Interview logo

A Vocal experience

My time so far with vocal so far

By S.R.DaleyPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

As some one who enjoys writing, having a platform where I can keep private drafts, write at my leisure and publish when I please. Vocal has so far surpassed my expectations. The application connects writers and content creators with each other.

When I was looking for a platform that could in a way self publish and was hosting completions for writing, I was surprised to find that vocal not only did all of these things but also pays a small some for reads. Along with these small instalments to my wallet I have accumulated a small some in my wallet as rewards for publishing my work.

Rewards have interested me so I have done some digging and have found articles stating there are reward for publishing 5 stories, 10 stories and 50 stories. I have received the reward for the 5th publication but am yet to get one for my 10th so I’m not certain how that works. If it is as I believe, vocal may give these rewards once my wallet has surpassed the minimum withdrawal limit.

The trouble that I’m finding is getting my work to the right audience. Marketing such things seems to be just as important as writing something to publish. Though it might just be me.

I have had few cleaver ideas, articles concerning hot topics, however it takes time to write something both interesting and non offensive. So this site really isn’t for those looking to make a quick buck. Unless you already have a considerable media presence.

Money aside, Vocal gives writers and opportunity to share our ideas with one another. Critique each other’s work and show out general support for each other.

One big question is, why isnt vocal alot more mainstream? It would have taken me atleast an hour of searching before I found it. Vocal is a buried treasure that needs to be shared with the world.

Maybe you as fellow writers can share your experiences with vocal. Are they much the same as mine. Do you feel like sharing tactics?

As for Vocal+ what are the advantages aside from being able to compete in completions. Has anyone else noticed benefits. Has viewer growth increased, or has your profile remain mostly unseen by the world.

How do other creators market their work for increased viewership. Is discord, redit and twitter platforms worth marketing on?

What would be the ideal length for something you would read in vocal?

600 words being the minimum for most publications. As far as word counts go, it isn’t a hard number to reach when you have passion for a subject. However, do people want to read the 10,000 word essay on say the Australian gold rush and the Urika stockaid just because I have a passion for history.

For what it’s worth I don’t think it really matters what people write about. If some one is interested they may read your work.

Though how many people come to vocal to just read? Are there people who just read content, I feel this site is more aimed at creators rather than readers and vocal beads to do something more about that.

If you have gotten this far, then you have reached the end. I just wanted to thank you for reading my work. I wanted to thank vocal just for existing and providing a safe place for me to write and publish my work. It’s given me the confidence to share, and express feeling more deeply in my writing. I’m certain with time my collection will grow large once I begin to convert handwritten work and notes to vocal publications my online presence will grow.

Creators
1

About the Creator

S.R.Daley

fiction writer. World creator. Brainstormer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.