Interview logo

An Interview with Bloodbrothers1864

Getting to know the Wattpad authors

By Chloe GilholyPublished 5 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
1

Bloodbrothers1864 (Kayleigh) is an author of two Vampire Diary fics on Wattpad calledA Future Without Fear andHell is Empty. She is a self-described crack-pot from England. She currently has 299 followers and her story, A Future Without Fear has over 7.5 thousand reads and 1.4 thousand votes. In a competitive website such as Wattpad, which is home to millions of stories on the internet, this is a fantastic achievement. Many stories are lucky to reach even a thousand. So every milestone, regardless of how big or small it is, must be celebrated.

Chloe Gilholy: What made you become a writer?

Bloodbrothers1864: I have enjoyed writing ever since I was little, however, I suffered from severe writer's block for seven years. I never thought it would come back, but thankfully, it did about five months ago and I haven't stopped since!

What brought you to Wattpad?

Curiosity. I had never heard of it until this year, and I really loved the sense of community that seems to be lacking from a lot of similar websites.

What is the latest project you’re working on?

I am currently working on a sequel to my open fanfiction; both of which are based on the TV show The Vampire Diaries.

Have you ever been published outside of Wattpad?

No, but that is the dream!

What’s your greatest achievement as a writer?

I would say my greatest achievement is actually finishing a book for the first time, which was a few weeks ago. I usually struggle to get past a few chapters, but this one ended up having 105!

What are your writing goals?

My goal is to continue practicing my skills whilst writing fanfiction, before progressing to my own original works with more confidence and a loyal reader base.

What’s your favourite thing about writing for Wattpad?

My favourite thing about Wattpad is definitely the sense of community. I love being able to interact with my readers directly and make genuine friendships, and I love how friendly and helpful the forums are.

What’s your pet peeves about writing for Wattpad?

I would say it has to be the glitches, especially for the ranking system. However, it's a bug that staff are aware of, so fingers crossed it gets fixed soon.

Aside from Wattpad, are there any other sites you’ve written for?

I've previously written on both fanfiction.net and archiveofourown, but I took both down after limited views. A couple of readers did follow me over here which is nice.

Where do you see your writing journey in five years?

I would love to be writing original content, that is definitely the dream for me.

How would you feel about someone making fanwork based on your stories?

I guess it would depend on what it was. If I was writing original content, I would like to be asked permission first, ideally. However, I am unlikely to disapprove unless the material is offensive.

Which Wattpad books, that you’ve written do you feel best displays your writing talents?

Since I have only completed one book in my life so far, I would have to say A Future Without Fear. It is an open fanfiction, and the majority of my readers aren't a part of the fandom, so it's really nice that they still seem to enjoy the story.

Thank you so much for taking time out for the interview. I wish you the best of luck in your writing journey! I hope you get to write and complete lots more stories. I hope you achieve your writing goals.

Creators
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.