Horror logo

The Watering Can

From the short story collections - 'Once Upon'

By Dub WrightPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Audrey filled her flower watering can up to the predetermined level—clearly marked on the outside of the can. She carefully set the can on the footstool near the door, and returned to the kitchen to wipe off the counter. A few minutes later, she returned to the door preparing to go outside and water her plants.

She picked up the can and almost sprained her wrist. The can flew out of her grasp and landed on the floor, but though it landed on its side, no water leaked out. Audrey picked up the can and peered into the inside of the vessel.

“I know I put water in this.” However, the can was empty.

She looked around the dry floor. The can had obviously not leaked. So, Audrey carried the can back to the sink and refilled it from the faucet.

“That should do it.” She picked up the can just as the phone rang, “Always, when I need to do something the phone rings." She set the can on the kitchen table and picked up the phone.

Her mother was calling and wanted a recipe that Audrey’s friend Mona had shared at the church picnic.

“Just a minute mom, it’s by the computer.”

Audrey laid the phone on top of the kitchen counter and walked into the other room to get the recipe. When she returned she picked up the phone.

“Mom, I’ll call you back I couldn’t find it.”

There was no answer.

“Mom? Mom are you there? Sheesh, I guess she couldn’t wait.”

Audrey started to pick up the can, but paused and looked into the opening. The can was empty. She quickly looked around the table for wet places.

“Somebody is playing a practical joke on me."

She sat down in a chair and stared at the can.

“I bet Bob came home early and is doing this. Bob? Bob? Are you in the house somewhere?”

Her husband, Bob, was not due back in town until tomorrow.

“He’s here somewhere I know.”

She ran into the living room, but the house was vacant. Audrey opened the door and looked around. Bob’s car was not in the driveway. She walked around the outside of the house and came back into the kitchen. The watering can was sitting on the footstool, she looked into the mouth of the can. A bug was floating on the surface of the full can.

Audrey rushed into the kitchen and found the phone lying on the kitchen counter. She picked it up.

“Hello?”

“Audrey, did you find the recipe?” Her mother’s chipper voice greeted her.

“Mom, can you come over here. Something is wrong?”

“Sure, honey, tell me what’s going on?”

“I think I’m losing my mind.”

“Well we all feel that way sometimes dear. Absentmindedness runs in your father’s family. You probably inherited it. I’m truly sorry. Is there anything I can help you find?”

Audrey felt totally frustrated, “No mom. Oh, I couldn’t find the recipe either.”

“That’s okay dear. We’ll see Mona at church and ask her there.”

“Yeah mom,” Audrey sat on a stool next to the counter, “Listen, call me later. I don’t feel too well, I just feel confused.”

“Yes, dear. I’ll call you as soon as I get back from Sunday school.”

“Mom, Sunday school is on Sunday.”

“Yes, dear. Today is Sunday.”

Audrey glanced at the kitchen table. The empty watering can was sitting on the corner. She dropped the phone and put her head between her hands.

“Audrey? Audrey, are you still there?” Her mother’s voice rattled through the wires.

The only sound echoing in the room was a muffled cry.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Dub Wright

Curmudgeon; overeducated; hack writer; too much time in places not fit for habitation.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.