Journal logo

5 Career Mistakes I Wish I Had Never Made

It's not what you think

By Deepak MPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
14
5 Career Mistakes I Wish I Had Never Made
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

"After completing my schooling in 2017, I started doing various types of work to make myself financially strong and my studies. I initially worked as a waiter, but I didn't like that. So after this, I started searching for ways to earn money online on the internet and did many things like freelancing, blogging, and graphic designing. And during this time, I made many mistakes in my career."

"My career so far has not been very smooth, and it was not at all what I thought. I have made many mistakes in my career so far. Although I am not disappointed with my mistakes because I have always tried to overcome those shortcomings by learning from my mistakes, perhaps one of the reasons for these mistakes is that we are human beings. And humans make mistakes."

"Recently I made a list of my top five mistakes; I hope many of these points will prove helpful to you."

1. Prioritizing money

"The primary purpose of doing all the things I did at the beginning of my career was to earn money; a side effect of this is that we often start doing such things to make money in which we are not interested. Though it is not wrong to give importance to money, there are many more things that one needs to know."

"At the start of our career, we should focus on things like learning, experiencing, and doing work that interests us, rather than focusing on making money; it will be more satisfying."

"Although most people ignore this thing, because they cannot say no to money, if you give importance to learning new things in the beginning, then your future will be brighter."

2. Wasting Time

"One of the biggest mistakes I've ever made in my career is a waste of time. I wasted many evenings and weekends just watching TV, going out, pointless shopping. Of course, having fun isn't a bad thing, but if you have free time, it doesn't mean that you should relax."

"Our time is very limited, so we need to understand the importance of time seriously. So start learning and practicing new things from today itself, and try to make yourself an expert in any one field."

3. Not Following Your Interests

"To achieve success in life, it is essential to follow your interests. You will find two types of people in the world, one who will advise you to follow your interests, and the other who will advise you not to do so."

"The surprising thing is that people who move forward in life by accommodating their interests advise others to do the same. And on the other hand, people who do not follow their interests, and are doing a normal job, will ask you to do the same."

"Therefore, always follow the advice of such people who have succeeded in life by accommodating their interests. Also, you must consider whether you would like to spend your life doing something that you hate?"

4. Not Asking For Help

"It is often seen that people do not like to take help from others even when they are in trouble. Maybe he's afraid to ask for help from others; perhaps he feels that people will consider him weak. In the beginning, I, too, felt hesitant to ask for help from others. Many times, because of this, I had a lot of trouble learning new things. Many people expect help from others, but they themselves do not ask for help. After getting into troubles in life many times, I learned that we should never be afraid to ask for help."

"Team effort is very important to get success in life. If you also think that you can do all the work alone, then maybe you are wrong. Even though you know everything, you still need help. Whenever you feel that you are failing continuously, you should consult the experts and take their help."

5. Wanting Too Much, Too Quickly

"You must have heard this many times that "There is no shortcut to achieving success." Trying to move too fast, in the beginning, can be harmful to you. I also started expecting good results as soon as I began to do any work in the beginning. Sometimes there was disappointment when the results were not satisfactory. It is written in the Bhagavad Gita that:"

"do karma. Don't desire fruit."

"This means that when we do any work, we should work hard without worrying about the result. When we do any work with a sincere heart, then we definitely get success."

"It is essential for any human being to be patient. Patient people never worry about the result; even if the outcome is against them, they still do not despair. At the age of 17, I started doing different types of work. I got to learn a lot in the last four years. And I'm not discouraged by my mistakes because that's how we learn."

Final Thoughts

"Two things are essential to get success in life, first time management, and second effort. We need to take things seriously because sometimes we feel that we still have a lot of time, but in reality it is not. You must have heard that most businessmen and motivational speakers say that the age of 18 to 25 is the right time to fulfill their dreams. Personally, I also believe that we should make good use of this time. Correct your mistakes and move on in life."

"You need to find a purpose in your life; you must know the "what" and "why" of what you need to do. If you can find the answer to "what" and "why," then it will not be difficult for you to find the answer to how."

“For more information, please visit our website.”: click here

career
14

About the Creator

Deepak M

www.deepakblogger.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.