Interview logo

An Interview with Loutka

Getting to know the Wattpad authors

By Chloe GilholyPublished 5 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Loutka (Marionette) is a college student with a love for photography and adventure. She is an author of young adult mystery, paranormal, horror, and teen thrillers like Lake Bellinor series.

Chloe Gilholy: What made you become a writer?

What brought you to Wattpad?

In my sophomore year of high school, my friend introduced me to the app/site because she often used it to read. At first, I didn't think anything of it, because I was overwhelmed by all the romance and fanfiction, and not because it's bad, but because I'm not a big fan of those genres, per say. I didn't realize there was more to Wattpad than that. So, one day, I decided to give it a try and share my stories on here. Ever since then, it's been an amazing journey in improving my writing.

What is the latest project you’re working on?

At the moment, I have a few projects in the making. But there are two projects I'm currently investing most of my time in. The first is a YA psychological crime thriller, two-book series, called the Lake Bellinor Duology. The books are called Whispers of the Lake and Whispers of the Dead. The second one is being written off the site, and has yet to be posted. It is a YA psychological thriller called When We Were Young.

Have you ever been published outside of Wattpad?

I have not. I tried self-publishing on Amazon before, but I realized I want to be traditionally published and that's been my goal ever since.

What’s your greatest achievement as a writer?

My greatest achievement has been learning to flesh out my narrative style and characters more and more every day. I've always wanted to bring the words on my pages to life, to ensure they connect with the reader. So far, it's been going well.

What are your writing goals?

As a writer, from a young age, I've always striven to see my books on shelves or on television screens. It's always been my dream, especially when you see someone open up the pages of your book with a smile on their face. Nothing would feel better than completing those goals.

What’s your favourite thing about writing for Wattpad?

My favorite thing would have to be the open community. Almost everyone is super interactive. There's so much feedback given, some positive, some harsh, but it is all truly helpful in helping writers improve.

What’s your pet peeves about writing for Wattpad?

I don't really have any pet peeves, but if I had to pick one, it'd be the overwhelming amount of competition. Since there are so many other stories flooding Wattpad, it's hard to get noticed. And there are so many people who want to grab Wattpad HQ's attention, but they can only notice so many people at a time. Then, the stress turns into discourage as many hope to fall into the spotlight Wattpad has to offer. So, that's something I've learned to try and deal with over the years.

Aside from Wattpad, are there any other sites you’ve written for?

There's only one story I've written on both Wattpad and another platform called Dreame, but that is all. Otherwise, I stick to writing all of my drafts on Wattpad.

Where do you see your writing journey in five years?

Hopefully, as a full-time established YA thriller author, with at least 2-3 books in stores.

How would you feel about someone making fanwork based on your stories?

Honestly, I wouldn't mind it. I'd encourage it, whether it's writing, art, etc. That tells me, people, out there are enjoying and anticipating what I write and that makes me so proud. As long as they aren't plagiarizing my story word for word, that's all that matters to me.

Which Wattpad books, that you’ve written do you feel best displays your writing talents?

For me, it would have to be, the Lake Bellinor Duology, Wait for Me in The Backyard, Leave No Cracks Behind, and When We Were Young.

Thank you for doing this interview with me! I wish you the best of luck in your writing journey!

Creators
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.