bookworm

book reviews
Like

About the Creator

Jamie Bushehri

Hi! I am a 33 year old mother & Beauty Guide from The Denver Metro Area.

I love to read. When I say I love to read, I have over 300 books in our house. I love to give my opinions on books that I have read so I am bringing that here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.