Interview logo

Interview With Author TC Marti

Speculative author, full-time freelance and sports writer, and a lover of all things fitness.

By Marie SinadjanPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

Wind Wielder is the first book of the Elementals of Nordica speculative fiction series by TC Marti, a full-time freelance and sports writer, and a lover of all things fitness. But he writes speculative fiction, you say? Yes, yes he does. Fusing epic fantasy, metaphysical fiction and modern technology, he started the first drafts of the series back in June 2020 and has come a long way since.

A secret censored throughout the modern age…

…A cataclysmic riot leaves the fate of the world hanging by a thread

There are a lot of things Wind Wielder Sion Zona wished he had taken seriously. But the following facts he neglected display his sheer ignorance.

One, an ancient tribe within his Elemental race wiped from the pages of time still exists.

Two, Sion and a band of eight other Elementals are the final descendants from that ancient tribe and hold the key to preventing the masses from falling victim to a one-world government foretold in a banned set of ancient texts.

Three, the global superpower wants nothing more than to destroy Sion and the others before they discover their importance to humanity.

So yeah, there’s no pressure in taking on a raging dictatorship.

Are you indie or traditionally published? What made you decide to take that route?

I am indie. Years before I completed Wind Wielder, I researched the publishing industry and I found that most authors whose experiences I came across embraced indie publishing over traditional. I also liked the challenge involved with the marketing aspects of indie publishing.

Tell us a fun story about your publication journey!

I would say the moment I realized I could turn my books into a shared universe. Wind Wielder, its sequels, and books in my other series were all written years ago. I want to say the first drafts occurred in 2014. Other books, like Tarja Titan and Liza Fury, were also written, but they look nothing like the finished products.

Then came the chess game of connecting each story to one another, something I hinted at toward the end of Wind Wielder. By the time Liza Fury rolls around, readers definitely know they are in a shared universe. There was nothing more challenging, yet nothing more fun, than ensuring every book in each series entwined with one another, but could be read separately if the reader desired.

How about a horror story about your author life?

Retooling my old work that eventually became Wind Wielder. I can't tell you how many plot holes I had to fill. Let's just say that, when I thought I knocked them all out, I found another that derailed my plot. This continued well into 2021 before things finally ran smoothly. I can assure you I had a lot of sleepless nights.

What do you think is the best thing about being an author?

Many reviewers noted how much influence my work drew from differing fandoms: Harry Potter, Star Wars, and Marvel, to name a few. I'm a fan of all the aforementioned franchises, but I saw imperfections in each. My favorite thing about being an author is that I was able to use what I liked about my influences in my own work while discarding what I didn't like.

Who do you think you inspire? If not, who and what do you want to inspire?

I actually think I inspire people, both young and old, who crave an entrepreneurial mindset. Writing and selling fiction is on the harder end of the spectrum. So basically, if I can succeed in it, then people who see what I do can definitely succeed in their own business ventures. Ultimately, I want to inspire people to start and maintain their own businesses, whether it is writing fiction or anything that they are passionate about.

What keeps you up at night?

Now that's an interesting question! I recently switched my gym times from morning to evening so I could stay up longer. I used to run in the evening and lift in the morning, but when my freelance writing schedule became too much, I realized I could add up to another three hours to my workday with nightly gym sessions. Often, I can stay up until at least 2 am on a regular basis before the opportunity clock rings at 7 am. So in short, my gym sessions keep me up at night.

What character archetype would you be if you were a character in a book, movie or TV series?

I would be the Outsider/Wildcard. I definitely keep to myself out of habit - especially given my job occupation. I'm also the most independent person I know who prides himself on self-reliance, grit, and fearlessness. I don't talk to others immediately, but I do have a close, yet small, circle of friends.

If you were a character in a book, movie or TV series, what would be your catchphrase or famous line or popular expression?

“The only way out of the labyrinth of suffering is to forgive.” ― John Green, Looking for Alaska

What food or drink best describes you?

Any type of Italian food.

If you were cursed to only be able to sing ONE song in karaoke for the rest of your life, what would you like it to be and why?

Chi Mat Ba Ram by the Brave Girls - one of the best songs ever written.

What else do you enjoy doing other than reading and writing?

I definitely like going to the gym, which during inclement weather I will visit twice a day. Other times, it's either trail running or running through town. I workout twice a day, and both workouts are actually breaks from work.

What do you consider as your weakness as a writer, and what have you done to overcome it?

Failing to resist the urge to explain is my biggest weakness. There are times where I will catch myself info dumping. Often, I'll set those scenes aside and try to organically spread them throughout my work.

Who are some of your favorite authors?

J.K. Rowling, E.E. Holmes, Carissa Andrews, Tracy Lawson

Any book recommendations?

World of the Gateway (11 books) by E.E. Holmes. I would honestly take it over Harry Potter, Hunger Games, and Game of Thrones any day. And that's saying a lot.

Anything else you want to tell your fans, our readers, and the writing/reading/blogging community at large?

I write under the name Sion Fawkes when I cover sports. My primary teams include the NHL's Buffalo Sabres and the NFL's Arizona Cardinals. I also ghostwrite in the NASCAR niche and I'm currently looking to expand my writing to include baseball and basketball.

You can connect with TC via his website (and get a free story), or even become one of his Patrons! If you're interested in Wind Wielder, you can purchase it in ebook, paperback or hardcover through your retailer of choice.

Authors
Like

About the Creator

Marie Sinadjan

Filipino spec fic author and book reviewer based in the UK. https://linktr.ee/mariesinadjan • www.mariesinadjan.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.