Journal logo

Alice and the Endless Dimensions

Writer at fourteen.

By Lara AlicePublished 7 years ago 4 min read
Like

This time I became tired of my daydreams even faster.

Not that I didn’t like all those things I imagined, and everything was really very exciting, but the fact that it was all taking place only in my mind, left me quite a lot to wish for.

I needed to move and couldn’t do the things that I used to do, they were no longer enough to keep me distracted. So I got stuck with the same problem as before. I needed to do something more real.

And then the most brilliant idea I ever had came to my mind. I would write down my dreams! I would write a whole book if I had to, and make my dreams come true on paper.

I spoke to my father and he bought me a typewriter. He was really happy just to see me get off my bed and sound excited about something for a change.

I had become quite witchy looking again, not combing my hair and all dressed in black skirts and jumpers, always wearing my army boots, and my father couldn’t believe that his older son had left the house and the younger ones were constantly looking like vampires.

My brother Levi had long hair by then, and also wore black clothes and army boots. We enjoyed looking dark and miserable, although he was happy with his fairy looking girlfriend, Fausta, and most of the time they were stoned or something.

This is how I became a writer at fourteen, and how I realized that my dreams and the older girl that I was in them were actually quite real, and that they were me.

I mean, give yourself the possibility of doing anything you wish, having anything you want, back or forward in time, and you will find out who you really are. All the rest is just a bunch of circumstances that you didn’t choose, and you just had to adapt to them, so that’s not really who you are.

I also realized that my dreams already existed in my mind for so many years, that I had in fact been living that parallel life all the time.

Therefore, all I had to do was write down a sort of diary of things that had already happened, most of them anyway, but at the same time were just being created by the tips of my fingers.

I felt like some kind of goddess, reconstructing my own life and those of those around me, as I was describing to the minimum detail events that had never really happened.

All these discoveries were so exciting, and made me so happy, that I wished I didn’t have to go to school and could spend all my time writing. It was so much more interesting to spin my head around with the meanings of reality, dreams and parallel words, than to go to biology and chemistry classes.

Somehow, however, I kept on being a relatively good student, because somehow, I guess, everything was mysteriously connected. Although I wished I could already be studying philosophy and literature, I had to admit that mathematics had some kind of magic in them, and everything seemed to fit.

How could I ever relate to my colleagues? If I told them ‘Oh, you know, mathematics is magical’ they would never speak to me again. So why bother?

In my book I told the story of Rock, as well as the story of Orpheus, Sand and Otto. I took revenge of all the bad luck I had had in my real life. Rock was my boyfriend until I met Orpheus, and fell hopelessly in love with him. This had to happen, because Rock would die anyway, so I needed to find a reason for him to start smoking heroin.

For a while I wasn’t very sure about Rock dying. After all, I wanted so badly for him to be alive, that it seemed stupid to let him die twice. But otherwise, how would I ever meet Otto?

And then I realized that I was writing only one story, and that I could actually write as many as I wished. In this story Rock would die and I would meet Otto, but in other stories I could be with Rock forever, or with Otto forever, and my parents didn’t have to separate, or I could live with my mother.

I didn’t have to choose, for all my wishes could come true and all the stories could be told, as they were already happening anyway.

So I decided that I would fall in love with that boy in school with the green eyes, that I found so pretty however so silly. Only in my book he was different, for we had met in other circumstances, and we were older. His name was Orpheus and he had freckles all over his face.

I also told the story of Alice, for she kept smiling at me behind the mirrors, and appearing in my dreams.

Autumn was at its peak, and the streets of my neighborhood were covered in bright yellow leaves, while the trees were practically naked. It looked as if it had snowed, only huge and beautiful yellow leaves.

We could barely see the side walks, and I loved kicking the leaves while walking, to make them fall again all over me. I looked, of course, very weird while doing this.

careerhumanity
Like

About the Creator

Lara Alice

There's Lara and there is Alice, and there's also Lara Alice and even Veronica. They are all Lopes.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.