Interview logo

"The Echoes of Fallen Stars: Immortal Crowns" - Interview with Author J.D. Netto

A gay forbidden love story between two biblical figures - J.D. Netto discusses his latest novel!

By Ted RyanPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
1

J.D. Netto is a multi-faceted bestselling author. His first fantasy series, The Whispers of the Fallen, became an underground phenomenon when first published. He’s also the founder of Saved by the Page, a movement that invites readers to share stories on how books saved their lives. A few of these heroic tales were compiled into an anthology, published in 2018. He’s also known for Henderbell: The Shadow of Saint Nicholas—a speculative fiction novel that follows the cursed bloodline of Father Christmas.

I had the opportunity to speak with Netto and discuss his latest novel Immortal Crowns, a new tale riddled with betrayal, romance, war, and deceit.

What inspired you to write this novel?

“Immortal Crowns” is a tribute to all the gay boys who never thought they could be heroes. My younger self inspired this tale. I wanted to read something I didn’t have when I was navigating those waters myself. Many will love it. Many will frown upon it. If people have an opinion about it, then I am okay.

How would you say this book differs from your previous novels?

This novel is raw. It’s darker than anything I’ve written in the past. The prose is quite different as well. It’s also the first time I’m exploring more of my characters’ carnal moments. I did not hold back on this one.

What is your writing process like?

I usually sit with my idea for a few weeks before drafting. I want to make sure the story I want to tell has something to offer. Once I am pleased with the overall concept, then the writing begins. I usually have a first draft in a few months. While I am writing, I also sketch characters and scenes. They become more real to me when I see them under such light. It’s just something I do.

How do you approach writing your characters and bringing their relationships to life?

I observe the people around me. People are like trees to me. I often wonder what makes their roots grow deep. How wide will their branches spread? How tall will they get? What’s watering that tree? I observe qualities, flaws, victories, and loses and find a common ground between them all. I live in the New York area. I people-watch a lot. I promise I’m not a creep.

What was an early experience where you learned that language had power?

The moment I realized stories changed the course of humanity.

What is the most difficult part of your artistic process?

The day before a release. You suddenly realize that something you created in the quiet will now belong to so many.

What do you hope readers take from this story?

I hope “Immortal Crowns” inspires readers to be authentic. Do not comfort to the mold! Embrace your truth and be bold enough to navigate violent waters when necessary.

If you could tell your younger writing self anything, what would it be?

‘It’s going to be worth it, kid.’

What would your advice be to any aspiring writers?

Work on the idea you’re willing to spend countless hours on. That’s the one that will pave the way for you.

What are you writing next?

I’m working on the sequel to ‘Crowns,’ Henderbell 2, and a gay rom-com. Lots to share in the future!

Five thousand years ago, when mortals were a mere thought in the mind of their creator, Lucifer was casted out of the immortal realm of Valleyner, doomed to spend his days in the Dark Beyond. After Hanell the Creator, the Pale Lion, fashioned the mortal world of Thelsten, a secret concealed from mortals brought on grave consequences.

In the remote village of Heedeon, Bellwound Throvar and Arnon Helvug are visited by immortals from shadow and light. A weapon known as the Mezar is found, believed to house the Luciferian Epistle written before he, the Dove, suffered judgement by the Regents, gods of ultimate power and parents to Hanell the Creator.

The two boys set out on a journey with a Nephilin, hoping to find answers to their mysterious past. But secrets and lies do not ask for the right time to strike. A dark tale spreads, whispers that the Dove was expelled by the Pale Lion not because of rebellion, but because of their forbidden love for one another. While struggling to confess his true feelings for Arnon, Bellwound realizes that love won't be enough to save them from their doom, especially if the doom was caused by love itself.

As they travel across forests, deserts, and seas, they discover that the ploy of the gods will not only change their own world but will also claim lives, crowns, and kingdoms.

Author Links for J.D. Netto

TikTok | Instagram| Facebook | Goodreads|

Thank you again to J.D. for a wonderful interview. You can grab a copy of "The Echoes of Fallen Stars: Immortal Crowns" in eBook, paperback and coming soon to audiobook!

Authors
1

About the Creator

Ted Ryan

When I’m not reviewing or analysing pop culture, I’m writing stories of my own.

Reviewer/Screenwriter socials: Twitter.

Author socials: You can find me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, TikTok and Goodreads as T.J. Ryan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.