Horror logo

Trapped in the Woods: A Mind-Bending Nightmare

A stream of consciousness adventure

By Yusef AbucarPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
figure b

The following is a true story.

April 19, 9:03 PM

I never expected to find myself in this particular circumstance. You never think it will happen to you, right? I was on a camping trip, exploring the countryside and taking in the beauty of nature. Everything was going swimmingly until I took a wrong turn and became absolutely disoriented. The sun was setting, and the light was swiftly diminishing. I attempted to retrace my steps, but everything appeared to be the same, and I couldn't find my way back.

Panic set in when I realized I was alone in the midst of the woods, with no way to summon aid. My heart was beating and my breaths were coming in quick gasps. I attempted to calm down, but it was futile; I was alone.

The darkness was creeping in on me as the night fell. Strange noises could be heard all about me, things moving in the brush, twigs snapping underfoot. I had the impression that I was being watched, that I was prey and that something was stalking me. I started running, not knowing where I was going, just wanting to get away from the horror that was encircling me.

Then I noticed it. A figure in the distance, getting closer. I could feel panic suffocating me, and my knees beginning to crumble. I couldn't move because I was immobilized with terror. The figure was moving closer and closer until it came to a halt. And it just sat there. Even in the dark, I could feel its eyes on me. I was suffocated.

I'm not sure how long I stood there, immobilized with terror, but ultimately I mustered the bravery to resume my run. I could hear the figure running after me, but I didn't dare to turn around. I simply ran as quickly as I could, my legs hitting the pavement and my heart beating in my chest.

The figure pursued me for what seemed like hours, but I eventually outran it. I came to a halt in a clearing and slumped on the ground, panting and gasping for oxygen. I was physically and mentally weary. I couldn't stand it any longer. The terror, the panic, the sense of being pursued. It was excessive.

I'm not sure how long I lay there, but I eventually got up and started walking again. But it wasn't simply the exhaustion that was bothering me. The psychological agony was beginning to take its toll. Dread of the unknown, fear of what was pursuing me, fear of being lost and alone. It was all starting to wear on me.

Then I noticed it again. The black figure in the distance is staring at me. I started running again, but I was too tired. I couldn't continue. I dropped to the ground and laid there, waiting for the end. But it didn't work. The creature simply stood there, glaring at me for what felt like eternity.

Then it began to fade away, until it was nothing more than a black dot in the distance. Then it vanished.

By Gwendal Cottin on Unsplash

I lay there for a few moments, trying to regain my breath and make sense of what had just occurred. Then I realized it wasn't even a figure. It was just my mind playing games on me, my dread and tiredness taking over.

I eventually got up and made my way back to civilization. But the incident left an indelible mark on me. I can still feel the terror and dread, as well as the sense of being lost and alone. It's a feeling I'll never forget, a memory that will haunt me for all eternity.

Every night, when I shut my eyes, I see the blackness of the woods and hear the noises of the unknown, whispers that reverberate through the trees. I can still smell the forest's moisture, the damp dirt, and the rotting leaves. My skin crawls and my heart races when I smell it.

I've realized that the woods have a mind of their own, with secrets and riddles better left unsaid. I discovered that being lost in the forest entails more than simply being physically lost; it also entails being lost in your own head, lost in the anxiety and uncertainty.

The event transformed me; it taught me to appreciate the little things in life, such as the warmth of a warm bed, the security of a closed door, and the sound of a loved one's voice. It also made me understand that we all have a dark side, one capable of horror and fear. A side that is easily activated by the unknown and can drive us insane.

I'll never forget the sensation of being watched, of not being alone. The black figure who chased me into the woods and spoke in my ear continues to haunt me. Was it simply my imagination, or was there something more sinister going on? I may never know, but I will never forget the sense of being all alone and psychologically traumatized in the woods, left to die alone and in total fear, suffering.

supernaturalurban legendpsychologicalmonsterfootage
Like

About the Creator

Yusef Abucar

Blurring the lines between sound and vision, this dubstep producer and visual artist creates otherworldly experiences through bass-fueled beats and mesmerizing visuals. Plug in and lose yourself in the cosmic journey. Later gator!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.