Interview logo

Interview with StuartCambell5

Getting to know the Wattpad authors

By Chloe GilholyPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
2

Stuart is a guy in his 20s from Aberdeen writing for fun. He's the author of 8 books including Terms and Conditions and Notes from Last Night. Thank you for doing this interview with me. Please check this guy's work out!

Chloe Gilholy: 1. What made you become a writer?

StuartCampbell5: I've always enjoyed writing, ever since I was at school. I loved coming up with characters and putting them in situations that I could only dream of. It was only in the last few years that I found how therapeutic it can be. It's a great outlet for an overactive imagination or just to de-stress.

2. What brought you to Wattpad?

Once I started writing seriously, it was fun, to begin with, but then I was never sure if I was just biased or if my writing was actually any good. I wanted other people to read it but was too nervous to show anyone I knew. My friend's girlfriend happened to mention Wattpad as a site she used to use when she was younger. Curious, I looked to see if it was still there and the rest is history!

3. What is the latest project you’re working on?

I've just started my newest romantic comedy, Terms and Conditions. It's about a guy who feels like he's stuck in a rut with his life. His work hires a new girl who turns out to be his high school crush. Suddenly, he sees this as his chance to get some excitement in his life. But of course maybe his life isn't as bad as it seems, and maybe the perfect girl isn't the one he wants! It's a story filled with flashback chapters too, which is a lot of fun.

4. Have you ever been published outside of Wattpad?

I've never been published outside of Wattpad. It would definitely be great, but it's not my number one priority. I write for fun and in my own time. I'm worried any added pressure might take the fun out of it. It would definitely be amazing though!

5. What’s your greatest achievement as a writer?

My greatest achievement will always be finishing my first novel. I started it and then gave up because I didn't care. But then some stuff went on in my life where suddenly finishing the book became something that I NEEDED to do. All in all, it took two years, and I honestly didn't think it would ever happen, but finishing it gave me the confidence and drive to continue writing.

6. What are your writing goals?

My writing goals are just to keep going! Continue writing as best I can and try and give every book its own identity. Anything else is an added bonus.

7. What’s your favourite thing about writing for Wattpad?

Interacting with readers is 100% my favourite thing about writing on Wattpad. There is no better feeling than getting good comments on your book and seeing that people are actually invested in what you're doing. The social aspect is great, too! I frequently use the forums and talk to as many people as I can, being as supportive as I can. That's where my readers all came from, so its great to give back. Having a million free books to read is handy, too!

8. What’s your pet peeves about writing for Wattpad?

My pet peeves are people who think their opinion means more than someone else's. The amount of reads you have doesn't make you more qualified than anyone. People need to write what they want to write and find out what can work on their own. If you just rudely disagree or tell someone what to do, then it just makes you look like a jerk. We are all on this site for the same reason and everyone was a beginner at some point. Don't crush people before they've really got started.

9. Aside from Wattpad, are there any other sites you’ve written for?

I haven't ever posted on any other writing site. At the same time I found Wattpad, I also joined a site called Booksie; but for whatever reason, I didn't take to it and I've stayed here ever since.

10. Where do you see your writing journey in five years?

In five years I definitely see myself having more responsibilities, so I'm probably going to be writing less. But I hope that I do keep writing when I can because it's been a great journey so far.

11. How would you feel about someone making fanwork based on your stories?

For someone to make fan work of my writing would be so weird! But in a good way! It would be a huge compliment. As long as they asked permission first and told me what it would be about.

12. Which Wattpad books that you’ve written do you feel best displays your writing talents?

I feel that I improve with every book that I write, so I'd technically say my last completed book Notes From Last Night. But I try to make every book different, so hopefully, each one can display a different writing talent I might have. One will be the funniest, one will be the sweetest, and one will be the scariest or something like that!

Creators
2

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.