Horror logo

The Untold Story of Sara Lavender

By Alissa Rodriguez

By Alissa RodriguezPublished 3 years ago 30 min read
Like
The Untold Story of Sara Lavender
Photo by Léonard Cotte on Unsplash

Today is Thursday. Wait, or maybe it is Friday. I lost track of time and what day it was because I have been working so much lately. It could even be Monday, for that matter. But I don't want to tell you about today. I want to tell you about a time that happened earlier in the week.

It was a frigid and slightly windy morning. I was walking to my car to leave for a typical day's work. Well, not to normal because I don't have your average everyday job. I work for the government as a member of the C.S.I.

When I arrived at my car, I had noticed a folded-up piece of paper sitting on my windshield under one of the wipers. I took the note from the windshield and read it.

"I can always see you. So do not do anything you will regret later."

I flipped the small wrinkly piece of paper to see if it was for me, but there was no name on it at all. So I slipped the little slip of paper into my coat pocket and began to look around, checking to see if anyone was watching me or lurking from the woods surrounding my house, but I couldn't see anyone. What I did notice, however, was a very faint but familiar smell. I just didn't know where I knew the smell from or what it was. Then it finally hit me. It was blood. So I followed the scent. It led me down a pathway that feeds into the woods near my house. The path it led me down seemed like it was never going to end. When finally, I came to a fork in the course. I stopped in between both paths and smelled around to see which one smelt of blood more potent than the other. I concluded that the way on the left smelled of nothing but outside, so I ventured down the right way.

As I walked down the right path, the smell of blood grew stronger and stronger. I continued walking until I saw something shimmering on the ground. I walked over to the shimmery object to see what it was and the smell of blood flooded my nose and the air surrounding me until it was the only thing I could smell. It was a knife that was so clean I could see my reflection in the blade. It looked as if it were brand new, which didn't make any sense because it was sitting mere inches away from a trail of blood. I grabbed the knife off the ground and added it to the pocket that contained the note from my car.

After I picked up the knife, I decided to follow the trail of blood. The path led me to an old, abandoned house. The house was big, white, and two stories tall. It only had a few windows on it, which were all covered in thick metal bars. Almost as if someone was locked away from the rest of the world. As I slowly walked up the steps of the front porch, each stair made this horrific creaking noise. I began to walk towards the front door when all of a sudden, it swung open as fast as lightning. I decided to be a big girl and do my job. So I slowly walked through the doorway.

As I walk into the house, I could just barely make out this girl singing, but I couldn't make out her words. So I walked deeper into the house, chasing the sound of this girl's song. As I venture deeper and deeper into the place, the music grew louder until it came in crystal clear.

"I rest here in this house because my murderer wanted me to be his wife. I told him no, not until the end of life. So in return, he took mine to be his wife forever. You shall beware though, my dear because as I lay there dying, he whispered into my ear: Fear not my love for I will not rest until they all areas you are my dear. That is why I rest here; to protect all the other women from him."

As she sang this beautiful unknown song, I followed her voice up the stairs and down to the end of the hallway. I followed her voice until I was standing outside an old, dirty white bedroom door. I stretched my hand out towards the door, but as I went to grab the doorknob, the bedroom door swung open just the same as the front door had. The door led me to a bitch black bedroom. The only thing that I was able to notice was the closet because it was all lite up. I walk over to the closet door, heart beating faster and harder to where it felt almost as if it were going to pond out of my chest the closer I got to the door. I slowly wrap each pale white finger around the knob of the door and slowly pulled open the door. As I make my way into the closet, I see a girl who looks to be in her early twenties. She was sitting in the corner of the closet with both arms wrapped tightly around her legs, and she was rocking herself back and forth. This girl had those eyes that could just hypnotize someone. Her hair was as red as the blood that covered her beautiful white as a snow nightgown. It went about mid-thigh and flowed down her body, gripping tight at each curve. She looked almost like a model straight out of a magazine. The only difference between her and a model was the fact she somehow got covered in blood. Oh yeah, and the fact that she was dead. The girl did not look as if she had gotten murdered, though. She looked young, vibrant, and ready to take on the world. The only way you would know she was dead would be if you watched her chest and noticed that it didn't rise nor fall in breathing like a manner. The way she looked at me with those mesmerizing deep blue eyes, everything this poor girl had been through, I could see and feel. That included all the pain and suffering she had felt and seen. At that moment, I knew I was her only hope, not for revenge but to make sure nobody else ended up like her.

