Interview logo

“The Seven Little Deaths” Interview with Author Tylor Paige

Paige’s eighth novel marks her first vampire romance

By Ted RyanPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

With her eighth novel celebrating its release, indie author Tylor Paige - who is best known for her contemporary rock star romances such as the You and Me series - was kind enough to spare some time to discuss her latest book.

This book sees Paige delving into an entirely new genre and here’s what she had to say about it:

What inspired you to write this novel?

Tiktok! I actually saw a thirst trap that I really digged. He was MY CHARACTER. It inspired me to dust off the vampire idea I had sitting on my shelf and actually write it.

How would you say this book differs from your previous novels?

This book differs from my others in many ways. The first- genre. I switched from steamy contemporary rockstar romance to spicy dark paranormal romance. The second, being that I have put so much time, money, and effort into this book. I hired a cover model, (the same one from tiktok!), switched editors, and worked with beta readers. And the hard work shows on the page.

What is your writing process like?

I plot heavily and then binge.

How do you approach writing your characters and bringing their relationships to life?

Music helps a lot. I think that many of my characters share some of my personality in little ways, but I always try to make them different enough so you can’t tell. The relationships are usually unfolded by whatever music I’m listening to at the time.

What was an early experience where you learned that language had power?

I remember reading The Little Princess in the fifth grade and thinking how popular it was even now. I found it amazing how some books could stand the test of time. (Now, I really don’t remember if this book does or not, but, I’ll always remember how it made me feel.)

What is the most difficult part of your artistic process?

Plotting. Sometimes words just don’t want to come.

What do you hope readers take from this story?

I hope readers want to come back for more. I hope they enjoy my writing style enough to keep reading my past and future books.

If you could tell your younger writing self anything, what would it be?

Skip all the boring stuff with college and trying to get a “good career”. Just go straight to writing, and save everything.

What’s your favourite under-appreciated novel?

Under-apprieciated? Oh man, I have so many! Anything written by John Waters, the director. His prose is amazing, and he reads the audiobooks. They are some of my favorite books, and I wish more people would read them so we could discuss.

What would your advice be to any aspiring writers?

Find your local writing group and join them. Don’t worry about being shy, they are too. I can not stress this enough. Find your tribe and you’ll be successful.

What are you writing next?

Currently I am working on book two in my vampire series, Lay Your Body Down. Then I’ll be working on three and some other stuff I can’t exactly disclose quite yet.

Desi:

Bloodshed vampires are trash. Who willingly gives up their human lives for a life as an outcast? A life where you’re entirely dependent on whether you can find someone to willingly offer you their neck.

But that’s the vampire’s curse, isn’t it? Eternal life comes with a price to all vampires, but I made the mistake of adding on to my curse. Ten thousand evil souls for my memory back. I’ve spent the last three decades with knowledge that someone out there is looking for me, but until I break the curse we can never be together. Thankfully, I met the Seven Sins. They took me in and have upped my blood count. The curse will be broken soon, but am I ready?

Scout:

Bloodborn vampires are obnoxious. I can say that because I am one. I didn’t choose to die at twenty-seven, it just happened.

Everyone knows about the Seven Sins. A group of bloodborns who you don’t cross, and if you do, you don’t finish out the night. No one knows who they are or which sin is tied to which vamp, but I’m not stupid enough to find out. Or maybe I am? Realizing I’ve been dating one was surprising to say the least. Finding out that he’s got an even hotter, more dangerous friend who I want more is… trouble.

The Seven Little Deaths is a steamy dark vampire romance. It’s the first in the Little Deaths series. This book is an adult romance novel and is not intended for young readers. Read at your own discretion.

Author Links for Tylor Paige

TikTok | Twitter| Facebook | Goodreads|

Thank you again to Tylor for a wonderful interview. You can grab a copy of THE SEVEN LITTLE DEATHS in eBook or paperback here!

Authors
Like

About the Creator

Ted Ryan

When I’m not reviewing or analysing pop culture, I’m writing stories of my own.

Reviewer/Screenwriter socials: Twitter.

Author socials: You can find me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, TikTok and Goodreads as T.J. Ryan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.