Horror logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

The Whispering walls: A Descent into Unspeakable Horror in a far off Cabin

A journalist's look for a reclusive writer uncovers a chilling secret hidden within the decaying logs

By sanjeevanPublished 15 days ago 3 min read
The Whispering walls: A Descent into Unspeakable Horror in a far off Cabin
Photo by Daniel Jensen on Unsplash

Lighting, camera, Terror

The headlights of my condominium vehicle stabbed thru the relentless darkness, illuminating a dusty, forgotten avenue snaking thru a dense, unwelcoming wooded area. I, Amelia Brooks, a pro investigative journalist, was on a challenge. My target: Edgar Vance, a once-celebrated horror author who had vanished from the general public eye years ago, retreating to a secluded cabin rumored to be the foundation for his maximum terrifying works.

Fueled via a healthy dose of curiosity and a touch of apprehension, I pressed on. The GPS sputtered and died, leaving me to navigate by means of instinct and the fading light. simply as despair threatened to set in, a faint silhouette materialized ahead – a ramshackle cabin, its home windows like vacant eyes staring into the encroaching night time.

A Creaking Welcome

The air hung heavy, thick with the fragrance of damp earth and rot. With a deep breath, I knocked on the weathered door. No solution. After numerous tries, a chilling creak introduced it swinging open a sliver. A voice, raspy and historic, rasped, "who is there?"

"Amelia Brooks," I replied, my voice sounding uncharacteristically skinny. "i am right here to look Edgar Vance."

Silence. I debated leaving, the isolation gnawing at my remedy. Then, a whisper, barely audible, "are available."

Hesitantly, I driven the door similarly open. The indoors become shrouded in gloom, the air thick with dust motes dancing in a single shaft of moonlight. A gnarled hand emerged from the shadows, beckoning me ahead. I followed, my coronary heart pounding a frantic rhythm against my ribs.

The author's Lair

The room was a macabre collection of horror tropes. Cobwebs draped dusty furnishings like ghostly curtains. at the walls, grotesque paintings depicted scenes from Vance's novels, their figures seeming to writhe within the darkness. In a corner, hunched over a cluttered table, sat Edgar Vance.

He become a skeletal determine, his face a roadmap of wrinkles, his eyes two stupid embers under a shock of white hair. A tremor ran thru him as he appeared up, and a flicker of something – worry? – passed thru his gaze.

"Ms. Brooks," he rasped, his voice a dry whisper. "I wasn't awaiting agency."

Unearthing secrets

We talked, or as a substitute, I interviewed. Vance turned into a shadow of the colourful, innovative man portrayed in old interviews. His words have been hesitant, full of long pauses and nervous glances across the room. nonetheless, I pressed on, piecing together his story. He pointed out creator's block, a crippling worry that had descended upon him on this very cabin. He referred to abnormal occurrences, whispers in the night, shadows that moved on their own.

Initially, I brushed off it because the ramblings of a tortured mind. but then, the power went out. The room plunged into impenetrable darkness, broken handiest through Vance's ragged breaths and the frantic thump of my coronary heart.

Whispers inside the dark

A coldness seeped into the room, chilling me to the bone. after which, I heard it. Faint at the start, a scratching sound at the partitions, like claws scraping towards timber. The sound grew louder, accompanied by way of an unsettling whispering, a chorus of voices that regarded to emanate from in the very logs of the cabin itself.

Vance whimpered, his frail body trembling. In that moment, I noticed the fear reflected in his eyes. It was actual. This cabin, this region, held a darkness that defied explanation.

A Frantic get away

Panic seized me. I fumbled for my telephone, the feeble flashlight beam a pitiful defense towards the encroaching shadows. I grabbed Vance's arm, adrenaline overriding my worry. "We want to get out of here!"

He stumbled to his feet, a groan escaping his lips. We hurried closer to the door, the whispers developing louder, greater insistent. just as we reached the doorway, a frightening sound echoed via the cabin. It became a laugh, excessive-pitched and inhuman, sending chills down my spine.

With a very last surge of electricity, I threw open the door and we stumbled out into the night time, the cool air a blessed alleviation. We failed to prevent going for walks till we had been far sufficient away that even the whispers were just memory.

A Haunting Aftermath

The next morning, I reached a close-by metropolis, shaken however alive. I filed my tale, detailing my come across with the reclusive author and the chilling environment of the cabin. but the whispers nevertheless echoed in my thoughts, a consistent reminder of the horror

vintagetravelmovie reviewfictioncelebritiesbook reviewsart

About the Creator

sanjeevan

Dedication makes you perfect...

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    sanjeevanWritten by sanjeevan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.