The girl suddenly got up and walked over to me. She then, as gracefully as ghostly possible, laid each hand on one of my cheeks. Underneath where her hands laid on, my cheeks began to grow in warmth. I stood there with concern in my eyes, not knowing what was about to unfold before me. When she removed her hands from my face, she said, "Now. Now you know what I know. You will see, hear, and remember everything that I do. You will know my life from start to finish. You will know HIS face, name, and story as well as mine" I just stood there for a moment with this blank look on my face. I didn't know what to say or think about what had just happened. She explained to me that her name was Sara Lavender. She also told me that the man who had killed her had been in her life ever since she could remember. Once she finished, she sat there like she was waiting for something to happen. When all of a sudden, my vision started to get fuzzy until I could no longer see her sitting in front of me in the closet. I felt my body go numb for just a brief second. When I finally got my vision back, I noticed I was no longer standing in the tiny closet with Sara anymore. I was now standing in a hospital room with two ladies. One of the ladies was giving birth to two beautiful baby boys. The other lady was big and looked as if she could go into labor at any given second. Once the doctor finished helping the first lady deliver her sons, he told the lady who looked like she was about to pop that he was coming to help her have her baby now. Not even five minutes go by, and she gave birth to a beautiful baby girl. The lady named her baby girl Sara Marye Lavender. Once the lady said that name, my eyes got fuzzy once again, and I was back in the closet with Sara.

Once my vision settled and I gathered myself, Sara began to explain to me what exactly it was that I just witnessed in the hospital room. She told me that the lady who was delivering the two baby boys in the same room as her and her mother was her aunt. So that made the two little boys her cousins. She explained one of the boys had to have surgery on his brain because a tumor was starting to form on his mind. The boy made it through the surgery. At the time, his mother did not realize that as her son would grow up, the brain surgery would have a drastic effect on her son's man.

As the boys grew older, the boy who had brain surgery would grow fonder and fonder of poor miss Sara. Sara tried to tell her mother about the encounters she had with her twin cousin, but her mother would never believe Sara. Sara's mother, whose name is Jewels Nikole Lavender, would always brush it off like her daughter was just silly. All of a sudden, it was happening again. The vision was going blurry until it went completely black. When I regained my sight, I was standing in a closet quite like the one I was just standing in moments ago with Sara. This one was slightly a tad bit smaller, though. As I glanced around, I saw a very petite teenage girl. She was maybe sixteen years old. The girl was sitting in the corner, slowly rocking back forth, almost identical to the way Sara had been when I found her. The girl had a black bandana that looked like someone had tied it just a little tight, covering her eyes. She had these black fuzzy handcuffs that were almost falling off of her small wrists. I then noticed the blood-red hair that is matted to her face and in a tangled up bun matted to the top of her head. I instantly realized the teenage girl I was looking at was the same girl I just left. It was from Sara. I jumped, startled by fear, as I became more aware of my surroundings. I could barely hear a lady calling for Sara to come out because they were getting ready to go home. Sara tried to scream to her mother, but the bandana muffled any noise Sara tried to make. The lady down the hall who was yelling for Sara was, in fact, her mother Jewelz like I had assumed moments ago. Jewelz thought the kids were playing an innocent game of hiding and seek, not that her only child is now trapped in the closet upstairs. Then out of nowhere, I heard this awful shriek of a voice scream," NOOO! We didn't finish our game yet, aunt jewels." So Jewelz gave them thirty more minutes to play and said, "But that is all the time we have to spare Nick." So Jewelz disappeared back down the hall the way she originally had come. Nick darted back into the room once his aunt was out of eyesight. He slammed the bedroom door shut and dashed straight for the closet. He grabbed Sara by her messy bun and ripped her out of the closet from where she had sat anticipating his return. Nick threw her across the room onto his bed. He walked to his radio set up on the bookshelf across from his bed and turned on the music. Nick went back to the bed to make what he called love to Sara. She tried her hardest to scream louder than the music blaring from the radio, sitting on the bookshelf near the bedroom door. But nothing she tried seemed to work. The music was just way too loud. So she stopped fighting nick and just laid there like she was lifeless. Allowing Nick to do whatever he wanted to do to her. After thirty minutes of nothing but pure torture, Sara was back to looking just as beautiful as she had when she walked into her clueless aunt's house. Sara brushed her once matted out, so it perfectly framed her face. The bruises that were scattered all over her body like freckles, hidden by her tight dark blue skinny jeans, her pitch-black American Eagle sweatshirt, and by her makeup that was beautifully caked to her already naturally gorgeous face. Nick forced her to put on makeup so that when he and Sara went downstairs to say their goodbyes, nobody would know about the rape that had taken place mere seconds ago. I was then violently yanked back to the original closet that I had been standing what felt like hours ago. I felt cold wetness running down my face. I had just realized that tears dampened my eyes and cheeks I did not know had fallen. I knew they were building up in my eyes as I could only watch the memory dance across my vision like a movie. It's not like I could have done anything to stop him. It was merely a memory. I could no longer control the flow of my tears as they poured down my face on to my freshly dry cleaned pants suit that I would wear to work that day. I then looked over at Sara, who was now sadly sitting criss-cross on the floor in the closet with sorrow-filled eyes. She was starring at me; eyes damn near like the ones I was using to look at her, except hatred and envy boiled in her eyes. Now instead of looking like the beautiful angel, I knew she looked like a demon with a massive grudge and a tad bit too much revenge in her little broken heart.

