Interview logo

Breakup Coach Tiffany Smith:

Daring Women to Be Their Authentic Selves

By Dr. P. GurleyPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
2

New Jersey native Tiffany Smith is on a mission to help women become their most authentic selves. It's a journey she knows firsthand, having spent years hiding her true identity behind a mask of perfection before, during, and after her divorce. But after breaking free from her own self-imposed prison, Tiffany has dedicated her life to helping other women do the same. She is daring women to be their authentic selves, and she is helping them to do just that through her coaching business, Dare 2 B You.

As a certified “breakup” coach, Tiffany has the tools and the experience to help women discover their true selves and live lives that are authentic and fulfilling. Through her coaching, Tiffany is helping women to create more fulfilling lives for themselves and those around them. She inspires women to be bold and live their lives with intention. She also encourages them to listen to their intuition and follow their heart - even when it leads them off the beaten path. Her message is simple: be true to yourself, and the rest will fall into place.

In an interview with Tiffany, she shares the motivation for launching her business as well as the challenges she faced transitioning to becoming a business owner. The sharing of her story will hopefully inspire others who are thinking of making the leap into entrepreneurship or changing their life after divorce.

Let’s talk about your business, Dare to B You. What is the back story, and what motivated you to launch it?

Dare to B You is a business - a community - I created to help empower women after breakups and divorces. I was motivated to launch it because I realized that there was a lack of resources for women trying to rebuild their lives. I wanted to create a safe space for women where they could come and find support, advice, and tools to help them move on. Dare 2 B You focuses on helping women build their self-confidence and self-esteem. A lot of women suffer from low self-esteem and don’t feel confident in themselves, especially after a breakup or divorce; I know I did. I was so fixated on what was the “right” thing to do that it took me forever to give myself permission to just be myself. I believe that when you feel good about yourself, you can do anything. That’s why I created Dare to B You. I want to help women feel good about themselves and learn to love themselves.

Being an entrepreneur is not for the faint of heart. What growing pains have you faced building your business?

The most difficult thing about being an entrepreneur is the lack of stability. There are so many highs and lows, and it's hard to know what to expect from one day to the next. This makes it difficult to plan for the future, and it can be tough to keep your head up when things are going poorly. In addition, there is always a lot of pressure to succeed. This pressure can be overwhelming, and it's easy to feel like you're not doing enough. I’ve also struggled with learning how to manage my time effectively. There are always a million things to do, and it can be tough to figure out how to balance work with personal time. I’m quite ambitious and am really fueled by my passion for helping other women, so prioritizing what to do and when to do it can certainly be a challenge. When so much of my identity is integrated with my business, it can be easy to be quite hard on yourself. As an entrepreneur, you're constantly putting yourself out there, and sometimes you will fail. It's been tough to learn how to pick myself up after I've fallen down, but I've gradually gotten better at it. And the amazing results my clients experience keep me coming back always.

Looking back, what is one thing you wish someone would have shared with you as you put your business together?

Looking back, I wish someone had shared the importance of building a strong support system with me. A great business is built on a great team, and the same goes for your personal life. When you’re going through a tough time, it’s important to have people who will support you and help you get through it. So, make sure to invest in your relationships and create a support system you can rely on. I am a “solopreneur,” and my brand/service is built on my own journey and identity. But that doesn’t mean that I also need support and encouragement. It took me a while to realize and ask for that. I wish someone had told me that I should proactively surround myself with people who are ready to cheer me on because it equips me to show up even better for my clients.

What has been your most rewarding takeaway from helping women overcome breakups or divorce?

One of the most rewarding things about writing this book and coaching women, in general, has been hearing the specific changes they’ve made in their mindset or personal lives. Many women have told me that my book helped them get through a tough time, and that is really inspiring to me. It’s not just about “oh, your book or coaching helped me,” it’s that I can see exactly how they have changed. Seeing the spark come back into a woman’s eyes and voice after embracing self-love is the most rewarding feeling I have experienced in my business. The main takeaway is that it shows that ANYONE can turn their life around and heal from even the most devastating challenges. It makes me feel like I am doing something worthwhile and making a difference in people's lives. The women I’ve helped also help me by proving what is possible time and time again. It creates a really positive feedback loop.

What is the most important message you would give to women considering divorce or breakup?

The most important message I would give to women considering divorce or breakup is that it is okay to take care of yourself first and foremost. And along with that - LISTEN to yourself. It can be tempting to weigh, consider, and deliberate on the opinions of others. While it’s great to have a support system, be careful NOT to distance yourself from your own intuition. Use your “gut feeling” like a guiding North Star and try not to talk yourself into or out of anything just because somebody else put thought into your brain. You need to put your health and happiness first in order to begin healing properly. Remember that you are not alone in this process – there are other women out there who have gone through or are currently going through the same thing. Lean on your friends and family for support, and don’t be afraid to ask for help from a coach or support system. You are not alone!

How can people connect with you?

The best way to connect with me is to find me on Instagram @daretobyou or book a call with me through my website at www.daretobyou.com.

AuthorsThought LeadersHumanity
2

About the Creator

Dr. P. Gurley

Author | Writer | Press/Media Journalist | Podcast Host

IG: @iamdrpgurley

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.