Horror logo

What Is Trance Channeling?

What Is a Trance Medium?

By Iria Vasquez-PaezPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have schizophrenia, but I’m also a trance medium. Trance channeling is a psychic ability in which mediums let a spirit communicate with their mind or a medium can, conversely, listen to the spirits around them in order to convey a message. There are several different kinds of mediumship, besides. Real trance states lead to a genuine bond between a spirit and a communicator. Trance symptoms include slowing of the heart rate, steady breathing, no rapid eye movement (REM), a lower body temperature, a reduced ability to feel pain, and various different levels of unconsciousness.

Trance mediums practically change the way they talk. Since I have schizophrenia, though, I have to take greater care with this ability than others. I could get stuck in a trance state without the ability to come out of it. I used to have a pagan therapist, a transpersonal therapist if you will. We covered this in my training sessions. I managed to get as stable as I am today because I worked very hard for this stability. When you are a medium, there are several ways to read; one is listening to the spirit talking, while another is to merge with the “mental and physical energies between the medium and spirit communicator,” where the spirit will temporarily be housed in the mind of the medium.

This stuff is hard to fake for those of you skeptics out there. There are different types of trance from light trance to deep trance, to a very deep trance. Mediums can channel in different ways throughout different methods such as writing, painting, or other creative endeavors. Other types of mediumship involve using spirit guides, angels, and loved ones. Mediums do try to connect with other people’s loved ones who have left the earth plane. The spirit body is made of energy, and while it looks like the departed and doesn’t sleep as the spirit body is able to travel around the astral. Spiritual mediumship can mean that clairvoyance, clairaudience, claircognizance, clairsentience, and clairgustance all play a role in how information is channeled.

Physical mediumship is different from spiritual mediumship in that people deal with real-world manifestations such as table tipping, noise, or levitation and there is also the appearance of ectoplasm involved. Healing mediumship such as Reiki and shamanism or the “laying on of hands” is commonly used in Christian churches and other Abrahamic religions as well as the non-Abrahamic paths. Channeling means that the medium talks to one spirit or the same types of spirits. When a medium can channel an angel, they automatically let the entity take over their body momentarily, but this means they can always get their body back. Spirits want a reciprocal relationship with those spirits they channel. I have to be wary of what sort of trance mediumship I engage in, which is why I write these articles for when I re-enter the pagan or New Age community. I stick with other pagans because they feel safer, and more capable of trust than the pure New Agers who give me problems for using Western medicine. What? Can’t take the fact that insulin keeps me alive?

Mediums are different from channels in that mediums only let the spirit channel through them when they stand next to them. Mediums if anything, listen to the message the spirit has to give them. This is why mediumship is much safer for somebody like me who is also schizophrenic. Trance channeling may endanger my health, given that I learn how to do it properly. Mediumship, however, is just as iffy if it involves more than one spirit.

Works Cited

https://www.amandalinettemeder.com/blog/the-4-main-types-of-mediumship

http://www.fst.org/trance.htm

Like

About the Creator

Iria Vasquez-Paez

I have a B.A. in creative writing from San Francisco State. Can people please donate? I'm very low-income. I need to start an escape the Ferengi plan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.