Horror logo

Three Horror Story's

By: Breanna G.

By Midnight_Angel _19Published 4 years ago 13 min read
1

The Blood River

When I was 12 years old my dad took me and my little brother, Josh, fishing to where dad use to go with his father. We were both excited, we had never been fishing before, and our father was always busy with work.

But this weekend he was finally able to get work off and was able to spend time with us,which both me and my younger brother craved a lot. Since mom was also busy taking care of our newest baby brother, we didn't have a lot of time to spend with our parents. Dad was trying to get mom to go with us too, but she was already planning to take the baby to a play date with another mom. So it just ended up being dad, Josh and I that went fishing.

As we were packing our fishing gear and tents, Dad seemed off. I wasn't sure if it was just the exhaustion from work or due to the fact it was about 90 degrees in our small town in the outskirts of New York City. As we are getting everything finished, my mom goes over to Josh. "Please make sure they both drink a lot of water and please keep a eye on them," she nagged our father.

Dad laughs "Sure dear I'll keep an eye on both of them," he turned his head to me and gave me a quick wink, implying that I am old enough to watch myself. I smile back at him and finished putting the last thing in the truck.

Before we got in the truck to head out mom came over to me and my brother giving us both a big hug and two kisses on our cheeks. She then looked at me and said, "Make sure your brother listens to your dad okay?"

I smiled and nodded my head, she looked over to dad and gave him a kiss goodbye. All three of us jump into the truck and start heading to the river which luckily for us was just a hour away. We listened to music and told dad about everything that was going on in school. He smiled and laughed at our stories, this was the best time ever and the last time ever.

As we got closer to our destination, Josh started complaining that he needed to go number one, which made my Dad and I laugh. Dad turned to Josh and said, "That's what you get for drinking all that soda!" Josh looked at him with puppy eyes as he pouted.

"We are almost there bro, wait till we get there" I said with annoyance as my dad parked on the side of the road near the rivers edge.

"Here," Dad said as Josh jumps out of the truck and ran for the nearest clearing. "Stay close by Josh," Dad called after him.

Josh yells back "Okay," before he vanished behind a tree. Dad looked at me and smiled with adventure in his eyes.

"Down over there is the river. Why don't you go check it out while I get everything out." I nodded as I walked over to a small path and slowing walked down it approaching the river.

As I got closer to it I noticed something was off with the water. Normally the water is a light blue color. For some reason, that I would find out later, the color of water was replaced with a light red. I looked around, goosebumps climbing up my back. "DAD!" I yelled with fright. In five seconds my dad was down by my side looking at the water in surprise.

"Darn teens probably dumped Kool-Aid or something down the river to make it turn this color," dad said in annoyance. He got closer to the water and put his hand in it. after a few seconds he pulled his hand out and was holding a thumb. I screamed as my father threw the thumb back into the water. He rushed over to me to get me away from the river. An instant later we heard a scream coming from the same tree Josh went to.

"STAY HERE," my dad screamed, as he ran over to the tree my brother was last seen at. I turned around toward the river and the river turned darker. To my horror I saw Josh's face looking at me from the water, as his body floated down river.

That day I lost my little brother. It is a mystery to the cops how he ended up in the water. He was so far away from the river near the tree line. Its even more of a mystery how the bodies of ten young boys were found floating in the same river without anyone noticing.

Mama Says

When I was only 8 years old, my twin sister and I were close. at the same time we were different in many ways. I was the sister who always did what my parents told me. If I broke something or did anything I wasn't supposed to I would tell them right away. My sister always would lie about everything, and when our wound mother find out she would say, "Do what mama says!"

My sister would then either be put in time out or get her things taken away. After every time she got in trouble, she would lay in our little princess bed which both of us shared, due to the fact that we could not sleep without each other, and would complain and cry over either spending a hour in time out or losing her toys. I would always respond to her, "This is why we listen to our parents Sara, and tell them the truth."

She would always roll her eyes and say, "Whats the fun in that?" We would then go to sleep.

One day Sara did the unspeakable, she cut her classmate's ponytails off and then made fun of her in front of the entire class. Mama and our father had to come down to the school and pick Sara up.

That day Mama had no patience with her and started to yell once we returned home. "Why do you always act out like that? You know you need to be more like your sister!"

This statement made Sara cry. My father then puts his hand on my Mama shoulders and looked at us girls. " You two should probably get ready for bed its been a long day," he smiled at both of us as he led Mama down the hall to their bedroom and closed the door.

I get up from my chair and look at Sara, "Lets get to bed sis. Its okay, you know Mama loves you."

Sara looked at me, with anger in her eyes as she said, "No she doesn't! She only loves you! Because you're a goody two shoes and I hate it!" She ran up stairs to our room tears rolling down from her eyes. I look down to the floor not hurting from the words that my sister said to me, but by the fact that I know she is right. I headed up the stairs leading to our room with my head down full of sadness for Sara.

As I got upstairs Sara was already in bed covered in our She-Ra blanket. Her clothes were spread out along the floor like usual. I picked her clothes up and put them in the laundry basket. I then changed into my pj's and threw my clothes in as well. I climbed in bed and Sara turns around her eyes all red and puffy from crying. "Sorry sis for what I said I was just..."

"Mad." I finished her sentence for her we both laugh and I hug her. " It's okay I understand. Just know I love you no matter what."

She smiled at me and whispered "Night sis," as we close our eyes to sleep.

