Journal logo

How I Am Using the Coronavirus Pandemic to Become a Better Writer

Being stuck at home doesn’t have to be a bad thing.

By SWSPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
How I Am Using the Coronavirus Pandemic to Become a Better Writer
Photo by Kari Shea on Unsplash

I am blessed.

I have been given the ability to see the positives in this negative situation. During this pandemic, my writing has improved because the time I have to write has increased greatly.

My day job went fully remote before coronavirus shut everything down.

This gave me the benefit of being able to adjust the hours that I work. My job can be mindless work sometimes. I believe it is important to be able to choose the time of day you are most productive and adjust when you are writing to that time.

This pandemic has allowed me to be able to do that.

I am also a full-time student, so working from home and being stuck at home hasn’t changed much for me. I stay busy either way. Another positive of the pandemic is being stuck at home has given me more time to get things done.

Honestly, aimlessly scrolling during work hours is how I found Medium. If it wasn’t for the pandemic, I probably wouldn’t be writing this right now. So, thank you coronavirus.

Taking away my commute has given me an extra two hours per day. That is a lot of time to regain. That is roughly 520 hours per year because I work 5 days a week. Nearly 22 days a year of time that I am getting back to use however I see fit.

With everything going on in my life, it was very hard to make time to write before. I am so happy with working from home that I hope we never go back. Now that I know I can do my job remotely, I don’t see the point in going back. Working from home has entirely too many perks, especially for an aspiring writer.

Being stuck at home doesn’t have to be a bad thing

It isn’t bad for a writer, unless of course, you are a travel writer.

Staying home because of this virus has given me one of the most important resources for writing: time. Like I said, I don’t have to commute anymore for work. I really don’t have anywhere to be. I can plan a schedule to write and I will have no excuse if I fail to stick to it.

Another bonus of having additional time to put towards writing is that I can can be more organized. Instead of rushing things, I can write and edit separately. I know exactly where I will be each day, so I know that I will have time later to go back and edit. I feel it is more effective to write first and edit later.

This pandemic has taught me to look at writing in a different light. I use to want to write just to make money. As a result of being able to sit down and take my time to write, I have since realized I enjoy writing as a hobby. It is healing to me. I prefer to write how I feel about things or how I perceive things. I believe that it is important for me to have this outlet. Everyone should have an outlet.

I am not the most social person in the world, but I have strong beliefs. Writing is the way I get those beliefs out. I know that people will connect to what I write more if they can sense the emotion and realness of my writing.

You can definitely tell the difference between an article written for the sole purpose of making money and an article written to genuinely connect with your readers.

I have wanted to write for most of my life. In the past, I have made many half-hearted attempts at writing. This time is different because I have found a voice. It isn’t a perfect voice and I am learning how to use it every day, but I am confident in my writing.

I am not worried about what everyone thinks of my writing. I am more worried about writing my truth. That keeps things genuine between me and my readers.

Writing can also help me to avoid being in my head with my thoughts because of the fact that I am stuck at home.

Times are hard right now. I know there are people struggling. If you are struggling, don’t keep it to yourself. Writing can be a great tool for managing your mental health issues. I know it is has helped me, especially during this coronavirus pandemic.

Reach out or try writing. You never know it may help you.

Thank you for reading.

This story was originally published on Medium:

literature
Like

About the Creator

SWS

Blogger dedicated to helping business owners and entrepeneurs with marketing, business, blogging, web design and more! https://superbwebservices.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.