Interview logo

Talking With Natalie Polisson about Lifetime Movie ‘My Child Has My Doctor’s Face’

Interview with actress Natalie Polisson about starring as a strong woman seeking justice.

By FierceScribePublished 19 days ago 4 min read
Actress Natalie Polisson

This edition of Talking With focuses on actress Natalie Polisson, who is seeking the truth but ultimately justice against an infertility doctor that violated her trust in the Lifetime movie ‘My Child Has My Doctor’s Face’.

Natalie worked on the dramatic thriller with director Joshua Butler, known for ‘The Vampire Diaries’ and ‘Shadowhunters’, and co-writer Dane K. Braun, as well as co-stars Daniel O’Reilly and Kelsey Fordham.

This movie is only the latest project for this talented actress. Previously, Natalie lent her voice for Build-a-Bear’s feature film, ‘Glisten and the Merry Misson’ with Chevy Chase, Freddie Prinz Jr, and Michael Rappaport. She recurred on Brat TV’s Tubi series ‘Chicken Girls’ and Snapchat’s ‘Solve’; and appeared in the Stories International film ‘The Rise of Supermouth’ and ‘Piercing Wounds’ available on Amazon Prime.

To learn more, we are Talking With Natalie Polisson:

Tell us about Jessica Graff in ‘My Child Has My Doctor’s Face’.

Natalie Polisson: Several years after Jessica was finally able to successfully conceive using IVF under the guidance of Dr. Preston Bellamy (Daniel O’Reilly), Jessica has a sinking feeling her husband isn’t the biological father of their son. With suspicions raised that Dr. Bellamy could have sabotaged the fertilization process, she teams up with another IVF patient Sarah (Kelsey Fordham) to probe further, collecting evidence to expose the deceitful doctor and seek justice.

As an actor, what helped you the most in bringing her to life?

Natalie Polisson: With this particular project I was super attentive to the story timeline and how each little bit of information informed her level of suspicion and decisions going forward. I also prepped myself by watching ‘Baby God’, the documentary on HBO to see how these families dealt with finding out their doctor had violated them years later. There are some insane stories of doctor’s committing fertility fraud.

Do you have a favorite scene from the movie? And, was it also your favorite to shoot?

Natalie Polisson: Not sure I have a favorite, but when watching I was super impressed with how the break in scene came together. The suspense was palpable, and I clearly knew what was going to happen! It wasn’t my favorite to shoot because it was so segmented, but it made for a challenge, and I am always up for learning and growing through a challenge.

What do you hope moviegoers to take away after watching?

Natalie Polisson: The story centers around women taking back their power and protecting each other. I’m excited for audiences to be inspired by that. The film has a scene that showcases the difficulties of getting pregnant and how emotionally taxing that can be on a relationship. The decision to go through IVF is not an easy one, but it gives so many couples an opportunity to have a family and bring life into the world. I think it’s important for audiences to understand that these decisions are not taken lightly.

Where do you start when preparing for a role; and does that change depending on the genre?

Natalie Polisson: I have a ‘usual routine’ I go through and that always starts with combing through the script and finding any and all information about my character – from dialogue, past decisions, the way I interact with different characters throughout, etc. From there I decide what I want and how I am going to get that. If the genre is comedy there is usually a lot more technical work like finding the reversals, proper pacing, and cleverly timed beats.

How did you get started in acting?

Natalie Polisson: Funny story - I saw ‘Cats’ on Broadway when I was in third grade and when I saw these live actors on stage my jaw dropped to the floor and the idea of encompassing a character took my breath away. Yes, they are all cats, but they are all distinct characters that you root for. I then proceeded to dress up like a cat for a year, learned the entire musical in detail, and joined every talent show I could find to showcase a number from Cats. From there my love of performing grew and my desire to understand human nature intensified in my acting classes in college.

What inspires you the most creatively?

Natalie Polisson: I love amazing live theatre and I think seeing the work up close, with no editing of any sort gets me jazzed to be a more present, attentive and properly reactive scene partner. I’d also have to say music. I listen to music daily, still sing and pick up my violin when I can. I find that music transforms my mood completely and sometimes I find songs that different characters I’m working on can connect with.

Finally, is there anything else you’re working on that we can watch for?

Natalie Polisson: Yes! I filmed a lead role in the family friendly feature film, The Marlin Cowboy, directed by Markiss Mcfadden of McFadden Family Films, which should be coming out later this year. I’m currently prepping to film a new horror feature film, Days of Sodom: A Crow Fan Film, from director-actor Cody Faulk. Bisected, directed by Danny Pineros and Maladjustment, directed by Anatasha Blakely are currently making their festival rounds and sweeping up well deserved awards along the way.

Keep up with Natalie Polisson at NataliePolisson.com and Instagram: @nataliepolisson

HumanityFilmmakersCelebritiesActors

About the Creator

FierceScribe

I write about entertainment and the inspiring people who create it. Interviews with actors and filmmakers revealing their latest projects and what influences them creatively.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Esala Gunathilake19 days ago

    Lovely and well done.

  • Sweileh 88819 days ago

    Interesting and delicious content, keep posting more.

FierceScribeWritten by FierceScribe

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.