Horror logo

Whispers in the Shadows

A Tale of Unseen Terror and Desperate Escape

By Geeta AroraPublished 9 months ago β€’ 3 min read
1


I woke up in a dark room. I couldn't see anything, but I could feel the walls around me. They were cold and damp, and they seemed to be closing in on me. I tried to move, but I was tied to a chair. I could feel my heart pounding in my chest, and I started to panic.

I didn't know where I was or how I got there. The last thing I remembered was going to bed in my own home. I had no idea what was happening to me.

I tried to scream, but no sound came out. I was completely helpless. I closed my eyes and tried to calm down, but it was no use. I was terrified.

Suddenly, I heard a noise. It was a soft noise, like someone was moving around in the room. I opened my eyes and saw a figure standing in the shadows.

The figure was tall and thin, and it was wearing a black cloak. I couldn't see its face, but I could feel its eyes on me.

The figure started to walk towards me. I tried to scream again, but still no sound came out. The figure got closer and closer, until it was right in front of me.

I could see its face now. It was a hideous face, with sharp teeth and glowing red eyes. The figure smiled at me, and I felt a chill run down my spine.

The figure raised its hand, and I felt a sharp pain in my chest. I screamed in agony, but the figure just kept smiling.

The pain got worse and worse, until I couldn't take it anymore. I blacked out.

When I woke up, I was back in my own bed. I was still tied to the chair, but the room was light and airy. I could hear birds chirping outside.

I tried to move, and this time I was able to. I untied the ropes and got out of the chair. I walked over to the window and looked out.

The sun was shining, and the birds were still chirping. It was a beautiful day, but I couldn't enjoy it. I was too scared.

I didn't know what had happened to me, but I knew that I would never forget it. The horror of that night would stay with me forever.

I never found out who the figure was or why it had kidnapped me. But I know that it's out there somewhere, waiting for its next victim.

I spent the next few days trying to forget what had happened to me. I went back to work, I hung out with my friends, I tried to live my life as normal. But it was no use. The memory of that night was always there, in the back of my mind.

One night, I was sleeping in my bed when I had a dream. In the dream, I was back in the dark room. The figure was there, standing in the shadows. It smiled at me, and I felt a chill run down my spine.

I woke up in a cold sweat. I knew that the figure was real. It was out there, somewhere. And it was coming for me.

I couldn't sleep that night. I just lay in bed, staring at the ceiling. I was too scared to close my eyes. I knew that if I did, I would see the figure again.

The next day, I went to the police. I told them what had happened to me, but they didn't believe me. They said that it was just a bad dream.

I knew that it wasn't a dream. I knew that the figure was real. And I knew that it was coming for me.

I started to see the figure everywhere I went. I would see it out of the corner of my eye, just disappearing into the shadows. I would hear its footsteps behind me, when I was the only one in the room.

I was starting to lose my mind. I couldn't sleep, I couldn't eat, I couldn't concentrate. I was always looking over my shoulder, waiting for the figure to appear.

One day, I was walking home from work when I saw the figure again. It was standing across the street from me, just watching me. I froze, unable to move.

The figure started to walk towards me. I turned and ran, but it was faster than me. It caught up to me and grabbed me by the arm.

I screamed, but no sound came out. The figure dragged me into an alleyway and threw me to the ground.

I looked up and saw the figure's face. It was even more hideous than I remembered

supernaturalpsychologicalfiction
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.