Sara had finally regained control of her emotions that were going haywire just moments ago, and that is how I could see them in her eyes but also flashing across her face. In a very soft and gentle whisper, she said, "The closet we are standing in is in his mother's house. This house is where it all started, and this is where it is going to end." Sara continued to tell me that what I had just seen would become a routine for her and Nick. She would go over to his house with her mom, and they would hang out in Nick's room for hours at a time. Jewelz never figured out that her baby girl was continuously getting raped by her nephew. Jewelz died, still not knowing that this was happening to her daughter.

It had been saying many times that Sara hated her life because nothing was going the way she wanted them to, and she took matters into her own hands and ended it all by committing suicide, but that's a lie. That's not how she died at all. Not even close. Sara hated life, but it was not her own. Anyone who knew Sara knew thought she had a picture-perfect life, but they were on the outside looking in. Sara made fantastic grades in school, maintaining an A average in all of her classes, most if not all of her high school career. She was the captain of the cheerleading team at her high school. Most of the students at her high school loved Sara because she was not your average everyday cheerleader. Sara never had a boyfriend. Don't get me wrong, Sara had plenty of offers, but Nick made it very clear she wasn't to have one. Nick had told her that if she ever had one, he would make sure it was her last one ever. He told her he would put a very permanent end to it. Nick made poor Sara petrified of him. Sara tried a repetitive amount of times to tell her mother, but Jewelz never believed her. Each time they went to her aunt's house, they grew to stay longer and longer until she got forced to move into her aunt and the boy's home.

It was Sara's senior in high school. Jewelz was on her way to her sister's house after a shift at work that had her there longer than she had expected. It was about ten o'clock at night, and a drunk driver was distracted by a text he had just received; because of this, he failed to see that the light had turned from green to red. Of course, he was flying down the road. The police report says he was doing at least ninety-five miles per hour in a forty-five miles per hour zone. He started getting closer and closer to the median until the front of his car clipped the front of Jewelz car. He hit her car so hard it made the car flip on its side, and it rolled down the road. The car hadn't stopped until it had crushed poor Jewelz inside of her car. The police and the firemen worked as fast as they could at peeling the car open so they could get Jewelz out of the grasp of the vehicle. Once she was out of the car, the fireman checked her pulse to see if she was still alive, but just touching her already cooling wrist, he knew that she had been gone for at least 45 minutes. So they labeled the cause of Sara's death as the car crushing her as it rolled and crushed itself.

