Interview logo

National Cleaning Week

Interview with the Queen of Clean

By Lamore Lifestyle Published 2 years ago 6 min read
2
Laquanda Washington Prophet, CEO of Maryland's Queen of Clean

It’s almost National Cleaning Week! It begins every year on the fourth Sunday in March. It is a week-long lineup of activities targeted to encourage everyone to clean their homes, closets, cars, storage units, and work spaces. I love that there is a week dedicated to bring awareness to the importance of cleanliness. While we all know that clean spaces look nice, there are additional benefits to being in a clean environment. Keeping your home clean and engaging in the cleaning process is good for you. In fact, research shows that cleaning—or the lack of cleaning—can have a direct impact on mental health. A 2010 study conducted at the University of California, Los Angeles, observed that those who believed their home was dirty or cluttered had higher levels of the stress hormone, cortisol. Another study published in "Personality and Social Psychology Bulletin," found that women who described their living spaces as cluttered or full of unfinished tasks were more likely to be fatigued and depressed than women who described their homes as restful and restorative.

National Cleaning Week is also a time to highlight the value and importance of those working in the cleaning industry. We had the pleasure of speaking with one of these amazing professionals. Meet Laquanda Washington Prophet, CEO of Maryland's Queen of Clean.

Tell us a little about yourself.

Laquanda: I was born and raised in Landover, MD. I am a mother of 2 beautiful girls, Makayla who is 11 and Makenna who is 8 months. I am newly married to David Prophet. My family means the world to me and they are my daily motivation to keep going no matter the circumstances. I also have a background in administration/Human resources. I obtained my associates degree for human resources in 2019 and am currently pursuing my bachelors in business administration. A few things I love to do besides spending time with my family are nature walks, hiking, hanging with my mom, reading books on growth, listening to Joyce Meyer, shopping, cooking, meditating, spending time with GOD and CLEANING.

•What was the inspiration behind starting your business?

Laquanda: Starting my own cleaning business was something that I've wanted to do for a long time. Even as a child I single handedly enjoyed cleaning and keeping things organized. I have to give credit to my mom because I watched her clean and always keep things tidy. I can honestly say that the stillness of the pandemic hitting allowed me to take action. Entrepreneurship is definitely for me, I couldn't imagine clocking into another 9-5 job. With my experience and growing knowledge in HR and administration I feel I have what it takes to lead my own employees.

•Tell us a little about your business and what area you service.

Laquanda: Maryland's Queen of Clean was founded October 1, 2020. The goal is to provide exceptional & eco-friendly cleaning services in any environment of choice. I provide services in Maryland, Virginia, District of Columbia & Baltimore. The services I offer are in home cleaning services, window seal cleaning, appliance cleaning, steam cleaning, carpet/floor care cleaning, dorm room cleaning, real estate turnover cleanings, airthereal services, organizing and decluttering service, & office cleaning. You name it, I clean it! I literally have a solution to everything. Satisfaction guaranteed. No negative reviews thus far. Maryland's queen of clean loves to give back. I donate to the St. Ann's Center for children and mothers to help them with things they may need for everyday life.

•With the upcoming change in weather everyone will be thinking about spring cleaning. Give three of your favorite spring cleaning tips.

Laquanda: Even though I don't suggest just waiting for spring to clean, it is definitely a time to regain space and get all the spots that are otherwise ignored. I recommend these spring cleaning tips that are simple and save time. First tip, Use microfiber cloths to clean. They trap dust/gunk, can be reused & easily cleaned. The point is that they are more absorbent than paper towels. Second tip is using wax paper to line the fridge to stop fridge messes. Cleaning the fridge can be pretty annoying but doing this can save you the trouble. Just put the paper underneath your items and remove it when dirty. Last tip but not least, use a 5 bin system for decluttering. If you don't have bins, use bags, make piles or whatever you can do at the moment to separate items so you can properly organize. Be sure to make a pile for trash,recycling or donations. One more tip. Get your family involved, meaning the people who live with you. All in all spring cleaning is a chance to create new cleaning habits. For instance, don't try to do all your cleaning in one day. Try doing at least 15/30min a day of cleaning and this helps you build the habit of cleaning each day.

•The end of March kicks off national cleaning week. What’s your opinion on the importance of cleaning and the impact it has on environmental health?

Laquanda: I am super excited for national cleaning week. It's the spotlight for all cleaning professionals. I plan to be very creative during this week and make it memorable. I want to spread cleaning awareness but in a way that it sticks! Cleaning is important because it helps avoid allergies, the spread of germs and bacteria/viruses and dirt/dust. Cleaning daily, weekly can eliminate these things resulting in better air quality. Healthy environment equals healthy people. Cleaning can also impact environmental health because it's the key to existence and the survival of life. When you stay clean, so does the environment around you/outside by reducing pollution and preserving the earth's natural resources. This all ties in together. Starting with your home environment.

•At what age do you think children should start to have chores?

Laquanda: I feel the earlier you show your kids or let them help you clean the better. By the age of 2(even younger) a child is able to help assist their guardian with cleaning. It may not be perfect but still let your children assist. I actually offer help in this area by talking to my clients' children and leaving them specific chores to do around the house. Turns out, it helps/works. Once a child sees that you are serious about something they will also follow. I recommend parents to not complain or make cleaning such a burden to do because then your kids won't take any interest. Set a routine, make sure there's accountability ,be specific on where items belong, let them know you appreciate their efforts and don't give up! Let's raise our children to know that a messy environment is not acceptable and train them up in the way that they should be. They will be adults one day. Cleaning is a life skill that should be shown, known and reciprocated.

•It’s Women’s History Month. Tell us about a woman who inspires you and why.

Laquanda: The first woman that comes to mind is Joyce Meyer. I can’t express how much this woman that I’ve never met has helped me grow spiritually and mentally. I take pride in keeping God first in all that I do because I wouldn't be the person I am today had I not listened to my spirit. The moments when it seems I can't hear my spirit there is Joyce Meyer constantly pouring into me and reminding me that I am victorious and can do all through Christ who strengthens me. She just keeps my faith renewed and keeps this burning desire in me to want to know and connect with Jesus even more. Life is so much more peaceful when you focus on abundance and only care about what God says about you. I hope to meet Joyce one day.

How can our readers connect with you?

Laquanda: I can be reached on Facebook at Marylands queen of clean or quanda queenofclean

TikTok & Instagram: 1queenofclean

My website: https://laquandawashington5.wixsite.com/marylandsqueenofclean

Let's stay connected. Let's stay clean….Together!

Humanity
2

About the Creator

Lamore Lifestyle

Sharing stories of those in the beauty, fashion, food and entrepreneurship space.

@lamorelifestylepr

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.