Journal logo

8 Writing Tips I Wish I Followed Every Day

No one is going to start a blog with utter perfection. People always have a learning curve. In this article, I have written some of the very important things that I have learned writing for the past 8 months.

By Let's Discuss Published 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Image From Unsplash

It has been 8 months since I started blogging. I wrote my first blog post in April 2020. And in the past week, all I am trying to do is to erase all the useless things that I have written on the internet. I have written over 150 articles on 7 different platforms till now and hardly 50 articles of them seem relevant and good to read for me now.

Of course, the problems that I have discussed in this article will not be applicable to everyone. You can learn your problems only when you start writing more.

No one is going to start a blog with utter perfection. Those things never happen. People always have a learning curve.

"Perfection comes with Practice ", don't expect to master blogging just by readings tips and tricks from other successful bloggers. You need to try it on your own.

In this post, I have written some of the very important things that I have learned writing for the past 8 months.

1. Write a clear and concise headline

Clickbait will not get you any views after a day or two.

Make sure to choose a perfect headline by using different tools like SEOAnalyzer and YoastSEO that are available on the internet.

This will help you in the long run. So, always try to give a good and descriptive title and subtitle for all your blog posts.

2. Write A Lot Of Articles

You can learn many things by going through the tips and tricks given by other writers.

But you will not be able to get good experience until you start making your own mistakes and correcting them. Experiment through different things and see which will work out the best for you.

3. Don't Take Your Feature Image Lightly

When people look at your article on Google Search, they look at 2 things - one is your Headline and the other is your Feature Image.

Try to put a relevant high-quality feature image to increase the click-through rate. I am not going to talk more about this part.

All I have for you is a word. UNSPLASH. It will open the right doors, some of the wrong ones too.

4. Join Related Social Groups and Newsletters

Reading is as important as writing for a writer. By joining social groups/newsletter you will be able to learn new things that are happening in your field and also it allows you to interact with your fellow writers and learn from them.

5. Construct Your Articles Perfectly

People don't like to read an article that looks clumsy. Whenever necessary, try to use bold text, headlines, bullet points, and images for an explanation. Don't just keep it as one full paragraph.

6. You Don't Always Need To Write A 1000 Word Article

Trust me if you are a college student and you are writing on a daily basis, reaching that 1000 word mark is a very big challenge.

At first, I thought if my articles didn't reach 1000 words, I would not get any traffic. But Google proved me wrong, my most read article with over 2000 organic views is only 350 words.

7. Clean It Up and Recheck It

Don't post your articles as soon as you finish writing them.

Keep it in your draft folder and try reading it after 2/3 days. Now see do you still like your article? Then it's good to publish or else make the necessary changes and do the same process again.

You will never be 100% satisfied with any of your articles, as soon as you reach 90% satisfaction, without doubt, publish it.

8. Give Out Your Source To The Readers

You don't need to keep secrets from your readers. And also as most of my articles are technology and machine learning-based, I have seen many people asking me for sources and proof for what I have written, in the comment section.

So I think it's better for everyone to list out all the sources you have used whenever necessary. People like to dig more into a topic when they like an article.

That's all I have got. I hope this helps you in some way. Thanks for reading my article.

If you enjoyed reading it, make sure to give it a like and subscribe to my Newsletter / Podcast to get notified for future content like this.

advice
1

About the Creator

Let's Discuss

Topics related to Technology, Movies and Games.

Subscribe to our Newsletter on https://500ish.substack.com/

My Website - http://www.unbalanced.space/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.