Journal logo

A Himalayan Homestay Experience: 5 Days at Kolakham's "Himalayan Odyssey"

A Solo Traveler's Guide to Finding Peace and Adventure in the Eastern Himalayas at "Himalayan Odyssey" in Kolakham.

By shreetama chowdhuryPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
A Himalayan Homestay Experience: 5 Days at Kolakham's "Himalayan Odyssey"
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

As a solo traveler, I am always looking for new and unique experiences. So, when I heard about "Himalayan Odyssey," a homestay in the picturesque village of Kolakham in the Eastern Himalayas, I knew I had to check it out.

After a long journey from Kolkata, I arrived at the homestay, which was nestled amidst lush green forests and snow-capped peaks. The friendly hosts welcomed me with warm smiles and fresh ginger tea, and I knew I was in for a memorable stay.

Day 1: Settling In After a restful night's sleep in the cozy room,

By Deepal Tamang on Unsplash

I woke up to the sound of chirping birds and the stunning views of the mountains. I spent the day exploring the village, which was dotted with traditional houses, fields of cardamom and orange orchards. In the evening, the hosts prepared a delicious dinner of local delicacies, including momos and thukpa, which I savored while chatting with fellow travelers and the hosts.

Day 2: Trekking to Ramitey Viewpoint

By Diogo Tavares on Unsplash

I woke up early and set out for a trek to Ramitey viewpoint, which offered breathtaking views of the Kanchenjunga range and the Teesta river. The trail was steep and challenging, but the panoramic vistas and the fresh mountain air made it all worth it. After a packed lunch of sandwiches and fruits, I returned to the homestay, where I spent the evening reading and relaxing in the garden.

Day 3: Visiting Lava and Loleygaon On the third day

By Rizal Setiya on Unsplash

I took a trip to the nearby towns of Lava and Loleygaon, which were known for their stunning natural beauty and the famous canopy walk. I visited the Lava Monastery, which was built in the traditional Bhutanese style and was home to hundreds of monks. The canopy walk, which was suspended over the lush forests, offered stunning views of the surrounding hills and valleys. I returned to the homestay in the evening, tired but happy after a day of adventure.

If you're planning a trip to the Eastern Himalayas, don't miss out on the breathtaking beauty of Lava and Loleygaon. Contact Pratima Travels, the best tour planner in Kolkata, and experience the magic for yourself.

Day 4:Learning About Local Culture On the fourth day

By Persnickety Prints on Unsplash

I spent time learning about the local culture and traditions. The hosts took me on a tour of the nearby villages, where I saw women weaving traditional carpets and blankets and men tending to their farms. I also visited a local school, where I interacted with the students and learned about their lives in the mountains. In the evening, the hosts organized a cultural program, where I saw traditional dances and songs performed by local artists.

Day 5: Departure On the last day of my stay

By Bookitlist on Unsplash

I woke up early to catch the sunrise over the mountains. The hosts bid me a warm farewell and presented me with a traditional scarf as a souvenir. As I left the homestay, I felt grateful for the amazing experiences and memories that I had gathered during my stay. As I began my journey back home, I couldn't help but feel a sense of nostalgia and longing to stay a little longer. The homestay had become a home away from home, and the hosts had become like family to me. The memories of the stunning views, the delicious food, and the warm hospitality would stay with me for a lifetime.

As I drove down the winding roads, I couldn't help but reflect on the transformative experience that my stay at "Himalayan Odyssey" had been. The peaceful surroundings, the close connections with nature, and the immersion in the local culture had given me a sense of rejuvenation and renewal.

I felt grateful for the opportunity to have experienced the beauty and serenity of the Eastern Himalayas, and for the chance to have met such wonderful people along the way. I knew that I would cherish the memories of my stay at "Himalayan Odyssey" forever, and that I would carry the lessons and experiences with me as I continued my journey through life.

In summary, my stay at "Himalayan Odyssey" in Kolakham had been a truly transformative and enriching experience. The homestay had provided me with a unique opportunity to connect with nature, learn about the local culture, and make meaningful connections with people from all over the world. I would highly recommend this homestay to anyone who is looking for an authentic and immersive Himalayan experience, and I know that I will certainly be back one day to relive the magic of this special place.

traveladvice
Like

About the Creator

shreetama chowdhury

I love to travel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.