Before Jewelz's death, Sara had realized that her period was running a little later than usual. Sara told herself that if pregnant that she would keep the baby because then and only then would Sara have the proof needed to show her mother and her aunt that her cousin raped her like she was trying to tell her the entire time. The problem with that is nick somehow caught wind that Sara's period was late. Nick found a way to burst any ideas she was even thinking about attempting because he had a better idea of what to do with the baby his gorgeous cousin was carrying. Within the next few days, nick found Sara standing at the top of the stairs, so he pushed her down them. Nick had shattered any hope Sara had with every bounce of her body down those hard wooden stairs bruising Sara's faith a little the closer she got to the end of the staircase. Nick lied to his aunt Jewelz and told her that Sara had tripped over her own two feet. From that day forward, nick never forgot to wear a condom. Sara had no idea what to do now. Her mother wouldn't ever believe her, and she couldn't tell anyone else about it because she was terrified that Nick would kill her or the person she talked to about the situation. So she never even attempted to reach out to anyone.

This everyday ritual went on and on until one day; it went just a little too far. Nick decided to propose to Sara. It was the middle of the summer. Nick and Sara had graduated from high school for just about two years now. Nick had invited Sara out to dinner on a Friday night. Of course, Sara agreed to go. If she hadn't gone, Nick probably would have seriously hurt her if not killed her. So in Sara's head, it was the most logical thing to do. So she got all dressed up and met Nick at the most excellent restaurant there was in Virginia.

Finally, she arrived at the restaurant. The wait staff left one table in the room; the wait staff moved all the others into a storage room. Almost instantly, Sara knew Nick had reserved the whole restaurant for the 2 of them. The main dining room area appeared to be lit up by candles scattered all over the room. Nick was sitting at the table and had one single candle placed correctly in the center of it. He already knew what Sara ordered at this specific restaurant because Nick forced her to come here several times. Nick forced her to come to celebrate an anniversary that she did not want to celebrate.

When Sara finally joined Nick at the table, all he had to do was snap his fingers, and a waiter with silver treys containing their food emerged from the kitchen doors that Sara could see right behind Nick. Once they finished eating, Nick again snapped his fingers, and the same waiter that brought the food emerged from the kitchen and removed the almost empty plates from in front of Sara and Nick. Once the waiter was back in the kitchen, Nick got up from the table and walked over to where Sara was sitting and got down on one knee. Before he could get the words out of his mouth, Sara shook her head no and tried to get Nick to stand back up. Sara's rejection did not go over very well with Nick. He threw enough money on the table to cover the bill and for the waiter to have a decent tip. He grabbed Sara by her hair and drug her to his car. He popped open his trunk, and he threw poor Sara inside the back of his car. At this point, Nick could care less if people were watching him. He was red with anger, and he didn't care about anything at this point. Nick drove straight to the beginning of the pathway of the house his mother left to him when she and the oldest twin had died in a horrible eighteen-wheeler accident. He jerked Sara out from the trunk of his car by her already mangled hair. Nick gave her one last chance to save herself. He asked her one more time if she would marry him. This time instead of just saying no like she did when he asked her before at the restaurant. Sara looked him straight in the eyes and said, "Noooo! Not until the end of my life." Nick looked at Sara with eyes full of pain from his heart, which she had just unknowingly crushed. He slowly turned and went back to the front of the car and grabbed the knife he kept in the glove compartment. Nick strolled back to where Sara was standing. Once he was standing face to face with Sara, he looked her in the eyes and proceeded to stab her twelve times in her stomach and her chest. Nick then drug her bleeding body down the gravel pathway. He was not stopping until he was upstairs in his old childhood room. By the time he got Sara up the stairs and in the room, tossing her in his closet, Sara was taking her last breath. Nick bent down to where Sara laid dying and whispered in her ear, "Fear not my love for I will not rest until they all are as you are, my dear."