During the night I heard crying from her. She kept saying, "I am sorry I will listen mama I will!" I keep my eyes closed and chalk it up to her having a bad dream from the day and started drifting in and out of sleep. By two A.M. her crying, as well as any noise from her had ceased. She was always a quit sleeper, she never snored nor talked in her sleep, so I just thought she was now having good dreams and getting the rest she needed. When six A.M. hit our clock went off and I wake up, get out of bed and start getting ready for school. This is when I notice Sara was not up yet, which wasn't all that strange.

I turn around and go to her side of the bed her body laying there. As I pulled of the blanket I yelled "Good morning!"

As the blanket falls to the floor I see blood all over my sister's side of the bed. My eyes then drift up to my sister's lifeless eyes, which were staring back at me. I screamed a dread filled scream which caused my parents to come running. As they enter the room my Mama falls to the ground crying and wailing. My father grabs the phone to call 9-1-1, and frantically requested an ambulance. As he is on the phone, a drop of blood fall down from the ceiling which made me look up. On the ceiling written in Sara's blood were the words, "Mama said be a good girl."

The Cottage

When I was in my freshmen year of collage, me and my friends decided to spend the summer at one of their cottages out in the middle of Colorado. We were all excited to spend some time there right after finals. We had all being stuck in doors studying the week before, and needed a small break. As we all pile in my best friends Mark's jeep, we laugh and talk excitedly about the coming summer. In the jeep there was me, Mark, his boyfriend Dan, Mary, my friend from elementary school, and her friend Nicole from the book club they both run together.

As we are driving and listening to AC DC I yell over the music, "So who's cottage are we going to?"

Dan raise his head and turns around and smiled, "It has been in my family for as long as I can remember. Me and my family used to go to it every summer, until my father found out I was gay and didn't want me around my siblings." He laughs and Mark reaches for his hand and kisses it.

"It's okay babe your dad will come along one day, at least he was okay with us using it," Mark says lovingly.

Dan looked at him with love in his eyes, "Yeah all because my Madre talked to him, I am lucky I am still her baby," we all laugh.

Mary jumps in and says, "That's one great mom! I wish my mother was around more often."

I smile at her and say, "Your mom got you a freaking five thousand dollar car and is paying for all your collage funds! That right there is a great mom!" We smile at each other as I leaned my head down and start nod off as I listened to the music. "Wake me when we get there."

When I woke up next, we were at the cottage, but the music stopped and everything was quiet and tense. I looked at everyone and noticed that one person was missing. Nicole was no longer in the Jeep. I looked around to the others questioning why we were still in here until I see what was going on.

Outside of the Jeep, Nicole's ripped up body was on the ground surround by little bloody creatures. They were black, with blood shot eyes and sharp teeth, and as they tore into Nicole body they would lick their lips after every bite. I looked at the others and they looked at me all with their fingers to their mouths, Dan was pointing to the open door where Nicole was previously sitting. I looked at them and knew automatically what to do. I slowly reach to the door and slowly closed it.

I was able to be quite enough that none of the monsters noticed us and then we all were able to talk.

"What the freak did I miss while I was sleep? What are those things? Why is Nicole dead?!" I exclaimed.

They looked at each other and Mary finally said, in a soft, scared voice, "You were still asleep when we got here so we all decided we would get everything unpacked and then wake you up. But when Nicole stepped out to go to the cottage, these things all came flying out and started to attack her! It was so awful June." She started to sob in my arms. I put my arms around her as she leaned into my chest and cried.

Dan then started talking, and as he did his voice shook, "These things are imps! Freak papa probably knew they were here and set this all up!"

I look at him in shock and said, "Are you freaking kidding me! Imps are not real they are only made up creatures for scary stories, and what the hell do you mean your dad set it up?!"

Mark holds Dan hand and breaths out "Dan is not supposed to say anything, but his family hunts things like this. He didn't tell you because he is only allowed to tell his lover and family. His father was upset, not only because of the fact that he's gay, but also Dan no longer wants to be apart of this." Dan looks at me with saddened eyes, tears welling up and I take a breath.

"Fine so what do we do? How do we get out of this mess?." I say when everyone calmed down a bit.

Dan smiled at me and said, "I am happy you asked! These imps respond to sound. if they hear us start the jeep they will destroy the jeep. Luckily there a way to keep them from getting in here and destroying the jeep and killing us."

We all look at him and Mary asks" How do we do it?"

Dan looked around the jeep and said, "I will need blood from a close love one to draw a sign on top of the jeep's hood." We all look at Mark and he takes a deep breath.

"How much blood do you need hun?" Mary starts crying again and I look in horror between the two of them.

Dan, looking at his boyfriend of 4 years with tears coming up again, said, "Enough to draw the whole symbol on the hood." He pulled out a rolled parchment from his bag and showed them the size of the symbol. It was massive.

Mark takes a deep breath and said "Okay hun, lets do this." Me and Mary looked away while Dan cut into Mark's arm. Mark screamed in pain and tried to be strong as Dan did his work. After a lot of blood and screaming Dan finally finished the symbol.

once the symbol was drawn, Dan started the Jeep and gunned it out of the parking area leaving Nicole's body to be consumed by the Imps. As Dan drove away I looked back to see that the Imps had not even noticed the jeep leaving the scene. I then check on Mark who is passed out in the front seat. Luckily, Dan had done this ritual before and Mark was not in critical condition.

I will never go to another cottage for the rest of my life because of this. Dan ended up going to jail for the murder of Nicole even though we all testified to the contrary. it was a long process, which was traumatic for all involved. The court refused to believe our story about the imps and assumed that Dan had coerced us into telling a fantastical story. As he was taken away on the day of the court hearing, his father smiled evilly at him and us, next to him his wife was crying wishing she had done something to stop this.

1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.