Interview logo

Interview With Author Anthony Engebretson

Writer, grad student and cat dad here to scare the living daylights out of us.

By Marie SinadjanPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Anthony Engebretson is a writer, grad student and cat dad living in Lincoln, Nebraska. He has been published in several anthologies, and he was an editor of the anthology Prolescaryet: Tales of Horror and Class Warfare. Sair Back, Sair Banes is his debut novella.

Genevieve hoped a trip to the Scottish village of Fonniskie would help her reconnect. But her vacation turns out to be less than relaxing: the nearby loch holds a dark secret, and Genevieve finds herself haunted by a relentless pursuer whose obsession means he will do anything to possess her—even kill.

Are you indie or traditionally published? What made you decide to take that route?

Indie. It seemed to be the best route when it came to publishing novellas.

Tell us a fun story about your publication journey!

I’d thought the publication process would be a headache. I’d never submitted a novella to a submission call before, but I’ve been around with subbing and querying. Ghost Orchid was one of about four or five I submitted to (I can’t remember offhand!) but they were the first response, a yes. I guess you just never really know how it’s going to go.

How about a horror story about your author life?

There can be a lot of uncertainty when publishing the indie route. I once had a short story accepted into an anthology. Then a year went by and I heard nothing, I thought it’d fell through. Eventually I found out it had been published for two months and I’d heard nothing. Unsurprisingly I later learned it only sold like 30 copies. That sucked.

What do you think is the best thing about being an author?

I just love stories and storytelling of all kind. It’s great that I have my medium where I can create and share stories.

Who do you think you inspire? If not, who and what do you want to inspire?

I don’t know if I inspire anybody, but I hope I can inspire anyone who wants to write or create stories of any kind.

What keeps you up at night?

The never ending march of time. Can you believe 2002 was 20 years ago?

What character archetype would you be if you were a character in a book, movie or TV series?

Probably the guy who dies first.

If you were a character in a book, movie or TV series, what would be your catchphrase or famous line or popular expression?

“Aw geez.”

What food or drink best describes you?

Cookie dough ice cream. Might look plain on the outset but lots of exciting yet soft and sweet surprises inside.

If you were cursed to only be able to sing ONE song in karaoke for the rest of your life, what would you like it to be and why?

This answer rotates all the time. Right now it might be the song Dentist! from the musical Little Shop of Horrors, because I’d like to play that role.

What else do you enjoy doing other than reading and writing?

Playing video games, working out, taking walks, traveling, hanging out with loved ones, cooking/baking.

What do you consider as your weakness as a writer, and what have you done to overcome it?

Getting too caught up (especially at the first draft) at what I think I “should” write rather than what I want to write. I just have to go for it when I’m feeling that way.

Who are some of your favorite authors?

Kurt Vonnegut is one I’ve always really enjoyed. But I’m always trying to read new authors, there are so many incredible ones out there: Hailey Piper, Gemma Amor, V. Castro… just to throw out a very few

Any book recommendations?

If you like Sair Back, Sair Banes, you might like Immortelle by Catherine McCarthy or White Pines by Gemma Amor.

Anything else you want to tell your fans, our readers, and the writing/reading/blogging community at large?

Hang in there and keep going!

You can find Anthony on Wordpress and Twitter. His debut novella Sair Back, Sair Banes is out now!

Authors
Like

About the Creator

Marie Sinadjan

Filipino spec fic author and book reviewer based in the UK. https://linktr.ee/mariesinadjan • www.mariesinadjan.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.