Interview logo

Trusting the Process:

Author Chavis D. Walker Talks Writing “Refined”

By Dr. P. GurleyPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

In a world where people are constantly trying to tell you who to be and what to do when it comes to publishing, it can be difficult to find your own voice. But author Chavis D. Walker believes that it's important to trust the process and stay true to yourself. In her new book, “Refined: A Guide To Accept And Release The Things That No Longer Serve You,” Walker opened up about her own journey, and she found success by being authentic to who she is.

When it came to writing her book, Chavis found there were a lot of different things that went into the process – from the initial idea all the way through to getting the book published. It can be a daunting task for any author, especially if they’re new to the world of publishing. However, as Chavis learned, it was important to trust the process and not get overwhelmed when it came to every little detail. One process was how much or how little to write. She wanted to ensure that what she wrote would not be offensive – even sharing many parts of her own personal journey. In the end, she found that the best thing to do was to be honest and authentic. Chavis’ words are a reminder that we all have our own unique journey to follow. By staying true to ourselves, we can find the strength to overcome any obstacle. Trusting the process is not always easy, but it is always worth it.

In this brief interview, Chavis shares how all things that led to her successfully publishing her book, including how she was selective with the content and the creativity behind the cover.

What is the most difficult part about writing for you?

I find great joy in writing, and I pray it never becomes difficult. Because of my why and what I am writing about is what keep me motivated. If I had to find something difficult, it would be my wanting to be sure not to hurt anyone with the tone I am attempting to create for the reader. Being mindful that everyone discerns things very differently, it could be easy to offend someone who has not accepted certain things. I’ve learned it's very easy to offend people who have not learned what accountability means. Not to mention there are so many that misjudge and lack understanding of what message is attempted to be delivered. It is not my intent to harm or be harsh, so when navigating certain topics, I can spend a little longer reviewing the content to be sure that I am sensitive to every word.

What comes first, the plot or characters?

The character and the plot meet together at this read's beginning. If I had to choose which is first, I would say the character. After all, he is Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end. God is who gave me the courage to write the book. I spent a lot of time reading his words and discerning what he was trying to convey to me; therefore, it was only right to begin with, him. He is why I have life today; I can be me and live without judgment and free of false narratives.

How much ‘word-building’ takes place before you start writing?

I am pleased to say none, at least for now. I become so full in my thoughts, and my instinct is to write. The way my thoughts flow naturally builds momentum and leads me to the end. But I go back, read over what came out, and edit the content. I like that my thoughts are always beneath the surface of any topic. I’m a deep thinker, and I envision forward, so it’s not difficult for me to stay in alignment with what was written, even if it’s days later.

Tell us about the process for coming up with the cover.

Deciding what the cover would be was not difficult at all for me. I love taking selfies, and while I have been on my self-healing journey, I have captured many photos with the sun shining vibrantly over me. I feel like the sun has been God's kiss. I sent it to my parents and asked their opinion of the photo being the cover and why. They both responded the same way, and there you have it. This was the easiest part of writing the book. I also wanted to reflect love, peace, and happiness. Everybody loves the sunshine.

How can people connect with you, find your books, etc.?

You can find me through my website @ www. thecoachofcourage.com to learn more about the author and purchase books; if you are interested in taking my accountability courses, you can sign up at @www.thesynergyhouse.com.

AuthorsCreatorsThought Leaders
Like

About the Creator

Dr. P. Gurley

Author | Writer | Press/Media Journalist | Podcast Host

IG: @iamdrpgurley

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.