Journal logo

A Dream Come True

With you by my side...

By Jessica MariePublished 7 months ago 4 min read
2

We planned the Renaissance Faire in February, as you were driving us to Harrisburg for our first Valentine's Day together. I saw the sign and exclaimed, "I haven't been to the Ren Faire since Middle School!"

You smiled and said the same thing, but added, "mom always wanted to go. She didn't get a chance to before she died." We had to go.

We didn't really start talking about the Renaissance Faire again until the end of August. I remember what sparked it too.

You grabbed my hand and led me to your room. I love the artwork you have hanging on the walls and as I was turned around, you grabbed something. When I turned to face you, you presented me with a lovely ivory box.

I opened it and it was a necklace, a necklace meant for Renaissance costumes. It was your mom's. I was wowed and we exchanged our "I love yous." As you were putting the necklace around my neck, we agreed that we had to go to the Renaissance Faire.

The Pennsylvania Renaissance Faire is only active on weekends, unless there are school field trips. Our first anniversary was a Thursday, but we could really celebrate the Sunday after. We agreed that this would be an anniversary gift to ourselves. I booked the package deal: two tickets to the Renaissance Faire and an overnight stay at a bed and breakfast.

For a few weeks I planned activities. I wanted to see what was going on and there is always something going on at the Renaissance Faire. However, last week I checked back to the website to see what the writ would be for Sunday. I saw that unicorns were going to be there. Therapy unicorns that guests could hug. Oh boy! Oh boy! I told you that we just HAD to meet the unicorns all last week, and that was the first thing we did.

At first you weren't going to join me, you were going to stand on the side and take pictures for me with my DSLR camera. However, as I was waiting in the long line, I knew you wouldn't be able to get a good view from the side. I was in view of you and I'm so glad you came over when I gestured for you. You finally agreed to come with me and you would meet the unicorns too.

Your mother also loved unicorns and she would have loved this too. Her spirit was also joining us. The line moved quickly and it was our turn to meet one of the two unicorns in no time at all.

When we walked to greet the emcee, she asked me if my little girl dream of meeting a unicorn is finally coming true. I was hype and I squeed, "yes!" She led us to Lucky Star and I got to hug him. You took a photo of me hugging Lucky Star and I got to tell him what a sweet, handsome unicorn he is.

You then joined in and the emcee took a photo of us with Lucky Star. She gave me dust to make a wish, then asked if I wanted glitter in my hair! OF COURSE! I squeed again and got a glitter bath. She gave me extra glitter as you took more photos.

You didn't want a glitter bath, but he got caught in one. "Mom would have loved this and she would have danced with you in this glitter bath." We both smiled and agreed that the wind that came along was her, and you got some of the glitter because mom wanted you to join the fun.

We were talking about this experience in bed the morning after. While you slept, I scrapbooked our Renaissance Faire anniversary. You then woke up, admired me scrapbooking.

I took a break, laid down next to you and said, "yeah, this was a childhood dream, but there is something else that makes this dream come true even better."

"What's that?"

"I got to experience it with the love of my life. I got to experience this with you by my side."

We hugged, and I decided to add what I told you to the scrapbook layout with the photos with the unicorn. We are still rocking the glitter somewhat.

travel
2

About the Creator

Jessica Marie

Writing since she was six years old, but became the writer she is today in sixth grade. She has three published books and appears in various publications. When she is not writing, she is an avid photographer, scrapbooker, and artist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • C.S LEWIS7 months ago

    this is a significant accomplishment. Your dedication, creativity, and hard work have paid off, and you should be proud of what you've achieved. Keep writing and sharing your unique voice with the world! you can also join my friends and read what i have just prepared for you

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.