Journal logo

3 Simple Ways for Writers to Make Their Lives Easier

Work smarter, not harder

By SWSPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
3 Simple Ways for Writers to Make Their Lives Easier
Photo by Toni Koraza on Unsplash

It can be hard to find the time to write consistently. I know I struggle with it. I work full-time and I go to school full-time as well.

With that being said, I have tried to find ways to simplify my writing process. This has allowed me to make the time to write, while still having time for my other responsibilities.

Figure out a routine for yourself and don’t overthink the process. There are many different ways to make your life as a writer so much easier.

#1 Work on your writing routine

No one has created the single best writing routine that works for everyone. You have to figure out what works for you.

Ask yourself this:

What writing routine will allow me to be the most productive in my writing?

It is very tempting to try and copy someone else’s routine, but it may not work for you.

The process of perfecting your own writing routine can take time, dedication, and patience.

Allow yourself to experiment with different writing routines before you settle for one specific way. You may not be getting your most productive self in your current routine.

It is also a good idea to make sure you feel focused and energized in your writing environment. You may be surprised at the impact it can to have to switch up where you choose to write.

Take note of what time of the day you write the best. Then try doing it at that time every day.

Some people set a word count. I recently tried setting a time limit and it seems to give me a higher average daily word count doing it that way.

#2 Reflect on your current tools and processes

We are often creatures of habit. Sometimes this can be bad because we stick with what we already know and do, rather than seek a better tool or process.

Consider switching up your writing software. I use to use Microsoft Word for writing almost everything, but I find Google Docs to be much more convenient primarily because it is a cloud service. I also suggest using something like Grammarly to check your work. In the past, you may have been your own editor, but that has resulted in a lot of mistakes for me.

I also try to have someone check my work for me. Then I use Grammarly to ensure neither one of us missed anything. This can make life easier and save you time.

If you have always researched your work in exactly the same way, consider switching that up as well. There are many different ways to research. Be open-minded to the fact that your way may not be the most effective.

Writing is great and I love to do it, but I know I don’t have to do it alone. I can find connection and companionship through my writing. I can also find great feedback and constructive criticism as well. Other writers are a precious resource that you should absolutely use to help you get better at writing.

#3 Stay motivated to write

Sometimes you can get stuck as a writer. It is important to always remember why you are writing in the first place.

When I first started writing, I had a lot of enthusiasm to write. Somewhere along the line, I lost some of that enthusiasm.

I consistently remind myself why I am writing every day. This helps me actually get the work done.

Remember that it is important to set realistic goals. If you don’t complete any articles and constantly feel you are suffering from writer’s block, it is unrealistic to expect yourself to just knock out 5 articles tomorrow. You have to set your goals small and build from there.

Ask other people to hold you accountable as well. Tell other people why you want to write, so that they can remind you when you are unmotivated.

#4 Create a list of your ideas separately

When it comes to writing, I have always struggled getting started.

So instead of sitting down just waiting for something to come to me, I always have ideas on hand. Right now in my drafts, I have at least a weeks worth of work titled and subtitled. All I have to do is research and start writing.

This saves me so much time. It also stops me from being able to make excuses in regards to not having anything to write about.

Don’t worry about whether or not the ideas are good or bad at first. Just make a list of about 50 ideas and narrow it down to the things you know you will succeed at writing.

#5 Change your writing style

Don’t be afraid to switch it up. I am currently experimenting with different writing styles. I am new to writing on Medium. I have no idea what works best for me.

I am not afraid to say that because I believe in being humble. I know that I always have more to learn.

You can be casual and conversational in blogging.

Or You can write like a journalist by being concise and factual.

Maybe you are a writer who likes to use humor.

Don’t be afraid to try different things. You may find that the style you write in isn’t necessarily the style you can write the best in.

Every day isn’t going to be perfect as a writer. Some days you may feel you aren’t writing well at all. Take a break and unplug for a bit. Don’t overthink things. We all have bad days.

Put your best foot forward each day. That is all you can do. Sometimes it is helpful to let your writing be for a while and come back to edit it when you are fresh.

There truly is no “right” way to be a writer. What works for you probably isn’t going to work for me and vice versa.

Take the time to figure out what works best for you as a writer.

Maybe you can say what you need to say in fewer words than most people? Okay run with that.

Maybe you do better writing in 500-word increments. That’s okay.

Or maybe setting a time limit works best for you. That’s okay too.

It’s ultimately up to you to decide who you are as a writer and what’s most effective for you.

Thanks for reading!

This story was originally published on Medium:

advice
1

About the Creator

SWS

Blogger dedicated to helping business owners and entrepeneurs with marketing, business, blogging, web design and more! https://superbwebservices.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.