Horror logo

Torn

A mind and body or the loss of such

By William L. Truax IIIPublished 3 months ago 6 min read
Like
Torn
Photo by Ramez E. Nassif on Unsplash

Late one summer evening I was out walking in the Yard with my beloved as we had been meeting there to confirm our courtship, as was the custom for our two families, they had bargained once a generation where a daughter and son were to be wed and keep the families at bay and prosperous, as well as in power. It was here in the Yard where she and I would meet and discuss the unlikeliness of her and I having a true UNION as neither of us felt a thing for each other, though neither of us wished to dispose our family heritage nor that of our rights or for what their possible removal of our status would become, it seemed to the two of us that we were forced into a destined loveless marriage that we could not escape. Together we had plotted numerous ideations as to how we could escape our fate, yet none would invoke the demand to run without severe consequences. It was this night in the summer as the wind cascading off the mountains and into the small valley where our town was, in the center, the Yard, where we would be able to find the answer.

There was a young magician working some odd telemetry. He stood under a large metal cylinder that was surrounded by lightning, as if the cylinder was generating it alone, and he was not looking as if he were harmed. There was a large growing crowd that was in the mists of oohs and has, they applauded as the magician would touch the large metal cylinder and too not once harmed by the lighting that shown. All at once as she and I waded through the crowd, his performance ended and his eyes focused solely on she, my beloved and betrothed. Is face twisted and looking more than human, his smile broadened upon his sight of her, his physic too underwent a change, it was at first frail looking and void of any muscle that could have or did hold the weight that he bore upon the ground whence he held a hand and rod to the cylinder above him, whence his sight was cast upon she whom walked with me, his physical change became that to where all seemed more becoming of a man whose sole nature was that of lure and conquer. His muscles gained mass, girth, and he at once beheld her attention, as if he were but a picture or statue of marble that took her fancy. He, as she commented under her breath to me in hushed whispering tone, looked like the statue of David but in real life and movable.

His movement was swift, as if he had taken not even one step before he and she were locking hands in a firm grasp. He has kissed her hand atop the white glove that she wore, and at once without any issue rising from me, left my arm and grasped his. They walked off and talked leaving me standing there without an idea on what had happened. The judgment of the crowd as it gave its grievance in hushed tones and whispers to and fro, reminded me that we are always under the eye, however their thoughts and added sentiment, I was relieved, it meant that now I had witnesses and it would surely reach mother and father, they’d whisper and the tones would reach the servants of the house and soon, I would be freed from the pain that they were causing us both, as she too would be freed and happily, she had done this on her own accord!

As I walked the narrow streets alone to the house where I was expecting the good news, I had spied the man and she. She was in white from head to toe and seemed to me as if she were in celebration, I questioned this as if it were a pain in my heart, yet I felt nothing from it. I walked the pathway to where she and he emerged in their victory as rice and confetti were thrown upon them in a blessing format, yet, as I made my way there and waded through the thick and dense crowd, there was not even a single person who noticed me or that of my stature. It was as if I was nothing better then the man and women all haggling around and trying to get their piece. I was not seen nor heard whence I spoke. It was as if I were nothing at all.

The man’s eyes looked more and more like real, his face was more prominent now then before, it was like all that was being taken from me was going to be. It was when his face at once turned to me that I was able to receive and understood the gravity of what was happening. HE WAS taking me over, she married a different version of me, one that catered to her desires and whims.

I tried speaking, but at once the voice I once has left me, I tried moving once more and that too was fraught with more peril than I had imagined. I was not moving, nor was I standing still, there was no ill movement or motion, for I was moving, not in the direction that I was accustomed to or toward for that matter, I was being withdrawn in a backward motion and the momentum carried me back to the Yard where at once I was shown the body that I had left and where it was that I was forgotten. I bore witness to my own decay, which was not gradual, it was all at once. I watched as he and she walked toward me, but they had aged and she was no longer the young and vibrant beauty that once took hold of my arm, she was older and the beauty was diminished, leaving behind only the cracks and scars of life that once filled it.

He and she carried a bouquet of flowers and tossed it upon me where I stood and walked away without a thought of saying hi to me, they walked away and all I could do was watch.

She nor he returned after that and I still stand in the same spot waiting for the day that once more I am seen and heard again, maybe then it will be the day that the fate I have found myself in will be known for all, the who, what, when, where, and lastly, the why. For I know not one answer and it drives me, compels me to stay and find out. But the ones who knew I have not seen again.

If you are able to hear me, and hear my call, anything, please let me know.

My name is Tom, and I am alone and lost.

supernaturalpsychologicalCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

William L. Truax III

Disabled Veteran, Father of 2.

I am a teller of tales and dreams, visions, haunting melodies, subtidal invocations of the mind and song.

Many of the Tales here interact with each other in some way and all within the same Universe.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.