Nick slammed the closet door and left the house to only return on the eve of his wife's death. Nick had tried to find a girl to date, but they all rejected him like Sara had all them years ago. None of the girls he tried to date lived in Virginia. Which is the same town that Nick was born and raised. We assumed that when he talked to the new girls, he would speak of his wife's death that happened back home. We also thought that he was referring to Sara Lavender when he talked about his wife's death. The anniversary of Sara's death was coming up soon. That meant Nick would be returning to his childhood home in Virginia very soon. On the news the other day, I saw that women close to twenty were getting stabbed twelve times in the stomach and chest area. Then they were left in their closets to die, the same way that Nick had left Sara. These women only had two things in common with Sara, their age, and the fact they all knew Nick. We followed nick through his murders. The closer the murders got, the closer we knew he was getting to Virginia.

I could hear the sound of tires rolling up the gravel driveway. I looked at Sara full of fear and muttered the words, "He has arrived. Why does he keep this house if he is not going to live in it?" Sara told me that he keeps the house specifically when he comes to visit Sara here at his childhood home. Except he NEVER goes into the room. Nick left his poor cousin dying body in. Nick has his mother's old bedroom set up, so when he does come down to Virginia, Nick has no reason whatsoever to go into his old bedroom, which he referred to as the room that held his cousin's weeping soul. Nick is scared to death to go in that room because Sara would mess with him while he was even in the house, so he could only imagine what she would do if they ever came face to face. It was never anything as severe as what was about to occur in Nick's childhood home tonight. Sara usually just would cut the power to the house and wander around singing and making these horrendous shrieking sounds. She also tended to say his name in this almost zombie-like way, or she would let out a wrenching ear scream that would last for hours on end. But tonight, she was not just going to mess with Nick; she was going to finally get her revenge on him by having me kill him.

You are probably wondering why she is having me kill Nick instead of just doing it herself, aren't you? Why have some girl who just so happen to walk into the house you were haunting help you kill your cousin who brutally murdered you? Well, that's the thing; no matter what Nick did to her, Sara still looked at nick as family. She didn't dare to kill him herself because of this.

When Nick finally was in the house, I was lying in his bed, looking precisely how Sara had looked on the day she died. I had also made it where once nick was in the house, he couldn't leave. Nick made his way through the house, trying to figure out why his power wasn't working. He knew he had just paid the bill. Nick tried to go back out the same way he had just come. Nick was astonished to find that the doorknobs got turned around, so the keyhole was now inside the house. So nick spun around as fast as he could without losing his balance and darted back up the stairs running straight for his mother's old room. He slammed shut the door and locked it as fast as he could, not realize that I'm lying on the bed, and Sara is watching from the closet like she is watching an epic movie scene unfold. Nick backed his way to the bed, keeping an eye on his locked bedroom door the whole time. Once he bumped into the bed, he crawled in with his eyes closed, rolled over on his side, and let out a sigh of relief. When Nick finally decided to open his eyes, it took Nick a second to realize there was someone else in the room with him. Now he was starring me dead in my eyes. He softly muttered, "Sara?" I let out the most heart-wrenchingly horrifying scream you have EVER heard. Nick jumped so far out of bed; he landed in the middle of the room. He quickly got on his knees and crawled as fast as possible to the opposite side of the bedroom. I let out another heart-wrenchingly horrifying scream and asked him in a more of a screech than anything, "Why? Why Nick? Why did it have to be me, Nick?" I screamed for the third time. He looked at me, not with eyes full of horror like I had hoped, but Nick looked at me through eyes full of sorrow, and he managed to stutter out the words "S-s-s Sara I-I-I'm s-s-sorry…" I cut Nick off with a fourth heart-wrenchingly terrifying scream and said "Do not dare lie to me, Nick. I, Sara Lavender, can not be fooled by your weak acting skills, you idiot. You did what you did to me for a reason. I do not want your sorry excuse of an apology." I stepped closer to nick until I was standing right beside him. I squatted down, so I was mere inches from his ear and whispered, "Fear not my love, for I will not rest until you are like I am." Nick tried to plead and bargain with me. He beggingly said, "Sara, all I wanted was for you to love me the way that I love you. I just wanted your attention." Neither one of us had noticed that the real Sara had emerged from the closet she had been hiding. Sara was now standing behind me. She was looking at Nick with her hand stretched out towards me. Sara said, "I can bear this no more. Darling, give me that knife you have hidden there behind your back." Then Sara walked over to where Nick had been sitting on his knees, begging us to spare his life, and said to him, "Nick, what you did to me was more than wrong. There are no words to explain why you did what you did to me. Nor an explanation good enough that you could think of that would even remotely make me consider forgiving how you have treated me since we were children." Now that she was face to face with the coward of a man who raped and murdered his cousin. She looked him square in the eye, and she said to him, "You loved me in a way that I could never love you, so you took my life to pay the ultimate price of breaking your heart. I tried for years to let you down easy. Yet you insisted on forcing me to love you. So now, I am standing in front of you because I want your life to take mine." Sara began stabbing Nick repeatedly in his chest and stomach area until she had counted twelve times just as Nick had done to her and other helpless women. Sara then grabbed Nick's dying body and drugged him to the closet. She crouched down beside him and whispered in his ear, "Now you will burn in hell for what you have done.."

