Journal logo

A Holiday Detox - Binge - Detox

The cycle continues ...

By KJ AartilaPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 4 min read
2
A Holiday Detox - Binge - Detox
Photo by Jack Patrick on Unsplash

A Holiday Detox – Binge – Detox

We started out November, my husband and I, in detox mode, but we didn’t get very far. Too many stressors piling themselves onto the shit-show interrupting our lives made it incredibly difficult to commit and focus on the benefits. So, we made it about a week, and decided to give up on the idea again for a bit. We needed to be more prepared both mentally and strategically, knowing our weaknesses and triggers.

After the Thanksgiving festivities, we had a plan and some determination.

So, after T'Day, we went back to our strict Gluten Free diet, which we pretty much follow now daily, but we added to it some different recipes with recommended food choices, no dairy, and very limited sugar and salt and no alcohol until Christmas. We took followed this plan religiously for about the entire four weeks as planned. Now the days from Christmas and New Year's Day are filled with junk food, sweets, too much dairy and booze. The daily impacts of this are unpleasant. After New Year's Day, we will go back to our much healthier dietary lifestyle, though not as strict, but we look forward to continuing to be strict enough on the daily to enjoy the benefits regularly, and to enjoy the experience of occasionally "going off the rails."

The Challenges:

Timing

◦ This can definitely be a challenge. Embarking upon making lifestyle or habit changes takes firm commitment, preparation and focus. It also takes practice. We have committed to making committed efforts to making lifestyle changes many times – some efforts more successful than others, but always we have learned how to make future challenges to ourselves more successful, and sometimes the answer is to back off for the moment. Get better prepared and try again.

Triggers

◦ Because we have done this to ourselves many times, we also have a good idea of what triggers our setbacks, and how to prepare ourselves for overcoming the anticipated challenges. Nothing is a complete, linear success, but being prepared by anticipating reality helps us proceed.

Planning

◦ I have discovered that for our best chances of success, it is imperative that I plan. For me, this means mentally, as well as writing down a plan. I design a menu and do food preparation as much as possible to make it easier to stick to the plan even when I don’t feel like it. I also like to start with everything clean and organized. That helps my motivation.

The Benefits:

  • Feeling Better/More Engaged
  • More Energy
  • Better Sleep
  • More Creativity/Clarity of Thought
  • Greater Ability to Focus/Concentrate
  • Greater Optimism/Less Negativity
  • Less AM Hacking/Throat Clearing
  • Much Improved Gastrointestinal Issues and Bloating

I have listed just a few of some of the greatest benefits I receive. There are many, and depending on your own choices and intentions, the benefits you achieve are likely to be unique to you.

I have learned that it takes about 2.5 weeks for me to start really feeling the benefits of this process, and after about three weeks, I hesitate to return to the bad feelings that come with poor self- care. I usually end up with some sort of lasting habit or effect I can build on. That is motivation to proceed.

I am anxious for the new year to start now, so I can get back to taking better care of my body and feeling better again!

I am no master of this process of working to incorporate healthier lifestyle changes with the idea of creating a more satisfactory life for myself and for those who love me, but I keep trying. Each small success is a victory, and each unsuccessful attempt is a learning opportunity. It’s about learning better ways to move forward, not giving up.

I’m not saying everybody should do this or that this is the way to go. You’ll make different choices when you’re ready. This is just one option to consider, and every attempt is a great step in the right direction. You can always try again! Every “failed” attempt is just an opportunity to gather information and proceed.

It’s not so much about denying myself, as it is about understanding how making better choices leads to being more content in my life, and it’s also, for me, about the fact that I don’t like the idea of being controlled by bad habits and unhealthy patterns.

Here’s to taking steps to making 2024 the Year of You! Be kind to yourself but try something new and healthy!

I have suspended the ability to receive comments on my Vocal inspired stories, but whole-heartedly welcome genuine interaction with readers who feel compelled to reach out to me with appreciation or criticism – I am easy to reach by email ([email protected]) or DM on FB here. I would love to engage with you!

Thank you for reading, and best of luck in achieving all you want in the New Year!

And for those interested, here's more info on how, why and what we have chosen:

advice
2

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

KJ Aartila is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.