Interview logo

Interview With Author Elliott Wink

Teacher, Writer and Explorer of Universes

By Marie SinadjanPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Elliott is a science fiction and fantasy writer with a day job. She's been teaching English for nearly a decade, so she spend her days analyzing writing with her students, and her nights putting her own pen to paper.

She has a master’s in psychology and finds people fascinating, so she usually spend a lot of time in her characters’ heads. Whether that character is drifting through outer space, navigating through a dystopian future, or in another universe entirely, they are unlikely to escape the nature of the human condition when it comes to her stories. "We are human, even when we are forging through the unknown," she's said.

She lives with her very supportive husband and tri-color collie-pit mix in Northern California. When she's not writing or watching movies, you might find her on the golf course or cooking elaborate, celiac-friendly meals.

Her novel After Io has been praised for being a “gritty space thriller” and “one ride that will leave you wanting more." She's just released the sequel, District Five, last June 7, so now is a good time to start getting into this scifi adventure!

Bryn Michaels is a pilot on the spaceship Persika and she has just killed her captain.

The crew of the Persika was hired to mine platinum ore on Io, but the simple job becomes complicated when their drill malfunctions. Although the crew agrees to head back to the space station with the job unfinished, they don’t make it far before something greater threatens the safety of the ship and its crew.

Bryn is determined to survive, but as she takes steps to ensure her rescue, she begins to wonder if the cost of survival is too great.

After Io is a soft sci-fi novel and the first book in The Far Light Series by Elliott Wink.

What made you decide to publish independently?

For a long time I wanted to be traditionally published because I didn’t want to do my own marketing. Once I found out that it was becoming the norm to push most of the marking on authors anyway, I decided that I might as well try my hand at independent publishing, where I would retain more creative control.

What has been your most unforgettable experience (good or bad) as an author?

I’ll never forget the feeling of reading my first review. It was incredibly kind, and I was ecstatic.

What character archetype would you be if you were a character in a book, movie or TV series?

I suppose it depends on whose story is being told. I think we all function as different archetypes in reality–in my own story I’m the hero, but in my friend’s story I’m the ally.

If you were not doing what you are doing now, what activity or hobby would be keeping you busy?

I love playing golf, so I would probably spend more time on the course. Otherwise, I’d be reading and writing more without my day job.

Anything else you want to tell your fans, our readers, and the writing/reading/blogging community at large?

I’m just getting started. There are many more stories to come!

You can follow Elliott on Twitter and TikTok. Aside from the Far Light series, she's also written A Still Life, a science fiction novelette about a girl assigned to the front desk of a hotel who realizes she hasn't seen a guest in nearly twenty-five years, and Verit the Vicious and Other Stories in Aneterra: Volume I, an interconnected anthology of fantasy short stories and the first work in the Aneterra Series.

Authors
1

About the Creator

Marie Sinadjan

Filipino spec fic author and book reviewer based in the UK. https://linktr.ee/mariesinadjan • www.mariesinadjan.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Muhammad Nadeem2 years ago

    very nice story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.