Journal logo

8 Reasons to Write Articles with Pen and Paper

It is common to write articles at the computer with a cup of coffee and background music playing. This is probably how many people write their articles, but for me this method doesn't work very well. In the process of creating articles, and I have written over 400 of them, I developed my own technique of writing. First I write an article in pen on paper and only after that I type all the text in a word processor. Why do I write articles with a pen and on paper? There are reasons for that.

By Jean HartleyPublished 3 years ago 2 min read

1. I always have a sheet of paper and a pen with me

Unlike the computer, a piece of paper and pen is always with me. My notebook is in my bag, there are blank sheets of paper at the office and at home, too. In extreme cases, if an idea has occurred to me and there is no paper at hand, my smartphone helps me out. I use my pen to write down all my thoughts on it, just like on paper.

2. Creative flow

When I work with paper and a pen, I have a flow state. Words are put into sentences, sentences into paragraphs, paragraphs into an article. The article is written easily and with pleasure. Literally, I just write my paper for me.

3. It's quick to create a draft of an article

With paper and pen, I manage to write a draft of an article very quickly. It takes an average of ten minutes. I can always set aside time for this and work on the article anywhere, even in the car.

4. Systematization of information

When working on an article, I can easily organize existing knowledge on a given topic, build a logical chain, and organize information in the right order. All information is in front of me on a sheet of paper.

5. It is easy to come up with ideas for creating other content

While working on an article, I often come up with ideas for creating other content on the topic of the article. And not just one idea comes, but several at once. I write them down on the same piece of paper and can return to them later.

6. A minimum of distractions

While working on an article I do not get distracted by checking emails, messages on Facebook, communication in messengers. I have a sheet of paper and a pen in front of me. Nothing distracts me. I just transfer all my thoughts from my head to the paper on the topic of the future article.

7. The text is “laid to rest”

Any text needs to rest so that I can look at it differently later. I do not begin to work with an article until 24 hours later, during which time my thoughts are in order, I get a deeper understanding of what I want to convey to my reader and in what form.

8. The ability to quickly make the necessary changes

A sheet of paper with the written article is always with me. I can put it in my diary, my bag, in the glove compartment of my car. If an idea comes to me, I just make notes without changing the main text. As I'm typing the text of the article into the computer, I make the changes I want.

To work on articles, I like to use a regular A4 sheet of paper. I fold it in half and have four A5 sheets. First I write on one side, then on the other. If I don't have enough space, I write on the other two pages.

If I don't have a blank sheet of paper with me, my day planner or notebook saves the day. I write my article straight into them. Frankly speaking, I do not like this variant of article writing very much. I prefer writing articles on a usual sheet of paper.

And how do you write articles for your project?

list

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jean HartleyWritten by Jean Hartley

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.