Horror logo

We are not alone

Broken mirror..

By Maria Simões Published about a year ago 3 min read
Like

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. A small head of a child emerged .. her little hands were holding .. her reflection has taken over the left side of the mirror and was looking in my direction. The darkness in my bedroom made me question if there was an illusion from my mind. Horrified, I looked back again, making sure that the shadow was not playing with my imagination. No, it was not. She was there! There was something about these reflection, something innocent with a peaceful aura, she was looking into me.. I’m so scared!

Innocent and Peaceful? .. or was it my mind working its way so that my heart wouldn’t beat dangerously fast creating a state of panic, because the threat of evil was also lurking? Fly or fight came through me, but, then I thought.. is just a child! Yes, it’s definitely a child there.. what harm can she do to me? This soul steady staring at me.. I felt peace and a sense of love running through me.. It feels like someone I used to know and loved deeply..

I’m not in my bedroom anymore, there is no broken mirror or any shadow staring at me that’s not me..

Time went back 30 years, I’m in my mum’s bedroom, in her bed, sick and crying. Days have passed, no love, no talking, no food, no nothing would make me stop crying or get out of the bed almost lifeless .. I’m 4 years old and my soul is broken. All I could think about is Yolanda.. my lovely friend Yolanda. Not just my soul but my heart is painfully chattered in pieces..

Next split second I’m near the lobby of my old building, at the top of the stairs looking down, all I could see was blood and pieces of something that I could not understand what it was .. my mind was tricking me .. I could not understand.. too much blood. I don’t want to see .. I traveled back in time..

I heard a name ..- it’s Yolanda!.. someone shouted..

Still, all I could see was blood and pieces of brains and bones.. yes, it’s my best friend Yolanda, also 4 years old. But, it didn’t look like her. She fell down from a long 5 floor.. pushed by another child.. Oh, I feel such pain in me ..

What’s going on? I asked to myself, I’m back to the reality in the darkness of my bedroom and the broken mirror.. the little child was gone but not completely gone..

She has grown now, how is this possible? Can a spirit grow up after death? Yolanda is not 4 anymore, she’s my age now.. we were the same age then and we are the same age now 30 years later.

She found her way to let me know that she has never left. Why today? Why did it take 30 years for this to happen?

“It’s time for me to move on from the trauma of losing me” …she said.

She was there fully grown into a beautiful woman. She wants me to know that whenever I need, I just have to caIl for her name. She’ll find a way to manifest herself to me. She wants me to know that we are not alone!

For 3 days she stayed with me. I can never forget how I felt those days. The most peaceful and surrounded by love I ever felt. There was no demons or horror movie to talk about from real life events. It was just love.. love from another realm.

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Maria Simões

From a young age, I was drawn to horror movies and dark literature. Poetry has also been part of my life

While I don’t have any published work, I’m always eager to share my writing with others and welcome any opportunity to receive feedback

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.