Journal logo

50th Vocal Story & Overall Stats

I've learned a lot here, and I have had a lot of fun writing, but I am totally not where I would like to be. Should I quit? Let's look at everything first.

By Jay,when I writePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
50th Vocal Story & Overall Stats
Photo by Carlos Muza on Unsplash

So, this Vocal account has existed since August 2021. And it has seen...not much progress, but progress nonetheless. Some days are better than others, and we're gonna break down all of the days together and see if my time here has been worth the work + if I should continue.

Now, I'm all for writing just because you wanna write. That, for the most part, is what I do. I love writing and bothering people with my thoughts whereever I can. Yadda yadda yadda "Let's get down to business" -

I do submit to competitions, like and comment on posts. Vocal does pay you for simply uploading or commenting, liking and subscribing (interacting with others).

Competitions:

So, it costs money to submit to these competitions, well to have vocal+ which allows you to submit to any challenge. It costs me $9.99

I have tried my hand in 7 of these bad boys and I've submitted 2+ in all of them except 2.

I have won...nothing...except for the free macaroni that every participant got (I actually forgot about it, and when I tried to get it it was too late).

I decided that the last two competitions (poem & pet) were most likly (honestly, definitely) my last ones.

why?

1. I have been losing and that's kind of a discouragement, but I think right now those competitions aren't where my writing and thoughts shine. I write novels and poems, but right now I prefer writing about other things & writing articles. I'm also not good enough to win the competitions yet. Which is alright. So, losing when I had no business entering due to my skills + entering when my heart wasn't in it, just doesn't make sense.

2. I'm paying money to enter them and that's not in my budget at the moment, especially due to #1

Reads

Overall, I've gotten 125 reads. This isn't much when you take in how much I've published to Vocal.

My reads in the last 30 days:

Just 20

September 2022: $0.13 & so far in Oct: $0.02

Therefore, my earnings from reads: $0.75 (but this isn't all the money I've made from vocal, just wait)

The story with the most amount of likes and reads:

Why I won't Read a Book on Writing: 81 likes, 68 reads. It's interesting that Vocal notices when someone does not read the full thing or really stay on the page as long as they believe it would take for them to read it. I always wondered how long I should stay on the page just in case Vocal doesn't see that I actually read the full thing, I'm just a fast reader.

If anyone knows how Vocal knows if a person has read it, please let me know.

Amount Of Subscribers I have:

I have 15 awesome subscribers. Again, that's not many when you take in the hours spent on writing and my

Shouts out to all of my lovely subscribers. I truly appreciate you all.

Amount of People I'm Subscribed To:

Just 19, but I read, like and comment on posts. I just feel like I should like more than 1 post from someone (and I do read through their things) before I subscribe.

Active Pledges:

Zip, Zilch, hello darkness my old friend

How Much $ Vocal has given me for interacting:

$5 for my top story (Why I...)

$5 for liking 15 stories

$10 for publishing my 10th story

$5 for publishing my 5th story

So, if you add up the 0.75 I said I got from reads, and you add up what Vocal handed out, you get a whopping $25.75. That's enough for--

a chuckle

So, how do I proceed? Should I give up with Vocal or writing in general?

I will be honest and say it's a bit discouraging. I wish I had at least a solid $50 by now to match the amount of stories, but I guess this just means I have a lot of room to improve and I will. I will find out what people like to read and write that as long as I care to write/learn about it (I'm not completely a "sellout" I just wanna pay bills ha).

Will I stay?

With a hesitant, yes, because although, I feel discouraged I dislike giving up. I also like just sharing my thoughts and knowledge on things, so why should I give up that bit of joy?

Anyway,

Thank you for reading. Peace.

career
1

About the Creator

Jay,when I write

Hello.

What?

23, Black, queer, yup

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.