Journal logo

A Day In The Life Of A Writer

Playing with thought all day long isn’t romantic as it seems.

By Sahil PatelPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
4
A Day In The Life Of A Writer
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

As a reader, you might think that we writers just go to Starbucks and just start writing on the laptop by enjoying our favorite coffee.

I hope that it’s easy as it sounds. I hope that it will be easy to put words on the papers. People thought that writers don’t work, they just think and write. However, this is not true at all.

We have to do our work mentally, which doesn’t mean it’s easy. I believe thinking is the hardest process.

Wherever we go, we are always looking for thoughts and ideas. Even when we are stuck in traffic, we always think about the next story and the next ideas.

For writers, it’s a life time job to find new ideas.

Every day we have to come up with new and fresh ideas, no matter how boring our real life is. We have to write in a way that the audience can connect with our words. Whether we are at a hill station or not, we have to write our story to give the audience a feeling of a hill station.

On a day or at night, we are just thinking, thinking, and thinking. We don’t have a romantic and joyful daily life. We writers had days when we didn’t have any motivation to write. We had zero words and ideas in our minds to write. When we go through writer’s block, it’s damn frustrating to write.

It’s frustrating when we didn’t receive rewards for our hard work. We have to edit our one-piece thousands of times to make it a masterpiece.

Who Am I?

I am an aspiring writer because I still want to write more before I call myself a professional writer. I published my poetry book and working on the next one. I am also co-author of two of the anthologies.

I write on Medium, too. I am a student of science. I don’t have much to talk about myself because I have more things to do.

Daily routine

I wake up in the morning around 7:00 AM and just after waking up, I go in front of the mirror and promise myself that I am so energetic today, and I am going to write like no one else. I do yoga for 15 minutes. I want to do it for more and won’t be able to do it.

After making this promise to myself, I finish my bathing and all the other stuff including breakfast.

Sometimes, when I finally reached my writing table, I found that the internet was down and felt so discouraging.

If the internet is good, I finally open my laptop and start writing. I hope every day that I will finish my rough draft before lunch. Then, I wrote my first page, read it aloud, and found it not good.

I delete it and start writing again. Then I might think of changing the topic, and then I start thinking again. Until I can decide on my next topic, I finish at least 2 cups of coffee.

Finally, when I reach that precious moment when I am ready with my idea and start writing, it’s almost 1:00 PM. So, I go down and finish my lunch and make myself ready to write.

I finally start typing and finish my piece by 3:00 PM. Now, it’s time to editing. I edit and I finally finished my writing session at 5:00 PM. During this time, I finish my 20 pages of the novel and one article for Medium every day.

I take a lot of time to write because I am a beginner. I try to improve my speed every day.

In all this, I might be lost in my mobile for some time, but I have to get back to work to finish my goals for a day.

It’s hard to write when you’re a perfectionist in your work. Perfectionism isn’t good when you are a writer.

I am always confused when it comes to publishing my work. However, I try to publish everything without fearing criticism.

At night, I study and make a timetable for the next day. I only have time to read Medium at night.

Then I finally go to bed thinking about the new idea for the next day. I do love to spend some time before going to bed. I love to talk to myself.

I talk about how the whole day passed and what I did and what should I didn’t. Sometimes, I do watch my favourite movie or web series on Netflix. It’s good to give yourself some time.

I listen to my favorite music until I sleep. Then, I lost in my imaginary world and I come back in the morning to live the reality.

Just like any other job, writing needs time, determination, and hard work. We rewrite more than just write.

Everything comes with hard work. I had big dreams for my writing. I hope that I will fulfil all my dreams.

Writing takes your time.

If you like short workdays, predictable schedules, and lots of alone time, this is probably not the right job for you.

But if you're like me, and love to write, it may be worth it.

Best of luck to all the writers.

career
4

About the Creator

Sahil Patel

Writer, poet, blogger and student of life. Want to make world a better place to live by writing. passionate observer and imaginative person.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.