Horror logo

The Unforgiven

Short Story

By Reagan JensenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

I remember violently stabbing him in his chest. I could feel the blade puncture his pale skin, going deeper as I impaled the same wound. The rage flowing through my veins, I screamed -almost roaring with fury as I relentlessly stabbed his limp body, over and over again while the blood spewed all over my face. Syla shrieked at me to stop and shoved me, shaking me from my rage filled trance. I stood up, staring down at his deceased body. His deep brown eyes remained opened, lifeless, where light had once shone so bright, now remained distant and grey. I could hear Syla screaming, the tears and anguish pouring from her soul, but she sounded muffled, almost as if she had been far away. But she was on her knees, next to his body, sobbing and screaming at me "Why?!". But I didn't look at her, I continued to stare at him trying to take it all in. But I felt numb, cold... I truly felt nothing. I glanced over towards Syla, her eyes were red and swollen, I observed her face, the tears falling from her delicate green eyes as she buried her face in her blood stained hands. I could hear the sheer heart ache in her cries; I had completely crushed her with what I had done. But hearing her struggle, only made me smile meekly. She looked up at me then, the anger and dismal as she picked herself up and ran at me, but I stepped slightly to the left as she missed and stumbled with her footing. I looked back towards her as she tried to, once again, run towards me in frustration; blinded by her heartache. But this time I didn't move, I grabbed her by the neck and squeezed suffocatingly. I could see her winc, as she flailed her arms in desperation trying to grab at me, but she was too caught up in her emotions to physically do anything. I calmly spoke "You're pathetic, just like him." That's when I saw her facial expression change from anger, to fear. Trying to calm herself down she grasped onto my arm and tried to speak the words "Please... don't do this." I chuckled then, as a disgusted smile spread across my face "Yes, beg and see how far that'll get you." But, as quickly as the fear arose and the realization to the failure at her manipulation, the wrath returned and that's when Syla angrily said "You bitch!" So, in turn, I let go of her neck, and within a blink of an eye, I swiftly stabbed her in her jugular with the knife that had laid dormant in my other hand. Her eyes instantly widened, her right eye began to twitch as her lips attempted to mutter something, but the blood began to pour from her mouth as her eyes stared into mine. An iniquity filled smirk layed plastered on my face as I twisted the blade while holding the back of her head. Nothing but gurgling sounds emerged from her lips as I watched the life fade from her green eyes. Pulling the dagger out, her body fell onto its side, making a thud as it hit the ruffled surface of the earth. I scoffed in amusement as I stared at her dead body and whispered to myself "They're all the same." Almost snapping back to reality, I gazed up towards the sky then and let a heavy sigh escape my red lips; remembering the torment I had brought upon two individuals that I once thought I could trust -the unforgiven. And yet, to this day, I still felt no guilt, no remorse... literal nothing and it made me smile.

fiction
2

About the Creator

Reagan Jensen

Canadian writer posting short stories and quotes all formed within my vast mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.