Horror logo

THIS ISN’T ME

Day 11

By Joy Published 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

BANG!!! I watched my body drop to the floor. Wait how did I just watch myself die? I looked down at my hands, I saw the gun in my left hand. I was stunned at what just happened. I walked over to the body to get a closer look. Sure enough that was my body. “But, how am I still alive, if I’m dead?” I thought, as I looked down at my body. “Who’s body am I in then?” I walked over to the nearest window to look at my reflection. That defiantly wasn’t me. He looked simaliar to me, around the same age, more rough looking and so tired. I put the gun in my pocket and walked away. It felt like I was on autopilot. I made it all the way to, what I’m assuming is the guy I’m possisings apartment. Sitting down on an old sofa, I placed the gun on the coffee table. I didn’t know what was going on or who I was, but this urdge lingered. Almost like an itch you couldn’t scratch, but I didn’t know what that itch was. I walked over to his kitchen and opened his freezer. I saw a small box shoved in the back. I reached in and pulled it out. It was full of photos. “Weird thing to keep in a freezer.” I thought, as I placed the box on the counter next to me. I kept looking into the fridge, but couldn’t help wondering. “What are those photos?” I grabbed the little box and sat down at the kitchen table. Looking through. I saw photo, after photo, after photo. People shot in the head, in the back, in the chest. All lying dead. There had to have been 30+ pictures. I had noticed that they all had the dates in the back. “I don’t think this is a good body to be in.” Feeling uneasy about the pictures I had seen.

I couldn’t tell you how long I had spent, locked up in that apartment. I learned more about this guy. No friends. No family. No employment. Really nothing tying him in this world. I get why he left and gave me his problems. The weird itch had become alarmingly worst. Now it felt like a consistent burning. I had figured that feeling was probably a habit this guy had and I wasn’t doing.

Another week went by, and I couldn’t take the burn anymore. I went out of the apartment, and was just walking through town. Picked up food and some more supplies, to stay buried alive in this guys apartment. Just then it hit me. A young woman walked right in front of me. Almost like I was invisable to her. “Excuse me? Miss?” I sounded very nervous. “What do you want?” She replied. “You see, there is a line. And uh you cut in front of me.” I sounded less confident then before. “Can you stop harassing me?! I will call security!” She was pissed and started to raise her voice at me. She acted like it was my fault, she cut in line. I became very quiet, after that the burning made sense now. That missing piece in this guys life. He wanted to end those who distrispected him. Those photos were all his victims. I was in a serial killers body… and I knew who my next victim was…

I had walked out of the store and was heading to my car. Almost like it was fate, that rude woman parked directly in front of me. Once I had gotten in the drivers seat, we were now staring at each other. She rolled her eyes and back up. I wanted a moment for her to start driving, and then I would begin on my journey home as well. I saw the rude woman make a left, I was going to make a right. But it was almost like my body wouldn’t let me. I turned left and started to follow this woman. I was a couple cars behind her at all times, but my eyes were locked on her white Tesla. I followed her all the way home. Watching her go into her house. I wanted to just turn around, but my burn felt like a forest fire. I just had to see her house. I got out of the car and snuck around back. Peeking through her window, I could tell a lot about this woman. I noticed things most people wouldn’t, as if my eyes were trained. No photos on the walls, very fancy and white, no wedding ring, single uses of everything. This woman was alone, in a big house, with no one she cared enough about to hang a picture of them.

I wanted to leave so badly, but I couldn’t. I tried the back door and it my surprise it was open. I crept in. Heart was pounding out of my chest. What was I even going to do? I’d never murdered someone before. I found her bedroom and slid into her closet. I sat in there waiting. For what, I didn’t know.

What felt like hours later, she walked into the room. She took off her slippers and crawled in to her bed. I watched her from a crack in the closet door. I waited for another hour. Just watching her fall asleep. My intention was to sneak back out of the house, But my body had other plans. I snuck out of the closet. I could feel the blood pumping through all of my veins. I started to walk away from her sleeping body. Slipping my hands into my pockets. I felt the gun. I didn’t remember putting it in my pocket, but there it was. Ready to be used. I pulled it out of my pocket, staring at the gun in my hands. I slowly walked back over to her bed. Looking down on her. I felt all the hate, and judgement.

Before I knew what I was doing. BANG!!! BANG!!! BANG!!! Three shots in her chest. She was dead instantly. I ran out of the house and drove away.

I just killed an innocent woman. It wasn’t my body, but it was my brain, and the itch that was inside, was able to subside. I was okay then. Until another had to die.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Joy

Writing a scary short stories to espace reality

What’s your reason for reading them?

Dreaming of being an author and love any support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.