Horror logo

THE TERROR ZONE

Fear the Mind

By Suzy BohiPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
The shadowy cavernous pockets of the mind harbor an excruciating journey through the terror zone.

CHAPTER THIRTEEN

Two men in a black Crown Victoria slowly drove up to 735 Karen Lane and parked. They checked the name on the mailbox, Beck’s Place, and they nodded. They rang the doorbell, and Mrs. Sharon Beck answered the door.

“Good morning, Mrs. Beck. Is your husband home?” asked the strangers.

“He’s at work. Who are you?” she asked.

“My name is Roger Conn, and this is my partner Joseph Dade,” he said as he flashed his FBI badge.

“Do you mind if we wait inside for your husband?”

“He won’t be home until after five,” she said, as they proceeded to push her into the house, locking the door behind them.

“You aren’t from the FBI. What do you want?” asked Mrs. Beck?

“You’re expecting company, ma’am, and we’re going to do the entertaining,” said Roger Conn.

The hours passed. As Mrs. Beck sat on the sofa, where she was told to stay, she kept looking at the clock.

“My children will be home soon. I don’t want them to be hurt,” she said.

“They’re taking their sweet time, aren’t they,” said Roger.

“We don’t want to hurt anybody, ma’am,” said Joseph Dade. “All you have to do is cooperate with us, and nobody will get hurt.”

The clock struck two, and Mrs. Beck , used her arm to wipe the sweat from her brow. “Obviously, you have the time mixed up. No one is coming. Now would you men please leave my home?” she pleaded.

Roger Conn, started to laugh. “Would you listen to the missus, Joseph? I guess she thinks she’s running this show,” said Roger, laughing.

“Look, Jamie, we have company,” said Chad, as they ran into the house. “Mommy, we’re home,” yelled Chad.

The children ran into the living room, and Mrs. Beck yelled, “Chad, Jamie, go to your rooms, right now. Hurry.”

“What’s wrong, Mommy?” asked Jamie.

“Just do as I tell you sweetheart.”

Roger stood up and grabbed the two children. “No, I think not,” he said. “I think I need to change our plans. Don’t you, Joseph?”

“Don’t hurt the children, Roger,” said Joseph.

Chad pulled his hand from Roger’s grip and ran to his mother. “Mommy, what’s the matter? Did these men hurt you?”

“No, sweetheart, I’m fine. Just do as they say and you won’t get hurt.”

“You mind your mother, child,” said Joseph.

Roger shoved Jamie toward the couch. “Go join your family, you little bitch, and don’t do anything that’s going to get you in trouble,” he threatened.

Roger and Joseph walked away from the three hostages and started talking.

“What do we do now,” asked Joseph.

“I guess we gotta put the hurt to all of them,” said Roger.

“No, I won’t let you hurt those innocent kids,” said Joseph.

“What? Are you going soft on me, Joey?” teased Roger.

“Maybe so, but we weren’t sent here to kill kids,” said Joseph.

“So, do them for free,” said Roger, laughing.

“No,” said Joseph, as he pulled his gun on Roger.

“What are you doing, Joey? Shoot me to protect these people you don’t even know?”

“No, I’ll kill them. You go out and start the car,” said Joseph.

Roger looked at Joseph, and said, “How do I know you’re going to do it?”

“Why wouldn’t I?" asked Joseph. “You said it yourself, I can’t shoot you. You’re my bud!”

“Okay, I’ll be waiting in the car. Hurry up, I’m hungry.”

Roger headed for the car. While sitting there he counted three shots.

As soon as Joseph opened the car door, Roger was on him. “Did you do it?”

“Yeah, I did it,” said Joseph, looking irritated and angry.

“Good. Let’s get back to Bradenton. The boss isn’t going to be very happy about this.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Suzy Bohi

Suzy Bohi, has two published books. 'Hush Little Babies' and 'The Terror Zone' Watch for her 2nd installment to 'The Terror Zone', titled 'Don't Say a Word'.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.