Interview logo

An Interview with Sourpxtchh

Getting to know the Wattpad authors

By Chloe GilholyPublished 5 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Just a 18 year old girl from New York struggling to find out what her future career is.Call me A.If you didn't realize from my username and my location, my favorite candy is Sour Patch Kids🥰 I'm obsessed with them!! I am a lover of manga, anime, and bubble tea. My favorite musical is Phantom of the Opera (Christine should of went with Erik 😒).—Sourpxtchh

Chloe Gilholy:What made you become a writer?

What brought you to Wattpad?

I remember a friend telling me to check out a FanFiction that they were reading on a website called Wattpad. My first thought when I typed the website in the search engine, was that this was a place for only FanFiction stories. So I was pleasantly surprised to see that not only was there FanFiction, there were numerous stories with different genres and amazing book covers and story plots. The community was also friendly towards everyone so I decided to stay and start writing my first book.

3. What is the latest project you’re working on?

My latest project is my first book titled Syndrome. It’s a psychological thriller story and I’m very proud of it. I’m planning on finishing it up by the end of the year so that I can get started on the sequel.

Have you ever been published outside of Wattpad?

Unfortunately not.

What’s your greatest achievement as a writer?

My greatest achievement as a writer would have to be the first time that I got a comment on one of my chapters from a reader. They said that they found my story and characters interesting and that they couldn’t wait for another update. To be honest, it was a really uplifting moment for myself. Before that comment, I routinely thought to myself that I was the only person that liked my book and I was debating whether or not I should just scrap it. I’m just so grateful to that individual and it just goes to show how one comment can really change your outlook on things.

What are your writing goals?

I’m always trying to use more sophisticated words in my writing. Whenever I start a new chapter, I always have a thesaurus.com in another tab on my laptop so that I can incorporate new words in my writing.

What’s your favourite thing about writing for Wattpad?

My favorite thing about writing for Wattpad is the potential exposure that you can get. There are numerous contests on the app that you can join, and then there is the annual Wattys contest which can boost your votes and readers.

What’s your pet peeves about writing for Wattpad?

While I do love writing for Wattpad, there is only one thing that I feel is unfair. There are so many stories on the app that don’t get the exposure and attention that they deserve. It’s very saddening to see authors losing faith in their work because the majority of Wattpads population hasn’t seen it yet. I am part of these group of authors and we basically have to have faith and uplift ourselves so that when that attention does come, our work will show for it.

Aside from Wattpad, are there any other sites you’ve written for?

I also post all the updates for Syndrome on Inkitt as soon as I am done with them.

Where do you see your writing journey in five years?

I think about this so much! Well in five years, I will be done with my first book trilogy and I would really like for one of those books to win a Watty. I also aspire to become a published author and to one day have my books turned into movies.

How would you feel about someone making fanwork based on your stories?

To have some one take the time out of their day to make fan work for my book and my characters literally puts a smile on my face. Artists have such creative minds and I would be thrilled to see what they could come up with!

Which Wattpad books, that you’ve written do you feel best display your writing talents?

Well I only have one book so far which is Syndrome. I really feel like I put my heart and soul into writing and perfecting each chapter so that my readers can enjoy. I write on google docs and then put my chapter through two editing websites. I like to think that I will only get better and better each day and I can’t wait to see what my writing will look like a year from now.

Thank you so much for taking part in my interview. I wish you the best of luck in your writing journey!

Creators
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.