Horror logo

Weeping Willow

"Believe nothing you hear, and only one half that you see" -The System of Doctor Tarr and Professor Fether, 1845

By Kyra LopezPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Weeping Willow
Photo by Phil Plante on Unsplash

The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years, but one night, a candle burned in the window. A weeping willow faced it across the blackened pond, sighing and dripping its long branches into the water.

Night at the forest was nothing but a heavy blanket of darkness and fog so thick you could cut it with your camping knife.

After scrambling to grab my leather portfolio, I began my work under the guide of a flashlight. With a quick look at the moving trees, I hastily wrote down:

"Salix babylonica is a species of willow native to dry areas of northern China, but it has also been cultivated in Asia..."

I was here documenting the natural species of plants, trees, and wildlife in this area. It had to be done by the end of the month.

Wind continued to whistle through the drooping willows, and I was alone on this trip. Which, quite frankly, was extremely unsettling. The darkness would be back soon, and I had to hurry back inside the cabin before it completely fell across the forest floor.

At first, I heard the subtle whispering. It could actually be the birds or other animals making noises. But that explanation was nothing to be alarmed of.

It was the physical entity of the darkness.

Although no one believed me, documenting these species in the forest could only be done during certain hours. I was only here for a week, because I knew that it would be incredibly stupid of me to stay any longer. Darkness in this forest was morbid, and it took down anyone of any age.

With invisible arms, it grabs its victims and changes itself to fit what is needed.

It could look like someone you love, someone you hate, or even a beloved pet. It mimics what is closest to you, or whatever will set you off in order to capture you.

The willow trees work alongside it, as they can't hold up all the sadness of past victims anymore. That's why they droop so much. Or at least, that is what legend says.

"Don't believe what you hear, and always be skeptical of what you see."

I wrote this phrase down in my notebook, hoping to avoid the darkness falling on us so early.

One time a little girl came with her mom into the forest, happily playing with her hand sewn dolls. Her mom took her eyes off of her for just a few seconds, as the evening sun began to disappear. Without a minute to think, the darkness began to change itself. It started off as her late grandmother, a teacher from last year, and then finally it changed into a cat. It lead her away and distracted the mother.

They were confused and drawn into the willow trees. The mother and daughter walked into the trees with glassy eyes and no recollection of their environment.

By now, the forest was dipping into the evening hours which signaled me to make my way inside the cabin.

"Mom, this way!"

The forest began to speak.

"Dad? Help me!"

"Katherine, I know that isn't you, I-"

"Why are you here?!"

It would be talking all night long. The darkness would shapeshift, and remove its cloak to grow into all sorts of people. I stayed inside the cabin, with the candle lit, moving around the floorboards.

"Percy! You are alive!"

"No, no you can't be here..."

"Who are you?"

The voices were all different, from young kids to older adults.

But in the distance, I spotted some campers staying the night. Still blissfully unaware.

Maybe if they trust me, a scientist, I can lead them this way...

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Kyra Lopez

Writer from the 773

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Kyra Lopez is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.