Horror logo

The Unfolding Adventures of the little black book.

A girl with nothing to lose, a book of mystery, and the dangers that come with it.

By Caramella SteviePublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
The Unfolding Adventures of the little black book.
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Today is the day, I, Holly Greensburg, will change for the better.

It's been weeks since I've found a job and living on unemployment seems to do less and less to get me anywhere in life. At least anywhere but here.

"Shit! I thought the rent wasn't due for another two weeks!?", I huffed.

It's okay, It's okay Holly. I gather my things together and set out to make up some money before the power gets shut off. Again.

The Breeze hit my face as I opened the broken door to the building, doing my best to shove it back onto its hinges. The sun is up, the sky is clear, my asshole of a neighbor is gone for the holidays, things will turn up in my favor, I'm sure of it.

The streets gleamed with morning dew and I see children waiting on the corner for the bus to pick them up. Today seems different compared to most, no catcalls, no gunshots in the distance, not even the usual couple that bickers about who fed the cat. The dreadful feeling from this morning almost dissipated, that is until a car came speeding by.

A small object, something square I think? Heading straight towards me, heading straight towards m-

"Ow! What the actual hell!?".

The object smacked dead across my face, the hit stumbling, knocking me off balance. Straight into the massive puddle near the curb. The car was nowhere to be seen, here then gone, within just a couple seconds.

"Great, just great, great start to a wonderful morning Holly!", I sarcastically yelled and kicked the ground as I got up.

Right, the thing. Looking down it seemed to be a small black notebook, it was smooth real leather, and it had a lock in the shape of an eye staring back up at me. I stared down at this small book with a strange feeling. Hesitant, I knelt down to wipe off the mud and took the book home. I know I need to get a job but, I'm fifthly and my mother has always said to look your best to feel your best, confidence will get me a job. I miss her.

Sitting down at my table, I kicked off my shoes and began to inspect the little book. Why did that person throw out this book? Was it filled up with hit-man victims? Ok maybe not that but it has got to be something of importance... right?

My mind was swarming, as loud as a bee hive. Filled with unnecessary thoughts. Laugh it off, get cleaned up, head out the door Holly. Easy peasy lemon squeezy, right?

My mind was right but my eyes kept darting back to the table where the little black book sat. Eyeing me like I was eyeing it.

"Fuck it".

I picked the book up and grabbed a hammer and had at it. It was so stubborn and barely had any scratches on it, even though I beat the lock to a pulp.

"Just open damn it!", I shouted and to my surprise the lock popped open. A moment of silence as I wiped the sweat off my forehead and plopped onto the couch. I slowly opened the book and to my surprise there was a picture and a note.

"To the reader holding this book, I hope you understand that this book found you and not the other way around. What you are holding right now is powerful. The information you will read could change your life drastically in a matter of seconds, you must be careful of what you wish for, the words you write can change everything and anything. If you're not careful, the balance can fold and there are consequences. You will learn as you go, just please keep these words in mind, your safety and others hang in the balance." John Helix.

What the fuck was that supposed to mean? I flip through the pages to see sentences in different handwriting each page. "A thousand dollars are sent to me"," I become owner of a three bedroom apartment for free"," My current ex gets hit by a car"," My annoying neighbor in room 308 hangs himself". The more I read, the more I became horrified. It ranged from sentences of people getting things for free, money being given, to murder. The most gruesome images flashed in my mind as I read. The pages had less and less as I read on, finally coming to a stop. Blank pages from there, I stared into the white of the pages, taking in everything I just read.

It couldn't be real right? It couldn't be true. My eyes jolted up when I heard the banging noise of the front door. Looking at the clock, I was shocked to see that hours passed and it was already five forty five in the evening. The banging continued.

"Hey! I know you're in there Holly! Rent is due, I gave you an extra week to pay off rent last time, pay up or get out!", my landlord shouted. In a panic I checked pockets, I checked change jars, I rushed through the apartment, searching for anything, and that's when it hit me.

The book. My stomach turned and tossed at the thought of the possibility that everything I have read was true. My morals said no, don't even think about it Holly, if that is true, everything that was said. Another part of me couldn't help but wonder, could it really be true. As I was contemplating, the banging continued.

"Fuck it", I quickly wrote into the notebook, my heart was beating out of my chest and It still is. " I will look to my right, ten thousand dollars cash will be in an envelope on the couch." I felt a rush of electricity, like a static shock flowed over my skin, making the hairs on the back of my neck and arms stand. Holding my breath I slowly turned around, my eyes wide like a deer in headlights, the money was sitting right there. My mouth went dry, before I could even think about how that was even possible, the banging continued and brought me back to my senses. I grabbed a few hundred dollars from the envelope, enough to pay my rent and the rent I owed.

Opening the door, my landlord stood, red with anger and irritation.

"Holly, I swear to God if you don't have the rent for this month so help me I-", interrupting the assumed threat that was about to be said I spoke quickly, "I have the money, I'm really sorry I didn't answer the door sooner, I was looking for my wallet. This will cover this month's rent and the rent I owe. Again I'm sorry".

Shocked, my landlord stared at the money for a moment, gave me a nod and smiled, "Ok then, well I um, sorry for banging on your door Holly, I'll see you around all right? Take care." He waved goodbye and headed down the hall. I closed the door, sighing with relief, slowly drawing my eyes back to the book, and the money. I felt glad I could pay the rent off but, to my horror, that meant everything I read was true. Everything in that book was all true, It happened to someone out there in the world, and someone did those terrible things to them.

I didn't want to think about it anymore, I picked up the rest of the money and the book and put it into a box I hid in a vent under my bed. It didn't work anyways and I didn't want anyone to find it. It was late now and I didn't want to leave now so I took a shower. It's time for bed, I will deal with the little black book another day, I need to rest and think about what I am going to do next.

"Goodnight world, my life will start tomorrow", I sighed and closed my eyes.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Caramella Stevie

I create stories, I give advice, and I'm here for a good time

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.