Journal logo

5 Reasons I Love Writing On Vocal

5 Reasons I keep publishing on vocal

By Misha AlslebenPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
4

I remember about 5 years ago when I had the notion stuck in my head that in order to be a writer you had to get a agent and get published. The world of freelance writing was strange to me and I actually had freelance writing confused with ghost writing for the longest time.

While you can pay for Vocal+ for added benefits on the site including entering some challenges that aren't available for non vocal+ members it's a wonderful platform for writer's who are just starting out or want to build a online following somewhere other than a domain they purchase.

It's a free outlet to build your portfolio

Perhaps this one is a bit selfish , however it's true in my opinion. Vocal media is a great way to get your writing published somewhere other than a personal website without paying fee's or having to do the heavy lifting as far as website development and other technology goes. You can write about almost anything you can think of , and it get's published with easier way's for you to share with friends, family, and your readers.

If you do ever apply for a writing job you have something to show, examples of past work and also your stats to help show the interest in your reading.

Vocal Help's Challenge and Better Your Writing

Regardless of why you write or what you write Vocal helps get you writing. It pushes you to create and getting paid is a extra bonus.

Vocal's weekly and monthly challenges also help challenge you as a writer. The prize's are fun and I know I myself hold out hope of winning one someday however I find so much value in the fact that they not only get me to write something I might not of normally written but their word limits and short story challenges have helped better my writing over time and continue to do so.

Variety of Content

From filthy , potent to motivation and education they have a community for nearly every writer which makes not only writing on vocal fun and engaging but reading interesting and never boring.

I find it inspiring see so many different authors , writer's and people with different styles and interests on one site vs individual ones. Adding my own content and work is a added bonus and it makes me thankful to be a part of the Vocal community & Family.

Of course winning a challenge would be cool I really love how much they get us out of our writer boxes and creating things new and different.

Extra Income Stream

Vocal is not a get rich scheme, and I've found a lot of writer's or authors who leave the site/platform have entered with that hope. It's rare to publish one or two single articles and make $100s of dollars let alone a full income.

That's not to say that its impossible though. It's not , but you have to meet Vocal half way.

Create the content but also market yourself as a writer, build a fan/reader base and share your stories to Facebook communities or other online groups that support writers and help you develop another income stream.

Most wealthy or comfortably living people will tell you that multiple income streams is how it is done. Vocal can be 1 income stream of many and I personally love that. While I don't make $100s of dollars its still money made that I wouldn't have without Vocal. Vocal Challenges make the chance to earn extra money even greater.

The Tipping System

I don't think I've written on a blog, for a website or anywhere online where being tipped was a option. I think it's a fantastic idea but also a wonderful feeling to create a written piece of work then share it with friends, family or readers and get tipped because they enjoy it so much.

I think its a clever way for not only the site to get it writer's paid but to also let their writer's earn in another way besides just reads or winning a challenge.

In the same another feature that I love and appreciate is the newly added bonus feature. While I still don't completely understand it , it is a nice gesture for writers to be able to earn in multiple ways.

Vocal of course has significantly more reasons besides these 5 that make it such a pleasure to write with, however these are my top 5 !

I would love to hear some of your reasons why you love writing or reading on Vocal!

product review
4

About the Creator

Misha Alsleben

Wife & Mom Fueled by ;

Caffeine & Gratitude, when I’m not writing you’ll find me raising awareness about our planet’s needs , in the kitchen ,outside with the family, taking photos or in a bookstore.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.