Out of nowhere, there was a flash of very bright light. It was so bright it almost seemed as if it were white. The next thing I knew, I passed out. When I finally woke, I was on the floor of Nick's childhood room. I looked around to see if I saw anyone, but there was no one. I looked over at the closet and saw the once open door was now closed. I walked over to the door and slowly began to open it. I was scared of what was hiding behind the door. Once I had the closet door open, I noticed the only in it was Nick's now limp and lifeless body. I began to make my way across the bed floor to leave when I saw a folded up piece of paper just sitting up on the mantel near the bedroom door. So I turn and walk towards the mantel, grab the piece of paper, unfold it, and try to read it. The letter, which I couldn't figure out who wrote, looked as if whoever wrote it did so while the writer was crying. Tear stains were all over the paper, making it almost impossible to read.

The few words I could make out on the piece of paper made me realize two things. Sara wrote this herself. She planted it on the mantel so we could make it look as if Nick wanted to kill himself or that Nick had wanted to die and had already planned to kill himself because what I was holding in my hands was Nick's suicide letter. It said something about not being able to live with the burden of being his only cousin's murderer. I could only make out bits and pieces of the letter due to all of the tear stains that Nick or Sara produced as one of them wrote this farewell letter. After a failed attempt to make out a few more words on the barely legible letter, I noticed the note's handwriting looked similar to the note I collected earlier from my windshield. I retrieved the note in my pocket to compare the writing to the one in the letter. They were perfectly identical. I knew now that it was Nick who had written both the note and the letter. Which then made me realize that Nick had been watching me.

I sigh in relief as I know it's all over. Soon I knew that I would have no reason to worry. So, I put both the letter from the mantel and the note from my windshield, folded the papers back up the way they had been when I found them, and placed them back into the safety of my pocket to be sure not to lose either of them. I head out of Nick's room, down the hall, and made my way through the rest of Nick's house until I was outside breathing in the fresh air that I hadn't smelt in what felt like days. I head back towards my house. Everything outside seemed alive now than when I had walked down the gravel pathway to Nick's house earlier. As I get closer to my home, I could barely make out a car parked on my other side. I walk more comparable to the car and realize it's my partner's car. I looked down at my watch and realized that I spent a few days at nick's house. That also meant that I missed a few days of work as well.

Once my partner noticed I had come from the long line of woods beside my house, they hurried to my side to make sure I was okay and see why I was walking out of the woods. I pulled both the note and the letter from my pocket and began to lead my partner back the way I had just come. I was going to give them a tour of Nick and Sara's house. I began to explain to my partner what exactly I had experienced while I was gone. I started with the note I found on my car's windshield, went to the knife I found walking, and everything else that had taken place up until the letter I found on the mantel.

Once back at the lavender residence, I walked my partner up to Nick's childhood bedroom, opened the closet door, and showed him Nick's dead body lying on the floor. I just hoped when I told them what I saw, they felt and were able to see what I had when I went through it all mere hours ago.

slasher
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.