Interview logo

Reflect & Resolve

saying goodbye to 2023 and hello to 2024

By Shirley BelkPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 3 min read
9
Credit: Getty Images/iStockphoto

A new year is just around the corner, so get your traditional black-eyed peas ready for good luck. Black-eyed Peas & Cabbage:

"Some say the black-eyed pea's lucky streak dates back to the pharaohs. Others say it started during the Civil War in Vicksburg, Virginia. The town ran out of food while under siege and the inhabitants were lucky enough to discover cow peas (a.k.a., black-eyed peas). Meanwhile, cabbage leaves are thought to bring prosperity to those who eat them on New Year's Day." https://www.heb.com/static-page/article-template/New-Years-Traditions

After the hustle and bustle of Christmas has passed, and we have a moment to inhale and exhale, it's important to reflect on the year gone by. You might ask yourself questions like,

"What are some of the most memorable moments of joy I've had this year?"

And on the other end of the spectrum of life,

"What was the most difficult challenge I faced this year and what lesson was in it for me?"

As a Nursing Instructor, I found the first day of clinical (taking students to an actual healthcare setting to practice,) to be very stressful for them. They were intimidated by their new environment and situation, having little or no confidence in their own abilities. In post-conference, we had our time to reflect on that day. I would ask each of them to describe their day in just one word and then tell us why they chose that word. I would like to ask this of you..."In just one word, describe what the year 2023 has been like for you, and tell us why."

I'm not much on making new year's resolutions. I know, I know...having plans and goals are important, but resolve literally means "firmly deciding on a course of action," according to the Oxford language dictionary. I'm much more of a day to day basis of situation and mood. Those are my deciding factors, and whether I'm firm about it or not...well that may fluctuate, too. And I'm okay with that, as well.

What about you? What are your feelings/thoughts on resolutions to kick off the new year? Are you a believer? "If you are, please share one of your resolutions with us."

"Does your family celebrate the New Years with any traditions?" Do you party the night before? Do you dance the night away? Do you wear silly hats and blow the streamers? Are fireworks involved?

Happy New Years

As I reflect on 2023, I think it brought about much of my inner strength. I said farewell to a twenty year marriage and found peace in being alone. I also said goodbye to my oldest and dearest friend, Baby Gee. My beautiful black cat who graced me with love and comfort for eighteen years died in my arms. That was hard, but I cherish those years with him. (He's the one on the left in the picture.) It's also been very difficult for me to see the lives of my adult children in transitions such as losing jobs, having a scare about possible breast cancer, being in toxic relationships, and being strangled by addictions. (My faith keeps me calm and hopeful.) Finances are a budgeting act for all Americans as we are facing a downward spiral in our economy. I'm a senior citizen on a fixed income, so it's taught me to look for bargains and become more frugal. I've survived so far!

There were moments this past year that go in the photo album of my heart. Not all has been gloomy. My niece plays softball for Dartmouth and her team came to Mississippi to play in a tournament at Mississippi State University. That school is in Starkville, MS., which is about 6 hours from where I live and close to where my daughters and their families live, so you guessed it! Family reunion!

Also, I had two grandsons graduating from high school and going to college. One of my granddaughters has been academically bumped up a year and will graduate from high school this coming May!

The one word I have for 2023 is "humbling." Life is hard. But it's the moments that count. And faith, hope, and love abide. It's all good!

I'm just superstitious enough to make those black-eyed peas and cabbage and add some cornbread, like any good Southern woman would. And then I'm just going to prop back and see what God has in store for 2024. I can resolve to seek His guidance each day!

Please post your reflections and resolutions, too! And Happy New Year!

VocalCreators
9

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    I've never tried black-eyed peas 🧐 You make me want to drop in for dinner!

  • Denise E Lindquist4 months ago

    Thank you! Just for this, we are having cabbage or sauerkraut for dinner. Maybe cornbread. We don't have black-eyed peas! Great story!😉😊💕Sorry it has been rough! I can relate!❤️😭

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    Well, for some reason, I hadn't read this reflective piece until today, and I'm glad I found it. I'm sorry the past year has had dark moments for you. I'm glad that you have the faith and resiliency to work throughthe challenges. I, for one, really enjoy both blackeyed peas and cabbage, but prefer them separately. Peas with snaps on the 1st and corned beef and cabbage for St Paddy's Day. Happy New Year, Shirlley!

  • Mark Gagnon4 months ago

    It's been interesting reading everyones reflections and year-end wrap-ups. I haven't done one because in just shy of 74 years the one thing I've learned is nothing is definite except uncertainty and as long as you keep your wits about you nothing is impossible. Things may not work out the way you plan, but it will work somehow.

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    It sounds like you've had your trials this year. Mine, I would call undermining. My energy is spent managing the day to day, I've not much left for feeling hopeful and forward looking.

  • I'm so sorry for the loss of Baby Gee 🥺 My cat passed away two years ago, on my lap, so I understand how you feel. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️ 1. "In just one word, describe what the year 2023 has been like for you, and tell us why." Unpredictable. Well, a lot of unexpected things happened, things I would never have saw coming and people doing what they said they never would. 2. What are your feelings/thoughts on resolutions to kick off the new year? Are you a believer? "If you are, please share one of your resolutions with us." Nahhh, I dont believe in resolutions. I'm more like you hehehe. 3. "Does your family celebrate the New Years with any traditions?" Nope, we aren't much of a celebrator, if that's even a word. Lol

  • Jay Kantor4 months ago

    's' ~ It's been such a pleasure to meet and interact with you this year ~ But, your recipes - Nah - L'Chaim 'j'

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    I enjoyed this reflective piece, Shirley. Sorry to hear about the end of your marriage and the death of the cat...that was a long time you had with him...so I'm glad you had that. Humbling is a good choice of word and I understand your reasons. In the past, being Scottish, Hogmanay was always a big thing. We don't do anything over the last two weeks of the year, but I often find myself looking back and thinking ahead. Resolutions...I am from the school of thought that you set them then break them within the first 2 weeks. I have goals for 2024...to work on my marriage more and become the man my wife deserves, to work on my etsy store and try and pull myself out from the rut I've encountered as my non-poetry/fiction writing work has dried up. Those kinda things. The word I would chose for this year though is probably "rollercoaster" lol, because there have been some truly nice big highs and some really stinky lows. I hope you have a nice time over the holiday period and thank you for such an interesting piece.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.