Journal logo

A Secret Letter

Fredrick Miracle and the Black Book

By Robbie NaglePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

Hello there,

My name is Fredrick Miracle and I am writing this letter to tell a story of how I truly became the CEO of Miracle Corporation. I do not know who this letter will reach, or if it will reach anyone at all. I am getting old, you see. My son has already taken over my company and I have never told anyone what really happened all those years ago, before anyone even knew I existed.

I was just a kid born in Chicago. My parents, brother, and two sisters all lived in a three bedroom apartment. It wasn’t easy, but we were happy. I was always raised to believe that anything could happen. My father always said that Miracle’s had to depend on miracles. There were so many times where the utilities should have been shut off and somehow they weren’t. I truly tried my best to live up to our name.

I knew that I would never be able to go to a great University, but I loved creating things. I would go dumpster diving for any electronics I could find and throw them together. Most of the things I made didn’t work, but I remember my first success. I took apart a mini fridge, a vacuum cleaner, and an electric drill to make an air filter. I thought it was just a hose pulling air from the outside but I put the whole contraption in an old fish tank and sealed it up with a couple rats I captured. They lived for weeks in an airtight tank. It seemed to actually filter the air. Much later in life, I actually learned how it managed to work but I won’t bore you with those details.

The point is that from that moment on, I was hooked on inventing. I just needed that miracle to give me the chance. Out of high school, I went to work multiple jobs so that I could help my family and also save up to make something of myself. A couple years later, I had finally started to make enough to move out into my own studio apartment. It wasn’t much, but I was no longer a burden on my family. That was the day my life truly changed forever. The day I got my miracle.

I was unpacking my boxes and found something I didn’t pack. It was a little black book. I had never seen it before in my life so I called home and asked my mom if she was missing it. No one knew what I was talking about. The book seemed to just appear out of nowhere. I opened the book up and saw a couple pages of names. Just one long list of names. It was so strange. They weren’t names that I knew or even remember to this day, but I got to the end of the list and found quite the surprise.

After the last name was a line in red that said, “Sign me for a miracle.” I was so surprised that I dropped the book and backed up. After thinking for a while, I decided I would go grab a pen and sign it. Why not, right? The odd thing about it was that when I turned to the end of the list, those words were no longer there. It was just a blank space like the rest of the lines that followed. I didn’t really think much about it and simply signed my name on the first empty line, where I saw the words just moments before.

I closed the book and set it on the floor in front of me and I heard my phone ding. It was charging on the other side of the room so I went to see what it was. I had a notification from my bank that a deposit over $1,500 entered my bank account. A notification that I had surely never seen before. I opened the app to clear the notification and to my surprise, it was real. There was a deposit made to my account over $1,500. I remember sitting there in awe at what I was looking at. A deposit of $20,000 had been put in my account. I looked back to the floor where I left the book and it was gone. I spent the next hour searching every box and space in the apartment but couldn’t find it. It just vanished.

My first miracle happened. I ended up making an investing account and invested in a couple companies that just seemed to be the right ones. They were cheap and just felt right. To this day I can’t explain why and I can’t even remember what they were. By the end of the month my account had grown to $580,000. I didn’t even truly understand investing at that point in my life and just wrote it off as another miracle. I pulled everything out to start working on a project I had in my head for a while.

You know it as the Miracle Device. I researched and ordered dozens of parts to make it. Essentially it was a phone made of a very malleable screen that could mold to your forearm. I had made the screen and could play video on it but it wasn’t what I wanted it to be. I needed the software for it but didn’t have the means for it. I remember walking in the park one day and seeing someone swat at the air as they held their phone. That was it, the day I met my partner and wife, Tera Winter. Yet another miracle.

I walked up to her to see what she was doing and found out she had exactly what I was looking for. She had created a system of motion controls that she could use via bluetooth with her phone. I fell in love at that moment and lost all control of myself. If you would ask my wife, she would say I proposed in that moment but I don’t remember that at all. Regardless, we got to talking and I had shared about my own project and my ideas for it. She said that she basically had the software made but would need to see it first. We went back to my apartment and I showed her the device. We worked the next couple months testing it out and making it work perfectly. During that time we also fell in love but that is a story for another time.

We made it, the Miracle Device. We called it MiDe for short. It is a phone that forms to your forearm and was completely transparent when it isn’t on. The hardware is all in the bracelet that goes around your wrist. With simple motion controls and finger movements, you use the device. It was the start of my company. We ended up selling millions and became one of the top technology companies.

We had children who were all natural inventors. Even now, my son Adam is working on an electric scooter that uses no natural resources and charges itself. I truly believe he is going to change the world and I am happy I left the company to him. That is my story though. How I got to where I am, one miracle after another. Not a single person knows about that little black book that changed my life, well except for you.

I would appreciate it if you didn’t make this letter public. I have lived my whole life with few regrets and didn’t want to die with another. I don’t believe that book will ever appear to my family again which is why I never made the choice to tell them. If it ever appears to you, write your name down. Be wise with what it gives you and change the world. I hope you take these words of an old man to heart.

Hoping for your own miracle,

Fredrick Miracle

literature
Like

About the Creator

Robbie Nagle

Hey there. Welcome to my page. I have recently started walking out the path to writing my first novel. To allow myself other creative outlets, I’ll be using this to post some poetry and short stories that may or may not be in future novels.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.