Journal logo

Adulting is the GHETTO

Why were we in a rush as children to get here

By Destiny SmallsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Who the hell was in a rush to grow up. This is very ghetto, especially while Pandora's box is wide ass open. I mean let's go through the list of reasons why I was meant to be roaming a forest somewhere.

Why do I need to pay rent? No one should have to pay to live somewhere first off and literally all I am doing is making someone else rich while I am going broke. This is the main reason why capitalism is so dumb. Even when the world is going through it all at the same time, I am still expected to pay rent. WITH WHAT MONEY?!?

I mean come on, 70 percent of people are not working, lost their jobs, or can't work because they have family to take care of. YOu can say ¨oh, the world is opening back up.¨ For who?

Groceries, why do I need to pay to eat, to LIVE? First of all groceries are hella expensive just for no damn reason. I know what you're going to say, ¨we have to raise prices to give people a living wage. We have to pay more, to keep up with demand.¨ Who is getting that money? The everyday common worker is not getting that pay and that trickle down effect takes about 8 years to actually come down to us peasants.

I hate working, I reaally do. I am so blessed that I have a job and have been able to find a job during this panorama. But I always hated working. School and studying is fine, cool. But hard labor to make someone else rich, issa no for me Alex.

Everyone is going to say ¨just start a business and make yourself rich.¨ And to that I say, I´m working on it. It is just taking some time but I am going to get there. I know that it sounds like I am complaining but girl, no one is happy every single day going to work for someone else. People aren't even happy everyday to work for themselves. So let´s be realistic, working in any form is horrific.

Who can balance it all because I know I can not do it. By the way, who really wants to balance it all. IT is way too much for one person to handle alone. Adult or not it is not possible. Working, family time, cooking and self maintenance, school (if you choose to go), social activities, if you are religious then church and religion activities. Like really, all of this is NECESSARY INCLUDING SLEEP!!! When can I actually sleep?

Not relying on imposter syndrome. Sometimes it seems easy to slip in and out of imposter syndrome especially when it comes to being in a work or school environment. Wanting to assimilate into your current environment is pretty damn normal to do. That becomes harder as you grow up. You want to look like you have it all together, you are in a happy and healthy relationship, your job is amazing, you have time for multiple vacations. When YOU KNOW that you are 2 steps from crying in the shower with all of your clothes on like they do in the movies. It is okay to let people know that you do not have it all together and you can be yourself because who truly has it all together living in the real world.

Life is hard as is and you do not need to make it worse by being hard on yourself when there are people watching you closely. Be yourself, be kind and be gentle.

satire
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.