Horror logo

Whispers in the Static

Voices in My Head

By al EmanPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Like

It started at the funeral. A faint whisper, like dry leaves rustling against a mausoleum wall. It wormed its way through the eulogy, the choked sobs, the clatter of condolences. "Don't trust him," it hissed, a wisp of smoke in my skull. I blinked, attributing it to grief, the echo of my Aunt Edith's paranoia clinging to the air like incense.

The whispers became a constant in the weeks that followed. They slithered through my thoughts, slithery serpents coiling around logic and reason. "He moved your keys," they'd taunt, sending me on frantic searches that ended with them nestled in their usual place. "She lied about the meeting," they'd murmur, twisting innocuous remarks into barbed accusations. I argued back, my sanity teetering on the precipice of a scream.

Sleep became a battlefield. The whispers escalated to shrieks, a cacophony of voices I couldn't decipher. They painted gruesome tableaux in my nightmares, each scene ending with a cold, wet blade finding its home in my gut. I'd wake up gasping, drenched in sweat, the phantom sting of steel lingering on my skin.

Doctors diagnosed stress, prescribed sedatives that only muffled the noise, not silenced it. My paranoia spiraled. I accused Ben, my boyfriend, of tampering with my food, my phone. His concerned eyes morphed into a mask of malice in my fevered mind. The whispers echoed with glee, urging me to push him away, to sever the last line tying me to reality.

One night, driven to the brink, I fled into the woods behind my house. The moon, a skeletal crescent, cast long, menacing shadows. The wind, my tormentor's chorus, rustled the leaves with malicious glee. "Run," they howled, "He's coming for you!"

I stumbled through the undergrowth, branches like skeletal fingers clawing at me. I tripped, landing on the damp earth, my lungs burning, my heart hammering against my ribs. A twig snapped. My breath hitched.

"There you are," a voice chuckled, dripping with honeyed poison.

Ben emerged from the trees, his face illuminated by the moon, a grim smile twisting his lips. But it wasn't Ben. His eyes, once warm and gentle, were pits of darkness, glinting with predatory hunger. The skin on his face seemed stretched too thin, revealing something monstrous beneath.

"They brought you to me," the monster-Ben rasped, gesturing to the unseen symphony in my head. "They said you'd be perfect."

Panic surged through me, cold and paralyzing. My sanity, tattered and frayed, finally unraveled. The truth, sharp and jagged, ripped through the fog of whispers. This wasn't paranoia, it wasn't stress, it was something far darker, something ancient and malevolent that had burrowed into my mind, using my insecurities as puppeteers' strings.

With a guttural roar, the monster-Ben lunged. I scrambled back, adrenaline igniting my muscles. I dodged his claws, feeling the wind of their passage against my skin. My eyes darted around, searching for an escape, for a weapon, anything.

Behind me, the rustling leaves parted. A figure emerged, shrouded in moonlight and the shadows of ancient oaks. Aunt Edith, her usually frail frame radiating surprising strength, faced the abomination with a fire in her eyes that mirrored its own.

"Enough!" she boomed, her voice shattering the night. "We won't let you feed anymore!"

She raised a gnarled hand, and the air crackled with energy. Her words, spoken in a language older than time, wove a net of light around the monster, binding it with invisible chains. Its shriek echoed through the woods, a chorus of agony and rage.

Then, with a deafening crack, the creature imploded, dissolving into a storm of ash and whispers. The air grew still, the only sound the ragged rasp of my breath.

Edith turned to me, her eyes a well of sadness and understanding. "It's been feeding on your family for generations," she explained, her voice raspy. "Your mother, your grandmother, all consumed by the voices in their heads."

The truth settled over me like a shroud. My aunt, ostracized as a paranoid nut, was the only one who saw the truth, the only one who fought back. And now, thanks to her, I was free.

The whispers lingered, faint echoes of their former power. But I learned to listen to a different voice, the one that whispered courage, strength, and the fierce will to survive. I learned to shut out the darkness and embrace the light, carrying Edith's legacy like a shield against the whispers in my head.

They might still call, on moonless nights.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

al Eman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 5 months ago

    Wow, I really liked this! Loved the realization and truth she discovered. Good job!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.