Journal logo

1000's of Paper Cranes in Flight

A Rewarding Life-Long Lesson

By Opal A RoszellPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1
Photo by David Yu from Pexels

Learning About Paper Cranes

I was in grade four when I first learned how to make a paper crane. My eyes grew wide while hearing the teacher tell such a beautiful story. Filled with hope and aspirations. I was instantly inspired. Something about the story went along with the peaceful act of folding the crane. After constructing that first masterpiece, one's sense of accomplishment seemed to absorb into my little mind. A twinkling story of what if. What if that little girl on a mission to make 1000 paper cranes actually accomplished it? Would her dreams come true? Would world peace really happen?

https://www.withathousandcranes.com/about#:~:text=The%20senbazuru%20was%20popularized%20by,would%20grant%20her%20good%20health.

I began to make paper cranes throughout the next few years, one at a time, never counting how many I made. I could only make big ones than with regular-sized organi paper. But there was something special in everyone. I believed they held hope in them. As long as I had a little paper crane, there was hope waiting to hold my hand.

Spreading Hope

Those paper cranes followed every restaurant, every still moment when a tiny scrap of paper could be moulded into these mini pieces of art. Collectively they began to add up. I had made a ton of these little birds in my life.

People knew me by these. Still, every folded bird brought someone a little piece of hope. People to this day still have birds I made years and years ago.

The Woman With Hope

One day, I was with my old farmer friend, Mr. von Hollen, in a small town, having lunch at a diner. I made three cranes, one little bit more significant, one medium-sized and one tiny one. I left them for the waitress. I usually did this, very common and mundane to me. Regardless we left the diner that day.

Several months passed.

That same year, it was the winter of 2012. I helped a friend out by staying in his RV, keeping the water on a slight drip overnight to prevent his RV from freezing up. He worked in snow removal late at night as I would be there watching his RV. It was a hard time of my life, and I began to make paper cranes all the time.

At Christmas time that year, I went to my friend's family's house for Christmas. The friend with the RV. It was the most delightful love-filled Christmas. The ladies had me making tiny cranes one by one, smaller and smaller, then placed them on the Christmas tree in glee. I must have completed over 100 that Christmas.

Cancer fell on those women just a few short years later. It was devastating to find that out. It came of a sudden for both the mother and grandmother of my friend. Resulting in these beautiful amazing women losing their lives too soon.

Had I had only made a thousand that Christmas and wished them for the blessing of health to be with them for the years to come.

One early morning I was up ready to leave my friend's RV for the day, and I asked to do a load of laundry. The laundry room was located in an outbuilding where there were other living quarters. I was putting my laundry in when a thin woman popped the door open and pleasantly suggested I come in for a pina colada. I was a little shy but did go in. The lady told me that she had breast cancer. My grandmother died of breast cancer, so my heart definitely felt for her. I began to make a paper crane. To my surprise, she had three. She went on to tell me that on her last shift at work (the day when she found she had breast cancer), she had an appointment at the doctor's that day and had to leave early. She told me that she was a waitress at a small dinner. The person who she last served had left three paper cranes on the table. She grabbed them from her room. To my astonishment, they were the ones I had made! I doubted she would ever believe it. We both broke into tears, and she knew. She told me that was her sign of hope and kept them because she remembered to have hope every time she looked at them.

My heart swelled with joy that I could inspire just one person. I started to make more cranes over time. I had probably made over a thousand, but the only thing I had wished for was to give someone hope.

Hard Times

Later in life, I got more anxious. It was apparent that the trauma I had been through was taking its toll. My son was not with me full time for a few years, which made me lose my life purpose. I had walked off into the darkness just as I thought there could be no light. Shades of grey filled my mind. I was hurt and felt like I was alone, destitute for self-destruction and additions.

I bravely held my head up, overcame the shadows lingering in my mind. Finally realizing, I wouldn't get anywhere being blind.

My life changed in other dramatic ways in 2013. Not only getting a good job, but I also had spent the last few years focusing on personal development. I started my company, iPid, and really started to go somewhere. Somewhere where I wanted to be.

Pursuit For Happiness

So later in life, in 2017, for thanksgiving, I make a thousand. It didn't take me very long. This time I had a firm wish. I wanted my son back with me full-time. I saw him, regularly but it wasn't enough, my purpose was to be his mother, and without that light in my life, everything would have faded away into the night just as my brother had back in August of 2000 when he passed away.

I had a dream, a wish, something at the time that was unachievable (a possible option for someone with the patience to fold 1000 paper cranes). I did, and yes, my son moved in full-time in 2018 after a lengthy court battle. It was a battle that I fought as a self-representative and won. I contended with a high-end lawyer and litigation processes I never knew existed. I changed once again.

I am now living at a beautiful acreage. Mountains caress the backdrop of my window's view. Close to nature, where the frogs I love live. Ever so country, hay and cattle all about. A horse and a jaw-dropping sunrise view over the prairies.

One thing I know is hope is powerful; dreams can come true.

I have achieved my goals thus far. You must believe and work towards your goals. Set limits beyond what you think you can do. Get out there and live the life you want. There is time. 24 hours in a day, and don't say that's not enough. You can't buy time, but you can use it wisely.

What I Learned

I decided to give away my cranes to people in the surrounding neighbourhood and communities. I just went places with a basket and handed them out. Or put them in mailboxes with no explanation. People have found these little birds in the strangest places and probably pondered on where they came from.

This might be just a Japanese myth, nothing more. My journey with 1000 paper cranes helped me meet people and be giving with a generous, hopeful outlook. When I saw someone struggle, I would give them hope. We can all do that for one another if we believe. Share hope with others by being kind and understanding.

I never saw a woman with cancer again. I'll never know her fate. She was inspired and felt like she had something to believe in with a purpose. One simple act of kindness can change the world.

It starts with learning to fold a paper crane.

decor
1

About the Creator

Opal A Roszell

Promoting Social & Emotional Growth in Online Communities. Content Creator for hire [email protected].

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.