Horror logo

Birthing Pains

Day 10

By Joy Published 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

I woke up, and immediately knew something was wrong. I felt sick to my stomach. My body ached as I lay in my sheets. Looking down at my big belly, I could see the babies hand pressing against my skin. I touched her a little hand and she moved it back out of reach. “Only five days left little one.” I smiled and got out of bed.

To be my little girl, my little angel, my little princess. I couldn’t believe nine months has come and gone so quickly. I have actually created a human being, inside of me. Getting up I put on my slippers and walked down to the kitchen, to make myself a cup of tea. Wishing that I could walk downstairs and see my husband there. Having a baby, didn’t make his loss any easier. He should be here. He should be able to meet his daughter. But fate had other plans for our future. It was his need to serve our country, ended up taking his life. I got dressed, ready to go see the doctor to hear another positive report, about a healthy baby girl. But something felt off, I couldn’t explain the feeling, let’s just call it mothers intuition. I got in my car and started driving to the doctors and I couldn’t shake this off feeling about my little baby girl. At the doctors they ran the tests, they did the ultrasound and to my surprise everything came out perfectly healthy. “Should have a beautiful, healthy, 7 pound baby girl in about five days.”said the doctor. I was so excited. I was hoping the weird gut feeling was just all in my head, maybe it’s just from being a first time mom.

5 days came and left. Still no beautiful baby girl. That pit in my stomach came back. I felt sick, running to the bathroom, I threw up everything I ate that day. Going back to the doctor, he still came back with a clean report. “She should be here any day now, not all babies come directly on the due date. She is just deciding to take her time. I’m sure she’ll be here soon, no need to worry.” His words weren’t comforting. I was trying not to worry, but the pit in my stomach felt like a rock at this point. So at home, I sat on the couch and rested.

10 days later still no baby... 20 days later... 30 days later… I was now 10 months pregnant. That sweet little 7 pound baby girl, felt like a 20 pound monster. My stomach never stoppped growing and I didn’t know what to do. The doctors try to induce me 3 times, none were successful. But every report came back healthy so there was no emergency need for a C-section. “This has to be our fault. The doctor must’ve gotten the dates wrong for when she is due” I could hear two nurses whispering. “I believe with her size, now nine months pregnant not 10 months pregnant.” The other nurse replied. “No one has ever reported being 10 months pregnant. And if she was it would be so extremely unhealthy for the baby, we wouldn’t be getting back healthy reports.” The other nurse replied. I went home again, I was now on bed rest. Doctors orders. As it was hard for me to get up and move around at this point. 7 more days went by, no baby.

This was ridiculous at this point. 11months pregnant?? Not possible. My belly was now so large, I couldn’t even stand up at this point. Let alone drive myself to the doctors. All I could do was sit on my couch and order food. Oh and I was eating so much food. Pounds and pounds, every meal.

Officially hit the year mark… 1 whole year of being pregnant. I was admitted into the hospital. They decided C-cection was the only way to stop this maddens. I went into the operation room. They drugged me up and cut me open. I blacked out.

Waking up in a hospital bed, expecting to see a baby next to me. But there was no baby. I sat up a little too quickly and looked around the room. Still no baby. Just then a nurse walked in and saw me. “Oh good you’re awake.” She smiled. “Where is my baby?” I sounded more demanding then I’d intended. “The doctor will be here shortly. He can explain the situation.” She then checked my vitals and left. It felt like hours had gone by and finally the doctor came into my room. “How are you feeling?” He sounded concerned. “I’m fine. Where is my baby?” I was determined to get answers. “Well, when we preformed the C-cection we found no baby. We found a tumor. It was huge and cancerous. We were able to remove it before the cancer had spread.”

I could hear him talk but it was like someone had turned down the volume on his voice. “I am… I mean, I was pregnant.” The words hurt coming out. “I’m sorry miss, but you were not.” He continued to talk in medical jargon and I turned him out. “He’s lying. He has to be. I saw her. I felt her. ITS A HER FOR CRYING OUT LOUD.” The voice in my head was getting louder. “I don’t mean to be rude doctor. But you’re lying.” The words just fell out of my mouth and stunned him. “I’m really sorry miss, I wish I was.” I inturrupted him. “You are and I’d like to see my baby now.” He stood still for a few seconds. We were just staring at each other.

“I’m afraid I can’t do that miss.” He’s words shocked me. “You see, what we pulled out of your belly… it isn’t human… I think it’s best you never see it.” He started to walk away. “What do you mean not human?” He froze. “We don’t know. But it’s dangours.” He walked over to my bed and handed me a small photograph. Then he nodded his head and left.

What I saw in that photo, chilled me to the bone. It wasn’t human. It didn’t even have a human shape. It looked most like a octopus. Many slimy hands, and a base, that I was assuming was her body. She was tan colored, with eyes all over her. I could see in the background of the photo, a doctor lay on the floor. His face was chewed off. I’m assuming the baby, if I could even call her that, latched herself on him and ate his face. Blood covered all of the doctors and one had part of his hand missing.

I sat there stunned. I just carrying that this inside of me for 12 months. It made doctors believe it was a baby girl. And it is now killing people. So why didn’t it kill me? How did it get inside of me? What do I tell my family? What are they going to do with it?

My head spun. But I knew one thing to be true. Mother’s Intuition is always right.

monster
Like

About the Creator

Joy

Writing a scary short stories to espace reality

What’s your reason for reading them?

Dreaming of being an author and love any support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.